We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #11 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint. The hotel room was spacious and we had a great view (Partial Ocean View room). We looked out to the city and the ocean and we were on a high floor. The service was great and we rated the food in both Dukes and the Hula Grill. The pool is a little small but the location right on Waikiki beach makes up for this as you can just walk right out for a dip in the sea. The staff were friendly and our room was always impeccably cleaned by the maid. We loved this hotel and only wish we had longer in it. It's clear to see why this hotel has all the best reviews. It is fantastic value for money as it comes in slightly cheaper than others situated on the beach - it certainly did for us as we booked in advance on a January offer. But even a higher rate would not deter us from staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Bruceman84. Thank you very much for your 5-star rating of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your many positive comments about our clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff and fantastic value are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,455
    860
    220
    89
    34
See reviews for
729
1190
73
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose this for price and location. It is on the beach which is a big plus! The restaurants are very good and it is also across from the International Market place. There is a Honolulu Coffee shop next door at the Moana Surfrider for good coffee in the morning. We had a first floor room with no view, however, we were hardly ever in the room. If you think you will spend more time in your room then go ahead and pay more for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet but no view but we spent very little time riding the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha av8nautiger. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you spent a lot of time exploring the Waikiki area during your stay. We are happy to have provided quiet and peaceful accommodations for you and your `ohana. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful Hotel. Very comfortable, but don't buy the canoe ride when you book. My husband booked that and we never used this because they were too busy to take us out when we could go. You have to wait til they have a time to do this. This didn't work for us because we had tours booked......wasted that money......but nice location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Ellie E. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to book a canoe ride while you were here. Our reservations website offers room rates that do not include an activity or meal package. If you should book a room reservation only, you can still purchase any of the the activities we offer separately when you arrive. Please come back for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived aound 9pm and checked in with ease. The rooms and hotel are a bit tired looking. We had a roon right outside the lift which was quite noisy. I was a bit dissapointed that we had this crappy room considering we were staying 9 nights. The partial ocen view is just that-partial. The rest of the view is straight across to the hotel next door. The rooms were a decent size however the balconies were quite small. The bed itself wasnt very comfortable. The pillows were weird, they were like kids mini pillows so not the standard size. The most annoying thing about this hotel was the lifts. There was always a huge wait.on the ground level you had to swipe your card and choose a lift before you got in the lift which seemed to confuse so many people and cause lines of people waiting. The beat thing about the hotel was the location right in the heart of Waikiki. It was easy to walk to everything. I think this hotel is really for families. It was impossible to swim in the pool as it was over taken by kids. I dont have kids so found it annoying but I can see how families would enjoy it as they can just let their kids go wild. Overall my stay was fairly average. Next time I would try another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Tasha1983. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you were not delighted with your stay. Please be assured that it is our goal to ensure every guest's stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Your comments will be carefully reviewed by our management team for future improvements. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

LOVE this place!! Came last September with my mum & sister & had the most fab time, so decided to bring my kids back. It did not disappoint. I wasn't happy with room allocation on check in, but that was all rectified & had a fantastic room (918). My only gripe about this place, as mentioned in previous review is the lack of shade over the pool/pool area. But I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in Waikiki ever again!

Room Tip: Always ask for the left hand side of the building - facing the beach, as the right hand side looks o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Baxlougus. Thank you so much for returning with your family to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Thank you also for giving our staff the opportunity to assist in locating a room to your satisfaction. Please come back soon for another wonderful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawaihae, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Perfect accommodation for visiting Waikiki. They surpassed every expectation, especially for the price. Very convenient, super clean, secure, beautiful appointments, great Hula Grill restaurant in-house. Love this place; just hate to keep it a secret! It's right across from the International Marketplace.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha kauboi. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We always try to provide the best value to our guests by offering discounted room rates throughout the year. In addition, we do not charge resort fees and we provide free amenities such as complimentary Internet access, local and long-distance phone calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada, free in-room safe usage and much more. It is wonderful to hear that we surpassed your every expectation. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The absolute best and most central location on Waikiki Beach with all the amenities you want and need, all wonderfully organised, booked and recommended by"My Hawaii".
This was my third visit to Hawaii and I love it. The Hotel is large, comfortable, has a Hawaiian feel and is not too impersonal for such a huge establishment. The biggest selling points would have to be it's location and the associated restaurant's.
The beach just at the front has to be the pick of the strip, with gentle surf and a nice sandy bottom, perfect for everyone to relax in with hardly any rocks or coral. If you want to go snorkelling it's a short walk or swim past the little breakwater to an area with a more diverse bottom.
The hotel is in the middle of the holiday accommodation area making it easy to get around, walk to places, meet tour groups and just be at the centre of everything. The International Markets are just across the road, this area is alive with small vendors selling jewellery, souvenirs and T Shirts. ( I believe there are plans to redevelop this area soon?)
"Dukes" Bar and grill is on the ground floor and is a favourite meeting place for a drink," The Hula Grill" a lovely personal restaurant is above it with sweeping balconies overlooking the sea. As is "Chucks Steakhouse", a lovely establishment with very good food and a great ambience.
The hotel has it all, perfect for families and couples. I've just come back to Australia and I WANT TO GO BACK. LOVE IT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Sue 15-59. Thank you very much for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your third visit to Hawai`i. We are pleased that you noticed the personable, Hawaiian feel of the property. While our hotel is not very large, it is filled with many wonderful amenities, restaurants and shops. Thank you for visiting our three beachfront restaurants and for posting positive comments about each of them. We hope to welcome you back on your fourth visit to the islands. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.