We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Waikiki - Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outrigger Waikiki - Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki for ten days at the end of September through the first week of October 2013. The entire experience was excellent. We had an Ocean Front room with a sauna tub. There is one unit per Ocean Front floor with the sauna tub.

Views, whirlpool sauna, facilities, all were outstanding. The only complaint we had was that the tub overflow and the drain knob were not clean. When the house staff heard of the problem, it was cleaned immediately and we were told that it would be added to the housecleaning instructions.

We were concerned that the bar below us would be loud at night. It was not. Music etc. was stopped early in the evening and our 8th floor room was so quiet that we could enjoy the sound of the waves breaking on the beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Aloha David B. Thank you for spending ten days at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We have only fifteen Deluxe Oceanfront rooms in the entire hotel and we are so glad you were able to experience your Hawaiian vacation in one of them. These rooms are very special as they feature the best beachfront views, a king-sized bed and a luxurious Jacuzzi tub, perfect for soaking while listening to the sound of the waves below. It pleases us to hear that you had an excellent experience. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    1,006
    250
    98
    38
See reviews for
872
1,361
86
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We checked in late last night after travelling around USA for 4 weeks and after. 17 hours of travel to get here I was expecting so much more.
I am very disappointed with the room Ocean View Room,it is the most expensive accommodation we have paid for in this whole trip ( Waikiki included in the first 10 days) we see the ocean but also the motel next door is blocking the view of anything else,absolutley zero privacy and whilst the room is clean it looks old and there is no room for luggage. After travelling for 4 and half weeks and living out of our suitcases I was most looking forward to unpacking and relaxing with a lovely view. We stayed in the Hyatt Regency for 4 nights at the start and payed a lot less money for it and we had a fantastic view of the whole beach,then we stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for 1 night and that price was the same as here and I would much rather stay there and the view was fantastic and that was on the beach also.
I am very disappointed with the service I received when I asked if we could change rooms they told me there was ocean front available for another $100 plus tax per night,after paying a huge amount for 10 nights I was not paying another $1000 plus tax. Not impressed and I wish we had of stuck with the Sheraton and the service was much better there. This trip has been saved and planned for 4 years for our 10 year Wedding Anniversary and its not the way I wanted to end our amazing holiday we have had so far!

Room Tip: Don't choose the Ocean View
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha binbali. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach after your holiday around the U.S. We are sorry you were disappointed with our Oceanview room. Our Oceanview rooms are located on both the east and west sides of the buildings, across the Moana Surfrider hotel and the Royal Hawaiian hotel. All of those rooms are located very close to the beach and feature excellent views from the balcony. Our higher category, the Oceanfront rooms, faces directly at the beach and offer the best possible views. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to post feedback about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

From the time that I checked in, to the time that we left, I was impressed with the level of service at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach.
We arrived at the hotel at 7.30am knowing that check in was not until later that afternoon. Without hesitation, the front desk tried to find a room that was ready so that we could freshen up and have our bags dropped off.
The hotel staff are delightful and the room attendants are extremely helpful. Everyone has that "Aloha" spirit and will go out of their way to assist you or answer any questions.
Dukes bar and restaurant is a favourite with live music and great food.
With a hop, skip and jump down to the beach - who would want to stay anywhere else?
Mahalo to the staff at the Outrigger - I am planning my next stay already!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha maddybax. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are proud of our service levels and we are glad you were impressed by our employees. It is the priority of our staff to ensure that our guests enjoy themselves from the day of their arrival to their day of departure. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Such a wonderfull experience. Have nothing but good comments to say. Stayed on the fourth floor and the sixteenth and both rooms were excellent. Yeah it is a bit noisy with doors open but it is all closed Down by 12am as that is when it all closes, but it is expected as it is a holiday destination. If we were not down amongst the noise we were walking down the main strip looking at shops and international markets. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay with them when I go back.

Room Tip: It isn't the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. Worth every dollar we payed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha Lauren C. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with our property and staff. Please come back again for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently spent two weeks at the Outrigger with my family & I have nothing but good things to say! Our condo accommodation was disappointing so we ended up searching hotels by foot on a hot thursday morning, just before the Aloha parade- which meant that Waikiki was heavily booked. We walked into the cool calm atmosphere of the outrigger lobby, were greeted by the most lovely friendly staff & were immediately told we could have two adjoining rooms with partial sea view for a brilliant rate.
The outrigger is classically Hawaiian & in all the years I have been coming to Hawaii (at least 30!) it still remains the same. The good news is the rooms have been tastefully up dated, with flat screen TVs, excellent beds, good air conditioning & nice sheets & towels. The service at the Pool was brilliant was plenty of beach towels whenever we needed them. Maid service was immaculate & we were given a microwave for free. Pais Deli in the lobby still makes the best healthy lunches in Waikiki & the Lobby shops have everything you need (although its cheaper to cross the road to the nearest ABC!)
If you can afford it the ocean front rooms have an incredible view, but our side view lanais had a decent view of the ocean. We stayed on the sunset side which was quite noisy with air conditioning from the Royal hawaiian, so if you want a quieter room go for the Diamond head side. The outrigger pool is busy & crowded but the beach is right there- all you need to do is jump in the elevator & take a few steps onto the sand.
The ideal Hawaiian hotel- & The Hula Grill downstairs is one of the best places in the world to have breakfast. Aloha Outrigger, Ill be back.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms have a better out look closer to the front of the hotel & less noisy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha LOVRICH. Thank you for spending two weeks at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are delighted to have had you find us by foot when you decided to leave your condo accommodations. Our connecting rooms are perfect for families and we have a welcoming resort casual atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach was built in 1967 and while recent renovations have brought modern comforts to all of the rooms, the hotel still preserves its ties to Waikiki's history. Duke's Canoe Club Waikiki is on the site of the original Outrigger Canoe Club, founded to preserve and perpetuate surfing on boards and in Hawaiian canoes. In our upper lobby stands a 20-foot long, five piece display cabinet made of koa wood inspired from actual pieces created by the finest cabinetmakers to Hawaii’s Royal family. Housed in this beautiful display cabinet are museum-quality Hawaiian artifacts depicting Pacific life from the 1700’s to the 1900’s on loan from private collectors, galleries and museums from Hawaii and the mainland United States. Mahalo Nui Loa for appreciating our ambience, service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for two weeks from September 29 to October 13. We have stayed there many times before, and it continues to be our favorite hotel. The hotel has completed all renovations and the rooms are great, noise is minimal, has decent views from most of the rooms, and the service is outstanding.

We ended up in an ocean view room this time where we usually stay in a city view room. The view was a little bit wider, but not a huge difference. But, we enjoy being able to see some of the beautiful water and beach and ocean activities.

Service was terrific as always. Bell staff is friendly, helpful and prompt. Housekeeping is wonderful and all of the housekeepers are always friendly when you see them in the hallways. They do a great job of keeping the rooms neat and clean, and supplies are always what we needed.

I would like to give special mention for the Guest Services Manager, Amy Honey, who helped us resolve a room issue satisfactorily, and was extremely helpful and thoughtful for our visit this time. She is wonderful to deal with.

We found everything was, as in our past stays at this hotel, totally up to and exceeding normal expectations. Lots of people complain about the new elevator system, but we had no problems at all. Wait times were pretty short and the new system provides excellent security for the hotel access.

The pool deck was not overly crowded and loungers were always available. I would like to see them add at least a few umbrellas around the pool for those who do not like to sit in direct sun all day while using the pool. Danny and the rest of the pool staff also were very helpful and friendly when using the pool.

Dukes was very busy as usual. We love the Sunday afternoon parties with Henry Kapono as do many other people.

We ate at Chuck's Steakhouse as we always do, and once again enjoyed the food, mai-tai's and outstanding service there.

Location can't be beat in my opinion, and we are already starting to make our plans to return again next year.

Room Tip: A city view room on the Diamond Head side of the hotel provides a decent view of the beach and water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha placebets. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is a true honor to be your favorite hotel over the years as we know you have many choices for accommodations when visiting the Waikiki area. We are so proud to have exceeded your normal expectations. Our staff members will be touched by your compliments and special mention about their service. It is everyone's goal here to treat our guests like `ohana and to do their best to ensure our guests feel right at home in paradise. Your constructive comments about the need for umbrellas by the pool will be personally reviewed by our General Manager. We are delighted to hear that you are already starting to make plans to return again next year. Please let us assist you when you have finalized your plans. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This felt like a big hotel, with not much privacy offered. If you want a more private experience better to stay somewhere else. This is well located though, plenty of restaurants and right on the beach. Room was average. Although there had recently been a renovation, it felt dated. Breakfast was ok, but better and cheaper can be found elsewhere. Staff are friendly, and this seems to cater more to families. So for families with young kids it is probably great. For a week away with your romantic partner, maybe somewhere else, unless you plan on being on the beach, in the pool or on the town the whole time. I actually ended up moving to a different hotel, not because this was bad, but because I wanted a different experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha Jetzetter. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We appreciate your honest feedback about our property. While our location and ambience did not suit the private, romantic hotel experience you were seeking, we are happy to have had you as our guests. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.