We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for two weeks from September 29 to October 13. We have stayed there many times before, and it continues to be our favorite hotel. The hotel has completed all renovations and the rooms are great, noise is minimal, has decent views from most of the rooms, and the service is outstanding.

We ended up in an ocean view room this time where we usually stay in a city view room. The view was a little bit wider, but not a huge difference. But, we enjoy being able to see some of the beautiful water and beach and ocean activities.

Service was terrific as always. Bell staff is friendly, helpful and prompt. Housekeeping is wonderful and all of the housekeepers are always friendly when you see them in the hallways. They do a great job of keeping the rooms neat and clean, and supplies are always what we needed.

I would like to give special mention for the Guest Services Manager, Amy Honey, who helped us resolve a room issue satisfactorily, and was extremely helpful and thoughtful for our visit this time. She is wonderful to deal with.

We found everything was, as in our past stays at this hotel, totally up to and exceeding normal expectations. Lots of people complain about the new elevator system, but we had no problems at all. Wait times were pretty short and the new system provides excellent security for the hotel access.

The pool deck was not overly crowded and loungers were always available. I would like to see them add at least a few umbrellas around the pool for those who do not like to sit in direct sun all day while using the pool. Danny and the rest of the pool staff also were very helpful and friendly when using the pool.

Dukes was very busy as usual. We love the Sunday afternoon parties with Henry Kapono as do many other people.

We ate at Chuck's Steakhouse as we always do, and once again enjoyed the food, mai-tai's and outstanding service there.

Location can't be beat in my opinion, and we are already starting to make our plans to return again next year.

Room Tip: A city view room on the Diamond Head side of the hotel provides a decent view of the beach and water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha placebets. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is a true honor to be your favorite hotel over the years as we know you have many choices for accommodations when visiting the Waikiki area. We are so proud to have exceeded your normal expectations. Our staff members will be touched by your compliments and special mention about their service. It is everyone's goal here to treat our guests like `ohana and to do their best to ensure our guests feel right at home in paradise. Your constructive comments about the need for umbrellas by the pool will be personally reviewed by our General Manager. We are delighted to hear that you are already starting to make plans to return again next year. Please let us assist you when you have finalized your plans. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    1,080
    270
    101
    41
See reviews for
956
1,463
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This felt like a big hotel, with not much privacy offered. If you want a more private experience better to stay somewhere else. This is well located though, plenty of restaurants and right on the beach. Room was average. Although there had recently been a renovation, it felt dated. Breakfast was ok, but better and cheaper can be found elsewhere. Staff are friendly, and this seems to cater more to families. So for families with young kids it is probably great. For a week away with your romantic partner, maybe somewhere else, unless you plan on being on the beach, in the pool or on the town the whole time. I actually ended up moving to a different hotel, not because this was bad, but because I wanted a different experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha Jetzetter. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We appreciate your honest feedback about our property. While our location and ambience did not suit the private, romantic hotel experience you were seeking, we are happy to have had you as our guests. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Have been visiting Honolulu regularly for many years and we rate this hotel very highly. Excellent location, comfortable rooms and friendly, well trained staff. What more could you ask? A bonus is Duke's restaurant. A delicious cocktail and meal while watching the sunset. A truly wonderful Hawaiian experience. Waikiki is somewhat tired in many areas but this hotel is an exception. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha MicheleMichael1. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is truly a pleasure to hear so many compliments about our property from regular visitors to Honolulu such as yourself. We are glad you noticed our Hawaiian ambience and recent renovations. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

stayed here twos night pre cruise booked with virgin holidays, in a diamond head side, city view and upgraded for 4 nights post cruise to ocean view room, both rooms were very comfortable & clean, both had a sea view , the upgraded room on 9th floor was far superior with bath and shower and a huge bedroom and much nearer to the front of the hotel ,we were on the 9th floor and had very little noise from dukes bar, the location is perfect for everything,beach...literally on beach front ,international markets, shopping centre , restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent value , but if you want an evening meal , book in advance otherwise you have well over an hours wait , the bar menu is also very good . If you have a problem talk to reception they were incredibly helpful. If you arrive early they store you bag and you can still use the facilities, and if your British ,like myself you use the coffee peculator to boil water for your tea (take some with you) they do like their coffee here !we also had a fridge in our room which was a super bonus for fruit milk etc. free wifi in rooms and hotel,which was brilliant for contacting kids in uk,you get free beach towels for the pool area, the lifts i found good,not really that busy, you need your room key to access them as no buttons in lifts. of note, we didn't add breakfast to the package when we booked, and found it cant be added on arrival, everyone was very friendly ,would gladly stay here again !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha jgilman. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before and after your cruise. Your detailed review of our property is very informative and accurate. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to share your experience with future travelers. We truly appreciate your 5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

the outrigger hotel is great its right on the beach front , when you have dinner or breakfast it's out there on the beach restaurant is great very good food. housekeeping staff very good , the greeting they give you made you very happy to be here . dukes bar and the hula grill are great also. hotel offers great shopping and dinning . just on the other side of the street you have the market place give you things to see and do. get on the beach early for a good spot, pay extra for a beach view you will love it.

Room Tip: beach view is worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha franksgogetter. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your visit. Please come back again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
college place washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great hotel! Spirit of aloha and very much sense of ohana.we want to give special recognitionto
housekeeping staff who kept our room in tiptop shape as well as greeting us with happy anniversary on arrival and then they remembered a week later!
We renewed our vows with hawaiian ceremony and the pastor did a beautful job.special thanks to boyana of nature's touch for the wonderful pictures and album. We shall not forget our stay from oct 5th thru the 14th and shall return.

Mahalo
Jack and judi carico

Room Tip: High floor towards diamond head wnd away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Aloha jack c. Hau`oli la Ho`omana`o (Happy Anniversary)! Thank you for letting the Outrigger Waikiki on theBeach be a part of your special occassion vacation. The Aloha spirit and sense of `ohana (family) are two of our company's core values that are demonstrated each day by all of our employees - from the maids who clean the rooms to the staff who make our complimentary vow renewal ceremony special and memorable. We will proudly share your compliments with them all. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel in the perfect place with the perfect staff. The hotel Signature Bar"Dukes" is awesome, and hopping on the weekends(tons of fun). The rooms are big, clean and offer a great view on a hot beach. The hotel location offers all the shopping and dining choices you could ever want. The food at both Dukes and the Hula Grill are great and both Bars rock, and there is a Seattle's coffee in the lobby. If you want to be alone...go to Wyoming or Nebraska. Come here and have FUN !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha Lou R. Thank you for choosing at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is such an honor to be called, "the perfect hotel in the perfect place with the perfect staff." Please come back again soon for another FUN vacation! Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.