We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great, location good, hotel just average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Clearwater, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Service great, location good, hotel just average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

The service we received from the staff at the Outrigger makes it hard to put the hotel down as average, but in my opnion it is just average.

The high points are location and the staff/service. It is right on the beach, two great restaurants (Hula Grill & Duke's), and right on the main strip of Waikiki. The staff is also extremely nice and pleasant. The waiters at Hula Grill were the nicest of any restaurant we visited in Hawaii.

The low points are the rooms and Waikiki itself. I read reveiws about the walls not keeping sound out and dismissed it. I wish I would have listened, because the hotel can attract a rowdy/party crowd and we could hear them through the walls our whole three nights there. Bring earplugs...seriously. I also felt for the price the rooms were not up to par. I think you are paying for location more than quality of the rooms. They were clean, but outdated and dingy. Linens were more motel standard than hotel/resort. Polyester bed quilts for over $250 a room? Even the Hyatt and Surfrider offered a comparable price and feather linens. Might not matter to you, but it did to me and I was disappointed. (Hyatt/Surfrider were booked by the way.) The other low point for me was Waikiki itself, it's defintely a tourist mecca and I wouldn't make a point of going there again.

Since my first two hotel choices were not availalbe, I chose the Outrigger. The staff made the hotel, but the rooms made it a disappointment.

Some helpful stuff:
*$15 roundtrip shuttle from airport to Waikiki saved us on rental car & $25 hotel parking fee. Don't need to reserve, just look for people with yellow vest at the airport.
*We rented a car from Budget at the Hyatt across the street.
*Longboards cost about $20 first hour and $7 addiitional hour and can be rented on beach infront of hotel. ( I think they use a Hawaii hour which is actually 11/2 hour.)
*Don't walk off the mainstrip of Waikiki. You'll see the disappointing aspect of Waikiki...prostitutes.
*Get out of Waikiki. Only stay there for a night or two and instead see the north shore or the other beautiful islands.
*If your airplane departs late, hotel offers a hospitality room for 30 minutes for you to use after 3pm. We used and after surfing Waikiki, but the hospitality room was not cleaned before our use. Gross.

  • Liked — Great staff...very nice.
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls, lots of noisy people, outdated rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,704
    1,012
    255
    98
    39
See reviews for
881
1,369
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

The Outrigger is in a great location along Waikiki. Both shopping and the beach are all within a short walk. The room was clean and confortable, with a good view. Both the Hula Grill and Duke's serve wonderful food with even better views. The service is quick in all areas, esp the valet.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — To crowded at times
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in April 2008. We loved it. Great location. Rooms were nice a clean. Plenty of storage in the bathroom area. We had a part ocean view room - we overlooked the main street and we could see the beach. Dukes was a great place to eat - You must try the Hula Pie desert - to die for. Staff very friendly and helpful. The children love the activities in the foyer, card making, lei making and hula lessons. The only negitive that i found was that you could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the next room at night time - if you know what i mean.. Although the pool area looks great, its not really children friendly as it is very deep, my ten yr old couldnt stand up. Overall a wonderful experience. Would definately recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Dukes, Clean rooms and Great staff
  • Disliked — Thin walls and deep swimming pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Good hotel right on the beach 3 good restaurants.
Small salt water pool that was a little disapointing but overall a good place to stay .

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summer
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Three generations, ranging in ages 8 to 60+, enjoyed the large, clean room with outstanding views.. We had no problem with waiting time for elevators; staff bent over backwards to make our stay pleasurable. All local and mainnland calls are free. Restaurants on the premises were all good and suprisingly reasonably-priced. The saltwater pool is pretty small but never too crowded while we were there. None of us were ready to leave and we're anxious to return soon.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Outrigger On The Beach for 10 days in January 2008. It was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at in terms of service, location, and quality. Upon arrival we were kindly greeted, and our bags were taken up to our room. We had a room on the very end of the hotel and it was a bit small. We were then upgraded to a room about five floors higher that was much bigger and had a breathtaking view of the ocean. The staff was always friendly and did everything to make you feel welcome. During our stay I don't think we ever had a bad meal. The food was outstanding. Even if you're not staying here, you have to go to Duke's! Great food and atmosphere.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and quality.
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Upon checking into the hotel we were pleased with our choice and the room was decent and clean. Our main problem came at the pool, the restaurant and the cleaning staff.

First was at the pool, where you had to get your own drinks and menus unless you wanted to wait an hour- seriously- for a server to come by. The staff also neglected to pickup any empty drinks so by about 3pm the pool deck is littered in discarded fruit and empty cups rolling across the concrete. We once asked for help after spilling a drink and were told by the waitress "It's not my job".

The cleaning staff did a good job, but would see us leave our room in the morning, we'd be gone for 4 hours... then when we would return, within 30 minutes we'd get a knock on the door for housekeeping. They could never make up the room while we were gone. This happened daily.

Facility is ok- service poor.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.