We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - convenient for exploring Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Nsw Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location - convenient for exploring Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over New Year and found it a great place for exploring Waikiki. Staff were efficient and polite and our ocean view room was ready for us for our morning arrival at the hotel. We had two adult daughters staying with us, the room was probably too small to be comfortable for four adults. We enjoyed the convenience of this hotel - it has great restaurants and the beach is a ideal for families -safe and shallow. If you want to learn to surf or stand up paddleboard, this is a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha acquablue21. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. This is the perfect location for vacationers to enjoy a beachfront location with convenient dining, shopping and ocean activity options nearby. We are glad you were able to explore the Waikiki area during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,012
    255
    98
    39
See reviews for
882
1,369
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We did the timeshare presentation - we got a $100 gift card and free breakfast for a couple of hours. Of course we said no but the $100 helped. Just be warned that many of the hotel staff around want you sell you the Wyndham time share presentation and this spoils the overall service as it appears like all they want to do is invite you to a presentation, rather than give any tips on what to do, where to go etc..

We arrived from a cruise at 9am on a Saturday and thankfully we were immediately given a room for which I was very grateful. Similarly, when we left we had a late flight back from Honolulu. We checked out at 11am and had 1/2hr access to a changing room later on in the evening after spending our day at the beach. The changing room was a normal room which had just been cleaned and in very good order; the hotel should be praised for offering this free-of-charge as the room was extremely clean with fresh towels etc all for us to use to freshen up before our flight.

The location of the hotel was good although the beach was poor - suggest you go right or left to wider sections of Waikiki beach. However behind the hotel you are right on the main drag so it's nice to walk around town after meals (etc) where other hotels are at extremities of the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha p0lak. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach following your cruise. We are glad to have accommodated you in a room when you arrived at 9am and we are happy to have provided you with a hospitality room on your day of departure. Our complimentary hospitality rooms are available for guests who have a later flight and appreciate the use of a private room for a shower and change. Mahalo for letting readers know about this service. Please come back for another wonderful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Where to start....1) the elevator system here is insane. Be prepared to wait 5 to 6 "rounds" before getting on this ridiculous elevator system. It would be easier to take the stairs if they were readily available or could be used (via room key) to access the floor level from the lobby.
2) The “ocean view” is really a 7/8 view of the adjacent cement hotel and 1/8 of the top of a few umbrellas on the beach.
3) Soap must be an extremely rare commodity in Hawaii. The little slivers they provide last one day, which would be great if they gave you one sliver of soap per day. Luckily, I had a bar of soap from another hotel that was left in my suitcase from another trip we that we used. Asking the maids for extra soap is not a pleasant experience.
4) If you like pets, this is the place for you. Cockroaches in the bathroom and on the deck are the only thing free of charge here.
5) Check out time is stated as 12 noon, however, be prepared for maids to start pounding on your door at 8:30 and continue to do so until you leave. If only the maid service would have been that timely during our stay.
6) After renting several rooms and staying for eight days, spending tens of thousands of dollars at this hotel, do not expect help from the front desk. I tried to leave an envelope at the front desk for another party to pick up, for we were leaving early on a tour and were going to be away the full day. My request was flatly refused. When I asked for the location of the nearest post office, was told “I don’t know.” Helping customers seems to be such an inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha SadTraveller2014. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with several aspects of your stay with us. Your feedback about our elevators, views, room amenities and service will be thoroughly reviewed by our management team. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was my 3rd time staying here and I was not disappointed! We stayed here in July and August 2013. We stopped on the way to the US and on the way back. You can't beat the location of this hotel, right on the beach and across the road from the international market place. Also with Dukes on the floor of the hotel you can't get any better!
They have upgraded the pool area since my last stay and made it heaps better! Before the pool was very deep and not really good as you could only touch the bottom at one end, the rest of the pool too deep. They have redone this and now its more like a normal pool. They have also added new lounges with cushions which are really comfy. Duke's offers a drinks service around the pool which is great. Also if you don't like sitting on the sand, you can site near the pool and go swim in the beach.
The hotel room's are the same as before, nice and spacious. We booked a partial ocean view room which I think is bigger than the city view rooms I have stayed in before. The room's have fridges which I think are great and not found too often.
I'm a light sleeper and couldn't hear any noise from others guests from our room which was great! The view from room wasn't too bad either, Waikiki beach!
When we returned to this hotel on our way home they had a little gift for us in the room for being a return guest which was really nice.
Will definitely be staying here again next time we are in Hawaii.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha TSNY05. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted that you noticed the recent renovations to our swimming pool and pooldeck. Listening to the feedback of our valued guests, we expanded the pooldeck area to allow for many more lounge chairs to be placed. We modified the entire depth of the swimming pool to 4-feet in order to maximize usage for both swimmers and waders. In addition, our improved pool chair policy gives all guests the equal opportunity to use our available sun loungers each day. Mahalo for your positive comments. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in October at the end of our 2 week holiday in Hawaii. The room was very clean with a partial view of the ocean from our small lanai. It was very noisy however, as we overlooked the other hotels and restaurants, and in the early hours of the morning we would hear the crashing of bottles being thrown into the bins and truck deliveries etc. Our room had all the basic facilities of a hotel. Beds were comfortable. Most staff were friendly, just sometimes the Bell staff were a bit rude or less accommodating. Dukes Restaurant serves wonderful buffet breakfasts, but got too busy with long queues and waiting times at dinner time - so get there early! This hotel is in an excellent location - right on the beach at the back and you step right into the main shopping strip at the front! I would recommend asking for a room on the Diamond head side, as had this been the start of our holiday we would have been very disappointed with the noise and position of it. Apart from that - it deserves its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Ben M. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location, Duke's breakfast buffet and our clean rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa for your constuctive comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach twice in 2006 and enjoyed it. We stayed again just before Christmas 2013 for 3 nights and found it even better after its fairly recent refurb. The Christmas decorations were lovely - we appreciated their tropical theme. Our room was an Ocean View room which gave us a side-on view of the beach and the ocean between our hotel and the Royal Hawaiian Tower next door. Loved the lanai although it would have been better if we had been on the other side of the building away from the air-conditioner noise from the Royal Hawaiian Centre next door, but this didn't spoil our enjoyment of the view and the amazing sunsets from the lanai. We couldn't hear the noise when the sliding balcony door was closed.

The room was spacious with a big bed and a nice big sofa. We liked the fact that the room was not too starkly modern - it had some pleasant Hawaiian touched such as the hula-girl lamp standard and the Polynesian-inspired furnishings and carpet. The bathroom was a total joy - modern, bright, spacious and functional with a combo shower/bath with a neat curtain which kept the floor dry!

We enjoyed breakfasts at Dukes, maitais at The Hula Grill and a dinner at Chuck's Steakhouse and one day bought a fresh-made-while-you-wait sandwich from the very busy little lunch bar between the lobby and the pool. All were very good. The convenience store in the hotel has a good range of things to buy and good wine prices. We bought a couple of wine glasses from the convenience store as that's one thing missing in the room - no wine glasses. Perhaps one could request wine glasses through Hotel Room Service but we didn't think of that at the time.

The complimentary Wifi worked really well and we made full use of it.

The staff are all great and we received very good service on departure for our Pride of America cruise from the Bell Desk who happily stapled our cruise baggage labels and called us a taxi to the pier.

This hotel is in the centre of everything at Waikiki and we think it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed is a Corner Suite, an Ocean Front and an Ocean View room and all are great. Would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Noosafella. Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We appreciate your compliments about our facilities, restaurants, service and staff. On your next stay, please do not hesitate to ask our Front Desk for wine glasses. We will be more than happy to send some to your room. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first time in Hawaii; but, it won’t be our last! We went to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The renewal of our vows on the Outriggers Beach at 7:30 in the morning was breath-taking! Boyana of Nature’s Touch Photography is the “best of the best”! Her expertise, kindness and professionalism were “second to none.” Her photos were great! She has given us some heartwarming memories & keepsakes to last us forever. Overall, our two weeks that we were in Hawaii (including a cruise) was a memory for a lifetime. Thanks to Outrigger and special thanks to Boyana for making our 20th anniversary celebration one we will never forget! Rodney, Susie & Tyree

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha suebee325. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o (Happy Anniversary)! Thank you for celebrating your very special occasion at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you participated in our vow renewal ceremony. We have received numerous compliments about the ceremony and we are pleased to offer it to our guests four times a week at absolutely no charge. Your many compliments about our professional photographer, Boyanna, will be shared with her and our management team. Boyanna is a true asset to our `ohana and we appreciate the beautiful job she does of capturing the fondest memories on film time and time again. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.