We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Puyallup, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

The Outrigger is in a prime location in the center of Waikiki. We were pleased with the hotel overall, but did have a few problems. We arrived at the hotel around 1pm and our room was not ready. We were told we were guaranteed to have a room by 3pm. We returned at 3pm, but had to wait an additional 30 minutes while the check in desk helped other guests. When we finally got our room, we were disappointed. It was a very small corner type room with 1 double bed. The shower was tiny and the view was of the very loud Cheesecake Factory fan. I called the front desk and was quickly moved to a room on the other side of the building. This room had a King bed and huge shower/bath area. This was a city view room, but had a nice view of the beach as well. Much better. All staff was friendly at all times. The maid service was excellent. Our room was always made up when we returned to the room in the afternoon. The elevators were a problem. Something really needs to be done about this as we heard many people complaining. When we tried to take the stairs, they were full of maid and room service carts. I would hate to see that stairwell in a fire. Although it sounds like we had a lot of complaints, the good did outweigh the bad. It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. We would return.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    1,014
    256
    98
    40
See reviews for
884
1,372
87
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. After a 9hr flight, a 1 hr drive, who wants to wait 40min to check in??? Parking is a huge hassle. Yes, they are busy all the time however we spend half our time waiting to pull into their very small congested ramp. One day we needed to wait 30 min (if not more) while the garbage truck finished loading and unloading.

Our room was small but adequate. Maid service was terrible. Most days our room wasn't cleaned until after 4pm while 4 of us were attempting to shower for dinner. There are three elevators and only two were functioning. Apparently the hotel was 75% filled therefore waiting for the elevator took FOREVER. The food at Dukes was just OK and the drinks were weak. We weren't able to utilized the beach due to an all day Regatta. No beach chairs but you can rent one with an umbrella for $50 a day. The Sheriton is next door and has nice beach lounge chairs for the guests at no charge...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Don't get me started
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGM, General Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
Aloha Hockey Chick,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to offer some suggestions to future travelers to avoid the same situations.

Drive Way: I admit the entry to our hotel is small but the Doormen and Valet staff do a great job keeping the cars flowing and always make sure that our driveway is clear for the traffic to flow. Tip for first time travelers to Waikiki: In the morning the delivery trucks for the hotels and shops will park on the outside lanes of the street in front of the hotel to deliver their goods. The middle two lanes of the road will always be flowing. If you see the delivery trucks, don’t line up behind them and wait for them to finish unloading, stay in the middle lane and turn into the driveway when you pass the trucks.

Check-in Time: Our check-in GUARANTEE time is 3:00 pm. Meaning, it’s my job to give you a clean room by 3:00 pm. If you arrive before 3:00 pm we will try our best to get you into a clean room as soon as possible so you can start your vacation. If there are no clean rooms available there may be a wait for the room to check-out and be cleaned. TIP: If you arrive early and the room is not cleaned yet, give us your cell phone number and we will call you when it’s ready!

Maid Service: As I mentioned earlier, we made a promise to our guests to get them checked into a room by 3:00 pm. Therefore our housekeepers may be focusing on checkout rooms before cleaning stay over rooms. TIP: Tell us what time of day you want to have your room serviced and we will schedule your room to be cleaned at that time for the rest or your stay.

July 4th in Waikiki: There are only two days a year that Waikiki Beach is not business as usual. One of those days is July 4th when the McFarland Regatta is held in Waikiki. Canoe paddlers from all over the state compete in front of the hotel. This is a great event to watch but I can understand your frustration in not being able to use the beach as expected.

Elevators: Yes, it’s Murphy’s Law. July 4th, full house, limited elevator repairmen on hand, elevator takes the day off. My apologies but sometimes these things happen in even in paradise.

Hope this helps our future guests. Aloha!

Jim Heather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Would definitely stay here again. Room was comfortable & clean. Great location. Plenty of restaurants in the area and the, International Market right across the street All the personnel were friendly. Pool was nice except it doesn't get morning sun so have to plan on the beach in the morning. It was great being right on the beach and not having to walk but a few steps to get to it. Had a city view and was able to sit on the balcony and view the street and the ocean. Used Valet parking and never had to wait. Hula Grill has great happy hour prices for drinks and cheaper food than at dinner time. Just not a large menu to choose from. Enjoyed the music at Dukes at well. Loved it overall

  • Liked — being right on the beach
  • Disliked — morning shade at the pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed two nights and loved it. The location is right on the beach and close to everything. We walked everywhere. The staff were friendly, always smiling and saying hello throughout the hotel. Even though we booked a city view room, we had an excellent side view of the beach which was a surprise - we suspect they had run out of city view rooms! There was a great sandwich bar by the pool area where we got a fresh healthy sandwich to eat whilst sunbathing. There is a laundry area for guests to use which is an added bonus whilst travelling. We also stayed a couple of nights at the Hilton across the road but much preferred the Outrigger as it had a more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

I would have given this property an "excellent" rating but there was one little problem that I will address later.
We arrived at the hotel and it has a very impressive lobby. When you check in you don't stand but are given a seat and face a hotel clerk across a desk who is also seated. I was offered an upgrade of 50% off the cost to upgrade to an ocean front room but I politely declined as it was more than I wanted to pay. Turns out that I was upgraded anyway - no cost - to a partial ocean view. I was quite pleased about that. The room itself was very nice. A king sized bed, armoire, large nightstands with drawers, desk and chair, etc. We also had a small couch.The bathroom was large and clean with a hidden fridge. A sliding door separated the toilet and bathtub from the sink area. Behind the sink area was an open closet and the safe. Funny thing was our friends had the room next door and they also had a small sliding -door closet. The terrace was very small. Location was excellent- right across from the International Market and we loved Duke's. It is located right in the hotel and it was so nice to sit by the beach, watch the waves and listen to the live band while eating. Duke's has a very nice salad bar that is included with dinner. The one drawback to this hotel is the thin walls. I thought that other reviewers must have been exaggerating when they mentioned this drawback but they were not. I could hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms next door to me. I even knew when someone was using the restroom. It was definitely irritating. Good thing there was not a honeymoon couple next door!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is what you get with a Delux Ocean View room at this hotel: One that overlooks the roof of the Cheese Cake factory which has very noisy fans and maybe a sliver of the ocean. No where is it mentioned as Partial ocean view or partial city view. They are more than happy to upgrade you for $532.00/ 7days to a OceanFront room, which is what we wanted and did. So learn from our experience the only way you will get an unobstructed view of the ocean is to ask for Oceanfront and that's it. This room came complimentary internet safe and iron,slippers, alot of pillows which we liked. The walls are paper thin, and every morning we would hear banging doors and walls. Very noisey. If I come back to Oahu it will not be to this hotel.

  • Liked — beach front
  • Disliked — How they advertise their rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel is actually above average to excellent IF you get the right room. We purchased an ocean view (different than the pricier ocean front) room. The room we were assigned was dark, depressing, and disappointing to say the least. I knew I woudn't be able to enjoy my vacation there. You could only see the ocean if you stepped to the sliding glass doors. Even so, you get an eyeful of an ugly grey building. (The Outrigger should reclassify this room - I believe it was 1130.)

I called and asked for another room, and they seemed fine to accommodate. We moved to the other side of the building (facing East), and the difference was night and day. It was a spectacular room. You could spend your whole vacation inside the room with the loud sound of the ocean and enjoy and relax! As soon as you walk in, you have a grand view of plenty of ocean. If we were taken to this room first, I would have rated this hotel a 5. But I'm giving it a lower rating to warn others, and direct them on the way to go.

Otherwise, the staff is very good at the hotel. Quite friendly, welcoming (you back to their restaurants), and not pushy on how much or little you order or how long you stay enjoying the ocean view. Two would even greet us by our last name. We were impressed with their memories.

With 4 onsite eateries, it's pretty convenient. We enjoyed the more mellow Chuck's steak house. My husband loved the location - it's in the middle of all the action in Waikiki and is right on the beach.

  • Liked — Gorgeous ocean view of the room
  • Disliked — Horrible view in first room we were assigned
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.