We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very disappointing. The layout of this hotel is awful, to access the pool you have to cross through a public restaurant or the side of the building where the wash machines are. It doesn't have the atmosphere of a hotel, it is like a public shopping. The pool can be used by public as there is no control. I personally watch people coming in from street and get changed in the lobby bathroom to use the pool. The hotel looks old, the staff in the reception are not polite, don't give any information about the hotel, gym, etc, and don't know words as Sir, Madam, sorry...
I have no idea how this hotel can be classified as 4 stars, I would not give 3 stars. With the price charged we could stay in a much better hotel. I will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha Maga0808. Thank you for choosing at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay here. Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback for our management team. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,079
    270
    101
    41
See reviews for
956
1,463
90
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing view from our room .. Wow ! Could'nt find a better location. Friendly staff , bathrooms could do with a refurb , good size room . Overall a good place to stay, paying for the location .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha bella072. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your compliments about our unbeatable location, amazing views, friendly staff and spacious rooms are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and I wouldn't stay any where else. The location is fabulous, right on the beach and walking distance to just about anywhere. The staff here is so friendly and very helpful. They have a number of restaurants on site and they are all fantastic. I don't have any complaints, just a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha ozzydog13. Thank you very much for continuing to stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your loyal patronage is very important to us and we hope to welcome you and your family back for a 4th fantastic visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from my second visit to the Outrigger on the Beach where I celebrated a big Birthday. The gift bag which I found in my room on arrival - full of goodies - was very much appreciated having spent two days travelling to get there! Had booked (through Trailfinders) an oceanfront view room on high floor, was allocated a room on 5th floor on arrival but promised a room on 14th floor the next day. My baggage was transferred while I was out without any hassle. The rooms were spotless.

I would not stay anywhere else in Waikiki - the pool and beach are out the back door and the fabulous shops are at the front door! Lots of loungers at the pool and you can choose to be under a palm tree in the shade if you wish but I preferred the beach. Lovely fresh towels are provided at the pool and you can have as many as you like! Not a sweet paper, plastic bag or crisp bag in sight - the area is so clean.

Had breakfast in Duke's every morning - fabulous buffet, great staff.

ABC store is just across the road, also the International Market and I found "the Pantry" supermarket on the next street. It had everything you could ask for! There was a fridge in the room so you could buy supplies for lunch or tea, eat on the balcony and watch the sunset. There is a coffee machine in the room with lots of tea and coffee supplied and a kettle is available if that is what you prefer.

All the toileteries you need are supplied and replenished every day - top quality shampoo, etc and fluffly white towels.

All the staff deserve a mention - reception, bell, concierge and housekeeping.

Only downside - the lifts. They have all been refurbished but the room card system just doesn't work - long waits, long queues and very often packed.

I used SPEEDISHUTTLE to and from the Airport - booked a return journey which worked out cheaper - no problems, arrived on time. They now have a desk inside the airport.

Hope to be able to return soon!!! The Outrigger on Waikiki beach is worth the three flights and two days travelling!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an oceanfront room - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha OAP20. Hau`oli La Hanau (Happy Birthday)! Thank you for celebrating your big birthday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Hearing that you would not stay anywhere else in Waikiki is truly a huge compliment for us. Please come back for another visit soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had some friends who highly recommended this hotel to me so despite the travel agent trying to push other hotels at me I insisted on the Outrigger. Lucky I did because this hotel is just amazing! The staff are so friendly, the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, everything is beautiful! The photos do not do this place justice! We had a city view room but still had great ocean views from our balcony. The staff let us look in a few rooms (ocean view, partial ocean view etc) to compare which was really nice of them. Booking activities and transport was easy and the staff at the activities desk were always helpful.

One of the best parts was no resort fees (which is almost unheard of in Waikiki) and FREE Wifi in the rooms!!! Using Viber I was able to call my family and send emails, Facebook etc. I didn't realise how good this would be until we got there.

Dukes was out of this world! The Grilled Veggie Burger was AMAZING and the cocktails were fantastic. It was so nice to just sit and look out at the ocean and relax. There were sometimes long waits for a table but that was true of any popular place in Waikiki.

The Outrigger is close to everything and because it is such a popular hotel the tour buses will usually pick up and drop you at the door. Not to mention the hotel is right on the beach! You just grab your rubber ring and go!

I can't wait to go back and stay here! Best hotel in Waikiki!

Room Tip: Ask the staff to see the different rooms. We had city view and got to look in a few different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha Laura C. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted to hear that we were highly recommended by your friends. We are very proud to be one of a few beachfront hotels in Waikiki that do not charge a daily resort fee. In addition, we continue to offer free wireless internet, free calls to anywhere in the United States and Canada and free in-room amenities such as safe usage and complimentary coffee. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back for another amazing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor City, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is probably our seventh stay here over the years and it has always been nice. We stayed in an oceanfront room. The hotel location is great, the rooms are clean. Although the bathrooms are very small (half a shower/tub) and they no longer provide bathrobes. The staff is very friendly and always greets you, restaurants Dukes and Hula Grill very good. We will continue to return here on future visits and appreciate the welcome goodies they send up to the room for repeat customers.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms offer a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha Cheryl R. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is always our pleasure to welcome a familiar face back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki. On your next visit, please feel free to request a bathrobe from any of our employees. We always keep a supply of bathrobes on hand and are happy to deliver them to our guests for use during their stay. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights at outrigger and are back after seven years. Love this hotel, it has a great location and a really friendly holiday vibe. We relaxed around the pool, terrace are where you could always get a sunbed. The waitresses come around regularly for drinks. They have music in Dukes on Sunday afternoons at 4pm with dancing. We didn't eat at the hotel, but drank at Dukes every night, great atmosphere and they always had live music. Can recommend the mai tai and the mangrita, gorgeous. The room w small (we have just come from Vegas)however we had an ocean view and the view was to die for! We also got a gift bag when we arrived with some island treats , coconut cookies etc, really once touch. The lifts are annoying at certain times of the day, but hey chill out! I would stay at this hotel again no doubt and can recommend to others

Room Tip: I would stay in an ocean view room definatley worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha Borobird68. Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach after seven years. Your recommendation of our property is truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.