We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here.the first time we had a suite on the 5 the floor facing the Hawaian ,this time we requested a suite on a high floor facing towards Diamond Head,we were given a suite on the 12 the floor and it didn't disappoint .What a spectacular view,looking down on the crystal clear ocean was magic.
Not cheap but as they say you pay for what you get.
My only complaint was no bottled water after the first days accomodation,we payed top dollar we could at least gave fresh water to drink.
The hotel was built in the mid 60s and has that old character and charm that modern hotels just don't have
The staff were all very friendly and helpful,and with that view it was hard to leave our room
Would recommend this hotel to those who value old fashioned service and top quality

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for a Diamond Head facing suite as high as available,you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Aloha Bruce K. Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe 1-Bedroom Oceanfront suites. We do provide complimentary bottles of water in all of our suites on the day of your arrival as a welcome amenity. Please do not hesitate to ask us to replenish the water daily on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,547
    918
    232
    89
    36
See reviews for
787
1257
79
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach is located on a wonderful strip of Waikiki Beach. Just come down the elevator and step right out onto the sand. They have improved and widened the beach with new sand since my last visit, so there is now plenty of room for people to have a spot in the sand. The rooms have been remodeled and are lovely. The beds and pillows are new and very comfortable. I would suggest better lighting over the bathroom vanity as two little CFL bulbs hardly cut it. The new elevator system is wonderful. Swipe your room key and it will tell you which elevator to get on. It takes you right up without having to stop on every floor with bunches of other people. I would suggest for those who might want to spend time on the balcony (lanai) to request the Diamond Head side of the hotel. The rooms facing the Royal Hawaiian get a lot of noise from the Cheesecake Factory rooftop air conditioners. We had to keep our lanai door closed all of the time. Be sure to eat dinner at Dukes, but make a reservation from the mainland a few weeks before you go. Overall though, this is a wonderful hotel with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose Diamond Head side and higher floor for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Aloha kjoy524. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy that you noticed the improvements to Waikiki beach fronting our hotel. In 2012, 1,730 feet of Waikiki shoreline was returned to its lush vintage 1985 condition following a four-month long offshore sand-pumping project. Today, our guests can utilize more of the beach for sun-bathing and playing in the sand during their stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This resort was very nice. The staff was all very hepful and supremely nice. My wife and I stayed for a week for our honeymoon and it was great. The resort had several restaurants to choose from, including Duke's - which is a must for at least one breakfast. The breakfast buffet was expensive, but takin in a delicious breakfast while enjoying the beach and open air is wonderful.
We were underwhelmed by Chuck's Steakhouse and would not go back. The food was sub-par and the service was bad. I had to track someone down at least three times. One time we tried to flag the waitress down who was at another table and talked to those guests multiple times and not even checked on us.
Despite that one night, everything else was wonderful! This resort is right in the middle of everything. Excellent shopping all around (which we didn't do, and I am not a big shopper). One other thing is that a couple of nights there was a loud band at Duke's a couple of nights which played until after midnight. It didn't really bother us too much. Although the parking was very expensive, the valet service was so helpful and nice!
I would go back and stay here in a heartbeat. Worth the $

Room Tip: We stayed in the delux oceanfront which had the hot tub in the room. It was not exactly what we tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Aloha Lsuxtremist. Ho`omaika`i (Congratulations)! Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you gave our restaurants a try during your stay. Your feedback about Chuck's Steakhouse is truly appreciated and will be shared with the restaurant's manager. It is excellent to hear that you would come back and stay here in a heartbeat. Mahalo Nui Loa and `Oi Loa Na Makemake (Best Wishes) to you and your new wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchley, North London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed at this hotel for one night after our cruise and before we went back to the UK.
We arrived early...around 9 am and although the front desk staff were at first reluctant to give us a room early they did in the end. However despite asking about the size of the bed they first gave us one with a Queen, which would have been a squeeze even though we are not large people. Our second room was much better and with the early check in we were able to spend the day by the pool which overlooked the beach.
There was free wifi, free printing of boarding cards, and towels by the pool with comfortable seats.
Staff were helpful and it looked as if the hotel had some great facilities including self service washing machines and dryers.
But as our stay was less than 24 hours we didn't make the most of the facilities.
If we ever went back we would seriously consider staying there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Aloha debbiebreslaw. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach following your cruise. Our hotel has almost all the facilities and amenities needed to make a short or long stay as comfortable as possible. We provide complimentary wi-fi, towels for use at the pool or beach, free in-room coffee and tea, in-room refrigerators and safes, a coin laundromat and a fitness center. We hope you will be able to make the most of our facilities during a future stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had an awesome 6 night stay at "OWOTB" The check in was easy and our rooms were available as soon as we arrived from the airport mid morning. We loved our spacious room, standard city view 12th floor, it had a partial ocean view. The room was very clean and had heaps of hanging space and storage and an empty bar fridge for our own snacks. You can purchase all sorts of delicious morsels from the plethora of ABC stores in Waikiki. The beds were super compfy and although there was quite a lot of noise coming from the a/c and delivery trucks next door, I didn't mind. However if you are sensitive to hustle bustle noise opt for a room on a higher floor or uneven numbering suites. We loved the ideal location. Central to everything and both the Hula grill and Dukes were fun places to hang out. We were so happy we could stroll to the ocean directly from the hotel, this was a huge plus. We were also lucky enough to stay on a Sunday afternoon and an amazing band played at the hotel right on the beach. We danced to the sounds and sights of Waikiki...awesome. The staff at the activities desk were so helpful and organised a great tour with "Private tours Hawaii" for us. (you can check out the review separately) I have taken off 1 star only because the main corridor on floor 12 had a very bad smell. This didn't flow into the rooms, thank goodness, but it was a little off putting, and also the pool service was good but the pool food was a little stingy. Overall, we would definitely stay here again and cannot wait for next year!

Room Tip: Stay on the Moana Surf rider side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Aloha passportsplease. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed an awesome six-night stay with us. What wonderful memories you must have of "dancing to the sounds and sights of Waikiki". Mahalo Nui Loa. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our second extended stay at this wonderful hotel and we're already planning our return! Huge kudos to the Outrigger group for their outstanding service and quality of staff who welcome you like family from the time you walk in the door to check out. The best location in Waikiki for every activity from shopping to beachside relaxation. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Our "city view" room had an awesome view of the beach..see attached pic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Aloha Simon P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for a second time. We are truly grateful for your many compliments about our staff members. Over the years our employees have come to recognize loyal return guests, such as yourself, as members of their `ohana (family) and it always delights them to welcome back another familiar face. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Well our 3rd time in Waikiki and outrigger did not disappoint. From check in with Malamalama to check out, we just loved the location on the beach, the location right in Waikiki and the room was clean and perfect. Location Location Location, this is the place to be in Waikiki. Cannot wait to come next time and we will definitely be staying here again. Thank you outrigger.

Room Tip: Rooms up on higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Aloha Susy C. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are so happy to have delighted you from check-in to check-out. We are very proud of our dedicated employees, like Malamalama, who make all of our guests feel welcome and taken care of throughout their entire stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.