We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #11 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

After lots of research and reading tons of reviews, I picked the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to spend 4 days before the family arrived and we moved to a new property. Outrigger Waikiki was the perfect choice for us. It was remodelled, clean carpets, new tile and marble in the bathroom, comfortable bed. Check in was easy, but we were early so our bags were stored with the concierge and we went to the pool. The pool is a bit small and does get crowded but we always found a place to sit. The only complaint is that there are no umbrellas for shade so chairs in the shade were gone very early in the morning. The food in both the Hula Grill and Dukes was good and a band played every day during happy hours.

Additionally, I worked with the banquet manager from the Hula Grill to arrange a special birthday party for our father which included a private musician and hula dancer, delivery of a special birthday cake and lei's for the whole family, and she was very accommodating and worked with me to ensure that the entire evening went according to plan. After months of emails and plans our father's surprise party was a total success thanks to the help of the banquet manager.

I would not even consider going to any other hotel next time we are in Waikiki.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, king ocean view on the 14th floor. A/C worked perfectly and not once did we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha luckycat2. Thank you very much for taking the time to research our hotel before choosing to stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is heart-warming to hear that you planned a special surprise birthday party for your father during your stay. We are glad we could assist in making your family's visit a memorable one. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,458
    862
    220
    89
    34
See reviews for
731
1192
73
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with another family of 4 for a week. The check in staff were pleasant and treated our kids well. We had rooms on a high floor and the rooms were a good size. If you are on a high floor there is a special lift that only goes to the higher floors so you don't have to stop at the lower floors. We loved that the hotel is located right on the beach so popping down to the beach is very convenient and no need to drag kids and beach gear across roads/streets. We enjoyed sitting around the pool for cocktails most afternoons and found the food at Dukes and Hula Grill to be ok. The small sandwich deli sold reasonably priced food and shaved ice for the kids. Washing machines are located near the deli and in good condition.The hotel is located at an excellent location right in the middle of it all and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't located on the side of the building that looks over the exhaust fans or nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha Touringfamily4. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are a family-friendly hotel and our energetic staff loves to interact with children of all ages. For the convenience of our guests, we are proud to feature 5 food service facilities, many retail shops, a coin laundromat, a showroom, a rooftop spa, a swimming pool with jacuzzi and a fitness center. Mahalo Nui Loa. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights before hopping on a cruise ship. Hotel was basic.fridge and coffee machine are in the bathroom. Pool was kind of small for the size of the hotel. Outrageous price to rent an umbrella and lounge on the beach$60 day! We of course opted for towels in the sand. Service was average. I would probably check out somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha conanton. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before your cruise. We are sorry you found the prices to rent an umbrella and chair on the beach to be outrageous. While we do not manage the business that provides these rentals, we are happy to offer our guests complimentary usage of the hotel’s lounge chairs on our spacious pool deck. Mahalo Nui Loa for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved it here! The staff were so lovely and more than happy to help out. We had a great view from our room, we could even see the sea turtles swimming in the water. We were very excited to find a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived and a congratulations on our recent wedding. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha itscarlie. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to know that you loved it here. `Oi Loa Nä Makemake (Best Wishes) to your new life together as a married couple. We are truly honored to be a part of your fantastic memories of Hawai`i. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place with a clean room, surrounded by great places. In a great location, everything is very close to the hotel. But the hotel itself is very quite and relaxing even thought it was very busy at the time we were there, the service was still on a hight level. Nice breakfast place next to the pool, great pool and an ease exes to the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha NB_NYC2013. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you think our rooms, location, restaurants, pool and service were great. We hope to welcome you back for another great visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic location, extremely friendly staff. All 3 restraunts in the hotel were superb. You must try Duke's, but unless you want a standby wait of 1hr then book in advance - as soon as you arrive I suggest!
The only negative about the hotel was it's unnecessary practice of charging $60/day ($40/2hrs) for the rental of 2 beds & 1 umbrella on the beach! This I found extortionate & refused to pay, instead be prepared to move around the bed's by the pool if you need shade from the palm tree's. But I dare say all the hotel's do the same, a shame as Hawaii is so expensive anyway that this seems to be just plain greedy.
Great staff giving surfing lesson's (at a price) but they will get you up & surfing. If you want to rent a board, then go to Koa's board shop 5mins away behind the Hyatt regency hotel ($50/3day's) the hotel charges a refundable rental ($50) to lock your board in their racks for 3 day's.
Many wonderful places to eat all along the street, but to avoid waiting, try to book in advance especially for 'The Cheesecake Factory'....you must go here! Other's i recommend are the Atlantis, Tony Roma's & Jimmy Buffetts.
Food & beer are expensive in Hawaii but we failed to finish a meal as the portions are so large. If you want a beer by the pool, then buy some from the shop inside the hotel, very cold & cheaper.
As for the sight's then a visit to Pearl Harbor is a must (we booked it with the hotel) the Arizona memorial is very sombre & poigniant. The USS Missouri on the other hand was not only educational but great fun, my 16yr old daughter loved it!!
I also recommend the Luau at Paradise Cove. o.k. so it's a cliche, but it's good fun & the setting is fabulous. The sunset is amazing. Again, very friendly people who cannot do enough for you with great food & lot's of it. Some of the 'event's' were a bit rushed but that's the only negative. Talk to the hotel staff as they are extremely helpful for advice on trips etc
Should I go to Hawaii again, then I would definately look to book into this hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a front view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha Chris P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your family vacation in Hawai`i. We are delighted to read your compliments about our location, staff and restaurants. We are sorry you found a negative in the charges to rent a chair and umbrella on the beach. Unfortunately, our hotel does not operate the business that rents these items and we are unable to control the costs. We do offer abundant sun lounges on our pool deck for guests to use free of charge, just footsteps away from the beach. We hope you will come back soon for another awesome stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Oh how we love this hotel, I cannot wait to come back in Oct for our 6th stay in our "Home away from home". The friendly staff, beautiful beach right out the back of our hotel, the restaurants, shopping and our most comfortable room at the Best Hotel on the strip by far..see you all soon, Aloha..

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Aloha Gwenda E. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your home away from home in paradise. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.