We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This was my fourth stay at the Outrigger and was fantastic as always! The location of this hotel cannot be faulted - you are right in the heart of Waikiki beachfront. I think it's the best value for it's position, nestled in between the Royal Hawaiian (Pink Palace) and Moana Surfrider.

We upgraded from a Partial Ocean view room to an Ocean Front (!) room upon arrival for $90US per night. The view from the 14th floor and use of the express lift was a delight!

We checked in around 10am and was given our initial room immediately until our upgraded room became ready at 1pm. The check-in agent was lovely - so helpful and full of Aloha spirit.

Rooms have an older Hawaiian decor which adds to the charm (maybe this is why they haven't got flat screen TV's yet...?). Bathroom was a reasonable size however it was strange to have the fridge located in there...

Breakfast was included in our package. We went to Duke's for the buffet, but the last two days got a bit over it and went to Hula Grill for the remaining two days. Hula Grill was strangely unorganised considering it had a lot fewer customers than Duke's. However, the pancakes at Hula's were an more than an inch thick, and stacked three high - yum!

Pool is great. The only downside is you must be down there early (preferably when it opens at 8am) to reserve a spot. The pool guy was obviously getting tipped well as before it has even opened he had already reserved 10-16 chairs for people who would venture down around lunchtime (if at all!).

The only problem we had was with the Timeshare desk located on the Lower Lobby. It's located next to the hotel's activity desk and whilst trying to book a tour we were given the hard sell. He was pushy and aggressive with sneaky sales tactics. If timeshare isn't your thing, don't get sucked in out of politeness like us listening to the spiel and promises of free breakfast, $100 in vouchers and a "quick" presentation where you HAVE to bring a credit card at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

But apart from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend the Outrigger - you won't be disappointed.

FYI:
Tahiti Trans Shuttles had the dingiest un-roadworthy shuttle buses that I still can't believe we made it to Waikele Outlets, VIP Trans were late picking us up from the airport, but Reliable Shuttle was outstanding).
Tours - our Enoa Tour with 'Cousin Shorts' and Discover Hawaii Tour with 'Maui' were both excellent!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,549
    921
    233
    89
    36
See reviews for
790
1258
79
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Checked in on Sept. 8th, figured most people would be back to school and it wouldn't be as crowded. Booked an ocean view, but decided to go with the upgrade that they offered for 1/2 off the cost to get an ocean front. We were on the 9th floor. What a view, just right.
If you like softer beds you will be happy. We did have 2 doubles in our room. I would have liked a bigger bed, but it was ok, as we had a discounted rate to begin with. So I wasn't going to fuss over having a double bed.

The valet parking staff was right on it. Fast and very friendly. We went right down to the beach to swim and listen to the waves. About 4:00 p.m. they had a guy singing and playing music at Duke's. I could hear him from the beach!

Ate dinner at Hula Grill (see review) and walked around some. Lot's of people on the street and a few weird ones. They had a "Gold" guy, gold everything that stands still. I have seen a "Silver" guy about 10 years ago. Kept the door open till late in the night . I could hear some noise from the restaurant, but the waves did a good job of drowning out most of the chatter.

Next morning went downstairs to grab coffee at Seattle's Best and up to the lanai to read the paper and watch everyone. The lanai had glider chairs and it was a great way to start the day. Very relaxing. We left the hotel to go sightseeing and returned late afternoon. Very easy....put on your swim suit and head downstairs. Soft sand, and warm turquoise water. Beach was empty for Waikiki.

Wanted something cheap for dinner and headed down to Teddy's Better Burgers. I thought it was further away so we drove. It is down by the Zoo. Lucky we found a place to park. There were people out, but it is dark on this end of Kalakaua Ave.

We only spent 2 nights then headed to north shore. Check out was easy and we had a nice time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here from 7/17/09-7/24/09. We have never had such an amazing time!!! We were originally only going to stay for a couple nights and then switch to a different hotel, however we loved it so much we spent our whole time there! The location is great, the views even just from the city views were spectacular of the beach and ocean. We had great service from beginning to end. It was very clean, the housekeepers were very nice too!! Has everything you could want (unless you like to get away from everything). It has Duke's, a great place to eat, and get a drink. A great hang out spot!!! All the shops are right out the entrance to the hotel, right across from the international marketplace, and in walking distance to any where you would want to go. I cant say enough good things about it, and if we ever visit Waikiki again, we will stay here without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our trip was in the making for years. By the time we could go, we wanted it to be special. This hotel had the best of everything; convenience, location, ambiance, food/bar, decor, entertainment, staff, and price. Even though it is a hot spot and has nightly entertainment, our room was virtually soundproof. When we wanted quiet-it was--when we wanted to join the crowd--we just had to go downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We got a great deal. I mean, how can you beat $149 partial ocean view right on Waikiki? Well, this is no Halekulani, but it's not trying to be. It's a really nice 3 bordering on 4 star hotel. Very clean, nice restaurants, and LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. The pool area is nothing to speak of, but who cares ... you are on the beach!

My large complaint - it's NOISY. I could easily hear entire conversations on both sides of me - very disconcerting. The walls must be made of literal paper. We had a partial ocean view room, and it was lovely, but could hear the sounds of the street easily. Basically, if you don't mind crowds, street noise, and hearing your neighbors sneeze, you can stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAHEIM, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hotel is at a perfect location, beautiful and clean. The staff was very friendly. I only had a problem with the noise. I stayed on the 9th floor and there was alot of activity on that floor late at night the whole time I was there-- loud guests, yelling down the hallway , and door slamming. (My room was four doors from elevator)

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel, the people, the service, were all excellent. My family and I had the time of our lives. The hotel in right on the famous Waikiki beach -just steps away from the playground that is Waikiki. The room was fantastic. The service was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.