We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Right In The Middle of it All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place Right In The Middle of it All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed 11 nights early January. We had a double queen bed room - very comfortable room - had the City View room but the lanai had a good view of the beach as well. Room size is good for a family, loved the walk-in wardrobe for clothes, bags etc.,
This motel is in an excellent position - walk out front onto Kalakaua Avenue with heaps of shops, eateries, all within a safe walking distance. Walk through and you step onto the beach! We loved Dukes and had lunch, dinner and breakfast there during our stay, enjoyed the service, food, drinks and atmosphere. Also tried Hula Grill - very nice too. Staff and service is excellent. The beach out front is one of the best spots for swimming. Definitely recommend, if we ever come back to Hawaii would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't pay for "Ocean View" room - the 'City View' rooms have a great view of K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha NQ_Disney_Dreamers. Thank you for spending 11 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are a very family-friendly hotel and we are glad you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and beachfront restaurants. Mahalo Nui Loa for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    1,079
    270
    101
    41
See reviews for
956
1,463
90
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a total 6 star experience all the way . Very clean spacious room & excellent service .
there are 2 top end type restaurants on site ,and a snack bar in the lobby open at 5:00 am. We had a beach / city view room on the 12th floor. so we had a great view of everything . we booked through WestJet vacations and everything was good except the "orientation and free breakfast " by the Maui divers . If you are offered this DO NOT waste your time .There is no conformation of your return arrangements ,the breakfast was ice cold ,and the sole purpose of the affaire was to sell expensive jewelry .If you need a break from high restaurant prices there is a great little "mom & pop" place on Seaside & Kuhio "Seaside Bar and Grill" a little over 2 blocks away.(breakfast from $3.95 dinner all under $20.00.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Tj M. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are excited to be given a 6-star rating for your experience with us! Please come back for another wonderful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great Location and NO Resort Fees. This is a very nice place to stay. Everyone is so nice especially Ruben at the front desk and the housekeeping associates. If you're looking for a quiet place this probably isn't the place for you , but if you love excitement and lots of things to do, then this is a place for you! From the Iconic Dukes, to the Chucks Steak House, which is the perfect place to watch the sunset, to the beautiful beach The rooms are large, clean and newly renovated. Would highly recommend!! This was our 9th stay at this property!

Room Tip: If you book a 1 bedroom oceanview, request a hight floor, otherwise you will be looking at the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Kelly H. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o (Happy Anniversary)! Thank you for celebrating your milestone event at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are truly honored to have you and your husband stay with us for the 9th time. We know that all of our guests have many choices for places to stay each time they return to Oahu and we try our best to bring them back to us by providing comfortable accommodations, memorable service and excellent value. We are very proud to be one of a few beachfront hotels in Waikiki to never impose any nightly resort fees. We are even prouder of our exceptional employees, such as Reuben at the Front Desk, who demonstrate genuine Aloha each and every day. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My gf and I went for a week in Waikiki for her 30th birthday. We stayed at Outrigger Waikiki Beach and have not been disappointed.

Our room was on 14th floor and we had partial views on both the city and the sea - perfect!

We found the hotel and our room to be comfortable and very enjoyable.

On the lower lobby you can book activities which we did and Nicole did a great job in helping us doing this.

For my my gf birthday we had dinner at Hula Grill sitting at a table with view on the ocean. Food and service were great.
On the booking I had mentioned that we were coming to celebrate her birthday and without telling any of staff she was offered with complimentary birthday cake :)

It was our first time in Hawaii and we really enjoyed it.

We would definitely come back to this hotel and/or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel
Well maintained, room was clean, friendly staff.

Location
Right in the centre of Waikiki. As its name said it right on the beach as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Philippe E. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first visit to Hawai`i. It is always a pleasure to welcome first time visitors, as our staff are natural Na Mea Ho`okipa (hosts) who are eager to share the unique beauty of their island home with newcomers. We are delighted to have helped make your girlfriend's 30th birthday celebration a special one. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We had 6 nights at the Outrigger on the Beach and loved it! The rooms are spacious and super clean, with amazing views if you go for an Ocean View room. We noted a number of reviews talking about street noise at the hotel - we were on the 14th floor on the beach end and never really heard a thing - although other guests we spoke to complained about garbage truck noise very early in the morning. Staff at the hotel were fantastic - they could not be more helpful and friendly. Dukes, Hula Grill and Chucks were all really nice restaurants - prepare for a wait for a table (but grab a cocktail to help the time pass!!) - it's worth the wait! The only tiny downside was the bed in our room was a bit saggy - but we only noticed as we both have bad backs. All in all a really wonderful hotel - perfect location, great rooms, lovely staff - a perfect Hawaiian holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Nomads2Melbourne. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a perfect Hawaiian holiday with us. We are sorry there was a problem with the firmness of the bed in your room. If you stay with us again, please do not hesitate to report any problems to our staff as they will do their best to ensure your complete comfort and satisfaction during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in an Ocean Front room and enjoyed the location of the hotel and loved having the ocean front room so we could watch all the activity on the beach. The staff are very friendly and the hotel has a good atmosphere. Our room was large and comfortable, the bathrooms are quite dated with no storage cupboards or shelves but everything was very clean.
We enjoyed our stay here and would most likely book here again when next in Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you can do it I would definitely go for Ocean Front as so much to look at and we never found it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Alison F. Thank you for spending two nights in an Oceanfront room at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our Oceanfront rooms give guests a comfortable front row seat to the gorgeous Waikiki Beach scene featuring surfers, catamaran and canoe riders, Hawaiian sunsets, marine animals and endless ocean views. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the outrigger before and after a cruise on the pride of America.

I love this hotel because it is right in the middle of waikiki, the staff are awesome and have helped out tremendously since we have been here with tours , information and room information. There is a laundromat where you can wash clothes. Two very well priced restaurants right on the beach front and you can walk straight down from your hotel room onto the beach for a swim or a drink by the beachside.

waikiki is right at your door including shopping and every restaurant you can imagine and tours come and pick you up and drop you off from this hotel.

We stayed in several different rooms and they were all a massive size with a lounge and had some kind of ocean view even in a city view room!

Feel very much at home in this hotel. Shall return , its a bargain for the price and the second oldest hotel in waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room, the oceanfront deluxe booking guarantees you a full ocean view although r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Aloha kayebean. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before and after your cruise. We are glad you felt very much at home here. Your compliments about our staff and facilities are very much appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.