We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just AMAZING!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just AMAZING!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was in Waikiki for 3 weeks and stayed at the outrigger. It was the most beautiful place on this planet and the location is just simply amazing, you step one foot out of the hotel and your on the beach. The vibe and atmosphere was the best feeling in the world. So In front of the hotel you have the Main Street of Waikiki with The International Marketplace across the road and shops everywhere that goes for miles and miles. If you are looking for a quiet layedback area this is not for you. This place is so so busy there is always people everywhere you go, it's always busy even up until midnight -1am!! It was just perfect for us, so much to do. The weather was perfect every single day, temps from 26-40 degrees Celsius, just the way I like it

Overall the best holiday I have ever been on and is worth doing. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor in a Queen City view room( you still get ocean views). I had no complaints...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Kirsty W. Thank you very much for your 5-star rating of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are honored to read your comment that this is the best holiday you have ever been on. Waikiki is truly a fantastic destination for warm weather, relaxing beaches and a myriad of exciting activities to fill everyday of a long vacation with. Your satisfaction and desire to return is our greatest compliment. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    974
    243
    94
    38
See reviews for
841
1317
83
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed, and there are many. We were hear for 3 days, just a short stay in Honolulu after a week in Maui. The location was so good that we never left Waikiki. The beach access is unrivaled. The actual pool is small but appropriate for kids (that we don't have) and a quick dip to cool off.
The staff was 100% courteous and helpful from the general manager who handled a relatively small problem we had to my total satisfaction, to the housekeepers who promptly delivered extra coffee at our request, to the bellman that help us wrestle in a surf board.
We splurged on the Deluxe ocean front room and were so pleased with everything. It is the little touches that separate the great hotels from the merely good ones. I have struggled with electronic key card in the past, these work (you can swim and surf with them) and also control the elevator easily. There are cute and handy products in the bathroom, shaving kits, dental kits and generous shampoos, etc.
We enjoyed being on top of Dukes and the Hula Grill. They warrant their own review.
We were on the 2nd floor and went to sleep at night to the live music of Dukes and the sounds of the surf. If the noise had bothered me I would have requested a higher floor but it was not disturbing and ends at midnight. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved our ocean front room. Eat at Dukes for the breakfast buffet. Dukes also has complementary c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Aloha KristiKN. Thank you for sharing your ultimate Waikiki experience on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to her that you had a wonderful time during your short stay with us. Your compliments about our staff and General Manager are truly appreciated. While we are located on the best section of Waikiki beach and we offer comfortable, upgraded accommodations, it is our service with Aloha that continues to bring guests back for future visits. We hope to welcome you back for many stays in the near future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok, it's not the Ritz, but then it doesn't pretend to be. What it is, is right on the beach, right in the middle of Waikiki and right on! Dukes and Hula Grill downstairs so food is never an issue. We have a suite looking right at Diamond Head. Comfortable beds, clean and no complaints... There's really only 3 hotels right on the beach... Surfrider, Outrigger and Royal Hawaiian... Everywhere else you either have to cross the street or walk to our back yard. Brought our 15 yo with her friend. They had plenty to keep them occupied with surfing, lounging, pool and chilling at the beach. Even without the kids, would seriously consider coming back here again. I remember this place 30 years ago and would never have stayed here. It was kinda low-rent. But not now! Everything is new and updated and did I mention... right in the middle of Waikiki Beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha KenF150. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is always a great pleasure to read a positive review from some very happy campers. Our hotel has been centrally located on Waikiki beach since 1967. Over the years, we have gone through several major renovations and we have just completed our most recent one this year. We are now proud to offer all of our valued guests a comfortable and luxurious stay on the best stretch of beachfront property in Waikiki. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed 8 nights from 14 to 22 June 2013. On arrival after an overnight flight we arrived at around 9am and we were greeted by very pleasant front desk staff and we're estatic that our room was ready, which was an ocean front spar room on the 16th floor. The room and hotel was great, until our third day. My partner and I were down at the pool area and I suddenly felt sick. I went up to our room to use our bathroom, when I saw the maid service had our room door open. As I walked into the hallway I heard the bathroom door close, then I heard someone (graphically) going to the toilet. After a few minutes, out came the housemaid, who when she saw me was very shocked. I couldn't believe it. I didn't want to leave her alone in the room so, stayed outside on the balcony while she cleaned the room. When she left, I still really need to use the bathroom, so cleaned the toilet again myself. I felt totally violated.

I later made a complaint to the on duty manager, he was apologetic, and handed me a couple of breakfast vouchers to smooth me over ( I don't eat breakfast), but I'm sorry but I totally felt betrayed and lost all trust in this hotel and it's staff. What else are their staff up to when your not in your hotel room. Every day after that, I dreaded leaving our room and to add insult, had to pass this housemaid in the hallway of the 16th floor every day and I cleaned my toilet very day myself, as I didn't trust who could have been using the facilities.

We saved a very long time to book and pay for this hotel room. I have been to Waikiki 10 times and always stayed at clean budget hotels and never had anything like this happen. It totally ruined my vacation experience with this hotel, which is supposed to be one of the best hotels in Waikiki. As far as i am concerned the management did not do enough to make this situation better (no follow up by any form of management). If you want to be violated and your trust betrayed, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha HawaiiRee. Thank you for spending 8 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is good to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your partner with an early check-in on your day of arrival. We are also delighted that you were happy with your oceanfront room. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience with our Housekeeping employee. It is a violation of hotel policy for employees to utilize toilet facilities in occupied guest rooms. Please be assured that your complaint has been thoroughly documented by the Manager-on-Duty. In addition, the entire Housekeeping department has been briefed about our strict policy. We regret that there were disappointments during your stay and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melb.australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

best place to be if u can't afford the Pink Palace or Halekalaini
Get a view of the surf and keep an eye on the action,just upstairs from
Dukes, one of the coolest wet bars in waikiki.
Rooms being renovated , so make sure u keep clear of that pesky angle grinder.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha jogonMelb_australia. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your family holiday in Hawai`i. We are happy to announce that since your visit in 2012, our hotel has completed all renovations. We are proud to showcase 524 newly refurbished guest rooms, a remodeled saltwater swimming pool and expanded pooldeck. Please come back to see our many beautiful upgrades. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had the most wonderful stay at Outrigger Waikiki on the beach. Room 726 an Ocean View room. Just the most awesome view of Waikiki beach. Wonderful, helpful, happy Staff at the Outrigger. Great restaurants, live music. The best beach lounges in Waikiki. Cannot wait to go back again. Outrigger on the Beach Waikiki is in the best position. The hotel had been beautifully refurbished in its original style. It is situated between the next two best hotels in Waikiki. Just an awesome holiday. I will never forget it. We are already planning our next return to this Outrigger. PS this Hotel is actually right on the sand at Waikiki (not across the road) as are most Hotels in Australia!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If you want the best experience and memories, save a little longer and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha Ann L. Thank you for sharing your experience of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted to hear that you had an awesome holiday. Mahalo for your compliments about our staff, restaurants, lounges and location. Please come back for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Outrigger Waikiki on the beach was perfectly located. Initially had booked an ocean view room but was disappointed as the view was only partial. Upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room which gave a much improved view of the beach. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and it was only a lift ride and a few metres to the beach which was stunning. Loved the convenience of Dukes downstairs for breakfast daily, lunch and dinner. Ideal location. Would go back again tomorrow.

Room Tip: Definitely go for deluxe ocean view room if you want decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.