We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but lots of noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location but lots of noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location, right on the beach and tons of shopping and dining within walking distance. Our first few nights we were there was over a weekend, it was very noisy with people in the hallways and people partying on the beach, once Monday came around everything was much quieter. We had nice room with a great view of the ocean and Diamond Head, it was clean and updated but the bed was really uncomfortable and lumpy.The hotel is very big and only 2 elevators were working at the time so sometimes we would end up waiting 10 min and since no one would tell us where the stairwell was we would have to wait, so that was a bit annoying. We only ate in the hotel one time, we had an overpriced breakfast buffet which was not worth it. Every other time we tried to get into one of the restaurants there was always at least a 30min wait, esp if it was happy hour, also not worth it because the drinks are watered down.
The best part of this hotel was that they offer wedding renewal services for free. My husband and I were lucky enough to be the only couple renewing their vows that morning so the whole ceremony was around us.
We had a great time at the Outrigger and would go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not located across from the ice machine, don't know why people need ice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Aloha dn9999. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Please accept our apologies for the elevator delays you experienced in January. At that time, we were in the process of installing a newly upgraded elevator system. Our installation has been completed and we are now very proud to feature five efficient elevators for our guests to use. It is wonderful to hear that you participated in our complimentary Hawaiian Vow Renewal ceremony during your stay. We are truly happy to be part of your lasting memories of Hawaii. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,549
    921
    233
    89
    36
See reviews for
790
1258
79
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We came to this hotel after a week in Maui. Boy was it a change of pace. This hotel is in the middle of everything! Being on a trip with my elderly mother and two sisters, we came to do some shopping. And we did. Every possible store is in walking distance. My mother loved being right across from the international market.
Rooms were ok. View though was spectacular! Pool was very small, but we were spoiled from our hotel in Maui. But on the other hand beach and activities available were great.
Duke's was the spot for breakfast. But a little to crowded at night.
All the employees were so nice. Front desk was very helpful in getting a room near a elevator as my mother uses a walker to get around. Guys in the front were very service oriented. Skip and Troy were very helpful with any questions. Troy and Randy were always there to open our doors and assist my mother in and out of our car. They also had great suggestions and directions.
P.S. if you need anything see the guys out front. Don't see activity center. They just want to sell you stuff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Aloha sandeigofire. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very proud of our dedicated employees at the Front entrance of our hotel. Employees like Skip, Troy and Randy are the first to greet guests when they arrive and the last ones to bid a fond farewell to guests when they depart. Your positive comments will be shared with all of our staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have been to Waikiki three times and this is by far my favorite hotel. I researched hotels in Waikiki quite a bit before our family vacation looking for the best price. most updated rooms, and the closest to the beach, and thankfully Outrigger Waikki on the Beach was my choice! My kids and I had a great time! We got a room with a large balcony and a partial view on the Diamond Head side of the hotel...loved it! The rooms have recently been remodeled so no musty smell and very tastefully decorated. We were right on the beach and we typically spent our days right in front of the hotel on the beach relaxing and playing in the ocean. The hotel pool was a get place to hang out where you can order food and drinks. All kinds of shopping and restaurants near by, and the best part....super close to Dukes!!! We could just walk to Dukes along the beach. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip back to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Worth it to get a room with some sort of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha WSUCougs1. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family vacation in Hawaii. It is wonderful to hear that we are your favorite hotel, especially since you have been to Waikiki a few times and have done some research on the many hotels in the area. We are proud of our recently completed renovations, unbeatable beachfront location and family-friendly atmosphere. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We are very pleased with Outrigger on the Beach. Our room was beautiful and very well maintained. The entire hotel was beautiful. Housekeeping was awesome. The hotel is in a perfect location. Our room location was quiet and we slept like babies.

We ate buffet style every morning at Dukes. The food was very good and the service was outstanding.

The only negative was a $35/day valet parking fee. This is the only parking available, so there is no way around it.

I would rate our stay a 9 out of 10. I highly recommend this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha Kewpiegirl. Thank you for highly recommending the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your positive comments about our room, public areas, location, housekeepers and restaurant. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed in the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach.
We had just finished a cruise from Sydney to Honolulu and spent five nights here.
We have previously stayed in a partial ocean view room and a deluxe ocean view room in this hotel.
This time we went for the oceanfront room.
Oceanfront is the best for the view of course, but we have been more than satisfied with the other two categories as well.
Although, if you cannot get a partial ocean view room on the Diamond Head side of the complex, reasonably high and towards the beach front spend the extra and go for the deluxe ocean view.
You should still have a very nice view without spending quite a bit more for oceanfront.
Again, request the Diamond Head side as the noise from the air-con units of the Royal Hawaiian hotel can be quite disturbing.
The hotel is in a great location.
You have the Moana Surfrider hotel on one side and the Royal Hawaiian on the other.
We had a tenth floor room which was nicely furnished although we did not have a lounge as my wife assures me we had previously.
No matter, the bed was huge and very comfortable and the rocking chairs on the lanai, (verandah/balcony), were very comfortable.
We found that rather than spend our time sitting on the beach or around the pool we were more than happy to use our lanai to just sit and watch the beach in privacy.
It's a great spot to sun bake of an afternoon as well.
Regarding the pool...........it's very nice, a decent size, just off the beach, beside the big spa pool and has plenty of lounges, although it is only a little over four foot deep at the most.
A pretty good depth when you come to think about it.
You can spend hours just standing around anywhere without being cramped up one end as is often the case with a pool of variable depth with one end which is too deep.
As I said we have stayed here before and would definitely stay here again.
We have vacationed, (as the Americans say), nine or ten times in Waikiki now and stayed in a few other hotels but this is now our favourite and we feel comfortable here.
The service, friendliness and attention we have always received from all of the staff from reception, to the bell desk, to the room attendants, to the restaurant servers, etc.could not be better.
We like the breakfast area which is pretty much right on the beach.
We like Dukes bar.
We like the fact that you can walk to the main street, Kalakaua Avenue, very quickly, or to the beach just as quickly.
Apart from being superbly located for the beach, the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the best of Waikiki shops and shopping.
ABC variety stores are across the road as is the International Market Place.
The Cheesecake Factory, (excellent food and drinks), is right next door and Margaritaville is across the road, (also with excellent food and drinks).
We will return to Waikiki in the future and this Outrigger will be firmly in the forefront for our choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms on an upper level, on the Diamond Head side and as close to the beach front as possible would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha 2ozzietravellers. Thank you very much for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the third time. We are honored to be your hotel of choice in the Waikiki area. Your descriptive review does an excellent job of illustrating our rooms, lanais, swimming pool and location. It is our goal to create a 'home away from home' experience for our guests by providing comfortable accommodations and personable hospitality. Mahalo Nui Loa for your many compliments and continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We just returned from 8 glorious days in Hawaii.
My family of 4, 2 Adults, 11 & 5 year old kids, travelled with 3 other adults.
We arrived on an early morning flight at 6.30am. The hotel staff were fantastic and ensured a speedy and very early checkin.
Rooms were very clean and partial ocean view too was Still stunning views of the beach at our doorstep.
The only let down at the hotel I would say were the restaurants. I wasn't overly impressed with the variety but fortunately The Cheescake factory was right next door. I would highly recommend that for dinner. Excellent food and great value for money.
In terms of location this hotel was right in the heart of the shopping precinct and all shops were open till 11pm :)
The beach behind the hotel is great for swimming/surfing/paddle boarding. Cruises are also available and depart every 2 hours from the beach and cost around $20. Also good fun and a nice way to see Waikiki from the water.
In terms of tours we did the Pearl harbour tour which was very moving and a great experience for all. We also did a tour with a company called The Surf Bus which I would also highly recommend. We had a full day trip to the North Shore. On that trip we managed to walk to a beautiful waterfall where we got to swim and take some amazing pics, and then after lunch headed to the beach to attempt stand up paddle boarding. There were a number of activities to choose from such as snorkeling, bike riding, surfing, kayaking however we chose the waterfall and paddle boards. Great fun and we had a wonderful guide named Sam who gave us a great deal of info about the island.
All in all my family and I loved Hawaii and would have no hesitations in returning to the Outrigger.
Everything was available to us. Free wifi, business centre downstairs, pool for the kids (whilst the pool was rather small I was pleased to see they had a chair lift to assist people with disabilities to get in and out of the pool & spa). The convenience
store was open till late and ABC store accross the road was a
mini supermarket open till 1am.
A beautiful hotel in the perfect location.
Look forward to returning soon
Mahalo!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha magrofam. Thank you for spending a glorious week in paradise with us. It is wonderful to hear that you and your `ohana were able to explore a lot of the natural and historical landmarks in Oahu. Being centrally located in Waikiki, our property makes it very convenient for guests to enjoy all of the swimming, surfing, shopping, dining and sight-seeing in the area. We are looking forward to your return visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great place in a perfect location. Rooms are decent size with balcony. Everything is very clean and service is fantastic.

There is valet parking onsite ($35 for the 24 hour block), Duke's Bar is a great spot for some nice cocktails and live music. Hotel is right on the beach and right opposite the International Market Place and Macy's. You can't be any more central!!!!

Breakfast is served at the restaurant on the lobby level - fairly reasonably priced and great view if you can get a table on the balcony. Best is to make a reservation for breakfast or you may need to wait 10-15 minutes for a table.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha MajaDulic. Thank you for your informative review and recommendations. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Please come back for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.