We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
sydney
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“My favourite Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is now my third stay at this wonderful hotel. As soon as I arrive I am made to feel so welcome. Thank you Robert for always making me feel at home. The staff are so friendly. Nothing is a problem. Thank you Danny at the pool, always with a smiling face. Other hotels I have stayed at in Waikiki there is always a problem getting a deck chair not at this wonderful hotel. I had a beautiful room on the 9th floor ocean front. The one thing I heard from other guests is they need more ocean front rooms with double beds.
Beds are comfortable. Air con is quiet. Location is outstanding. Can't wait to return again

Room Tip: If you can afford it Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha kodySydney. Thank you so much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are genuinely honored to be your favorite hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcome familiar faces back to their home in paradise. We will pass on your messages to manager Robert and Danny at the pool. We can't wait for you and your family to return for another wonderful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    993
    247
    96
    38
See reviews for
856
1,345
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent 6 nights in an upgraded partial ocean view room. We'd booked a city view room and just for asking we were upgraded to a nicer room with a fabulous view. The hotel is 15 stories and has several restaurants including the Hula Grill and Duke's. They also have shopping, a pool, and great proximity to the ocean. We could see sea turtles right just off shore from our room. The room was nice and clean. The room attendant came around 3pm and we opted to only have service every other day. Two things that we didn't expect was valet only parking for our rental car at $35 a day plus tips, that was a hefty expense we didn't anticipate. We also experienced a malfunction the second night of our trip with the hotel's fire alarm. It went off and on for two hours in the middle of the night, clearly an isolated event, but we were a bit put off at the lack of apology or overt compensation for the sleepless night. We ended up getting one day's worth of the parking fee credited to our account when we asked at check out time. All in all, I would recommend this hotel. I would also recommend earplugs, just in case.

Room Tip: Opt for the partial ocean view, or full ocean view if you can, then look for those sea turtles. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha Lori C. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad to hear you were happy with our rooms, views and location. We are sorry that you were disrupted by our fire alarm system during your stay. Please be assured that the incident was an isolated one and our system has been fully repaired to ensure the safety of all of our guests and employees. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here now with a few days left. Our whole overall experience has been excellent. Rooms, facilities, staff, restaurants are great and exceeded our expectations. Even when our A/C stopped working it was fixed within 1/2hr. Would definitely recommend the outrigger on the beach. So close to everything you need. Will be sad to go so I thought I would comment now while I'm in vacation mode.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha bridgey255060. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and for taking the time to post a review during your stay. Your recommendation of our property is truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach, and It won't be the last time!
Such a lovely hotel, with friendly staff!
The position of this hotel is perfect! Right on the beach, next to all the shops and a 1 minute walk from the cheese cake factory!!
We stayed in a Partial Ocean View room, where we had view of the Beach and Volcano. I wouldn't bother paying for the whole ocean view when you still get this great view for less the price. The room was huge with a king size bed and a couch that also folded out as a double (not that we used it). The Bathroom also huge with a shower over a big bathtub. In the bathroom is a built in robe with iron, ironing board and hair drier.
We loved the Hot tub that was down near the pool area. The pool I considered to be abit small, however we only used it once and were in the ocean the rest of the time.
Cocktails at Duke each afternoon would definatly be one of the high lights. Live Band, Friendly people, great weather and a tastey drink... Couldnt ask for anything better!
You won't be dissapointed staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha skye1986. It is so delight to know that you wouldn't stay anywhere else! Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are perfectly located on Waikiki beach for a fun-filled getaway for friends and family. Our rooms are spacious, comfortable and stocked with all the amenities needed to feel right at home in paradise. Mahalo Nui Loa for your many compliments. Please come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My children and I have enjoyed the beautyand convenience and wonderful service of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach many times for summer vacations so knowing it's great location I returned again in May. Our check in was easy and we were upgraded to an ocean view which overlooked the beautiful ocean, Diamond Head, and the wonderful Pink Hotel and of course watching the people enjoying the beach, out riggers and surfers.
What could have been a total disaster for me was my mistake in forgetting to lock our safe after getting our camera out for the day. All of our cash and my credit cards were in the safe. When we returned we had a note on our night stand from the housekeeping manager and room attendant letting us know they had relocked our safe and we should call for assistance. I did and of course the first thing I did was look for my credit cards and check the cash in my purse which was all there. What a feeling !
The next morning I checked to see who this Honest Person was and left her a thank you and gift. Her name is Li Qi and she has been with the hotel for many years and I want to send a very special Thank You to her and the hotel once again.
If or when I return to Hawaii I will always choose the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach as from check-in to check-out the staff could not have been more wonderful.
Oh, and the resturants are great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner
Aloha

Room Tip: Stay one day less and enjoy the Ocean front room. The convenience of walking out the door to the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Wanda-Raymond. It truly is an honor to be credited for providing the best hotel experience ever. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers. We pride ourselves on having a team of honest and caring employees, a majority of which have been with Outrigger Hotels and Resorts for over a decade or two. Our Housekeeper, Li Qi, demonstrates one of our company's values best - the value of Kina'ole "Flawlessness":
"we do the right thing in the right way, at the right time, in the right place, to the right person, for the right reason, with the right feeling, the first time." We are very happy to have Li Qi on our team and we know that she will be touched by your compliments about her honesty and service. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint. The hotel room was spacious and we had a great view (Partial Ocean View room). We looked out to the city and the ocean and we were on a high floor. The service was great and we rated the food in both Dukes and the Hula Grill. The pool is a little small but the location right on Waikiki beach makes up for this as you can just walk right out for a dip in the sea. The staff were friendly and our room was always impeccably cleaned by the maid. We loved this hotel and only wish we had longer in it. It's clear to see why this hotel has all the best reviews. It is fantastic value for money as it comes in slightly cheaper than others situated on the beach - it certainly did for us as we booked in advance on a January offer. But even a higher rate would not deter us from staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Bruceman84. Thank you very much for your 5-star rating of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your many positive comments about our clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff and fantastic value are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose this for price and location. It is on the beach which is a big plus! The restaurants are very good and it is also across from the International Market place. There is a Honolulu Coffee shop next door at the Moana Surfrider for good coffee in the morning. We had a first floor room with no view, however, we were hardly ever in the room. If you think you will spend more time in your room then go ahead and pay more for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet but no view but we spent very little time riding the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha av8nautiger. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you spent a lot of time exploring the Waikiki area during your stay. We are happy to have provided quiet and peaceful accommodations for you and your `ohana. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.