We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kiama, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed in the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach.
We had just finished a cruise from Sydney to Honolulu and spent five nights here.
We have previously stayed in a partial ocean view room and a deluxe ocean view room in this hotel.
This time we went for the oceanfront room.
Oceanfront is the best for the view of course, but we have been more than satisfied with the other two categories as well.
Although, if you cannot get a partial ocean view room on the Diamond Head side of the complex, reasonably high and towards the beach front spend the extra and go for the deluxe ocean view.
You should still have a very nice view without spending quite a bit more for oceanfront.
Again, request the Diamond Head side as the noise from the air-con units of the Royal Hawaiian hotel can be quite disturbing.
The hotel is in a great location.
You have the Moana Surfrider hotel on one side and the Royal Hawaiian on the other.
We had a tenth floor room which was nicely furnished although we did not have a lounge as my wife assures me we had previously.
No matter, the bed was huge and very comfortable and the rocking chairs on the lanai, (verandah/balcony), were very comfortable.
We found that rather than spend our time sitting on the beach or around the pool we were more than happy to use our lanai to just sit and watch the beach in privacy.
It's a great spot to sun bake of an afternoon as well.
Regarding the pool...........it's very nice, a decent size, just off the beach, beside the big spa pool and has plenty of lounges, although it is only a little over four foot deep at the most.
A pretty good depth when you come to think about it.
You can spend hours just standing around anywhere without being cramped up one end as is often the case with a pool of variable depth with one end which is too deep.
As I said we have stayed here before and would definitely stay here again.
We have vacationed, (as the Americans say), nine or ten times in Waikiki now and stayed in a few other hotels but this is now our favourite and we feel comfortable here.
The service, friendliness and attention we have always received from all of the staff from reception, to the bell desk, to the room attendants, to the restaurant servers, etc.could not be better.
We like the breakfast area which is pretty much right on the beach.
We like Dukes bar.
We like the fact that you can walk to the main street, Kalakaua Avenue, very quickly, or to the beach just as quickly.
Apart from being superbly located for the beach, the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the best of Waikiki shops and shopping.
ABC variety stores are across the road as is the International Market Place.
The Cheesecake Factory, (excellent food and drinks), is right next door and Margaritaville is across the road, (also with excellent food and drinks).
We will return to Waikiki in the future and this Outrigger will be firmly in the forefront for our choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms on an upper level, on the Diamond Head side and as close to the beach front as possible would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha 2ozzietravellers. Thank you very much for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the third time. We are honored to be your hotel of choice in the Waikiki area. Your descriptive review does an excellent job of illustrating our rooms, lanais, swimming pool and location. It is our goal to create a 'home away from home' experience for our guests by providing comfortable accommodations and personable hospitality. Mahalo Nui Loa for your many compliments and continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,831
    1,080
    270
    101
    41
See reviews for
957
1,465
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 8 glorious days in Hawaii.
My family of 4, 2 Adults, 11 & 5 year old kids, travelled with 3 other adults.
We arrived on an early morning flight at 6.30am. The hotel staff were fantastic and ensured a speedy and very early checkin.
Rooms were very clean and partial ocean view too was Still stunning views of the beach at our doorstep.
The only let down at the hotel I would say were the restaurants. I wasn't overly impressed with the variety but fortunately The Cheescake factory was right next door. I would highly recommend that for dinner. Excellent food and great value for money.
In terms of location this hotel was right in the heart of the shopping precinct and all shops were open till 11pm :)
The beach behind the hotel is great for swimming/surfing/paddle boarding. Cruises are also available and depart every 2 hours from the beach and cost around $20. Also good fun and a nice way to see Waikiki from the water.
In terms of tours we did the Pearl harbour tour which was very moving and a great experience for all. We also did a tour with a company called The Surf Bus which I would also highly recommend. We had a full day trip to the North Shore. On that trip we managed to walk to a beautiful waterfall where we got to swim and take some amazing pics, and then after lunch headed to the beach to attempt stand up paddle boarding. There were a number of activities to choose from such as snorkeling, bike riding, surfing, kayaking however we chose the waterfall and paddle boards. Great fun and we had a wonderful guide named Sam who gave us a great deal of info about the island.
All in all my family and I loved Hawaii and would have no hesitations in returning to the Outrigger.
Everything was available to us. Free wifi, business centre downstairs, pool for the kids (whilst the pool was rather small I was pleased to see they had a chair lift to assist people with disabilities to get in and out of the pool & spa). The convenience
store was open till late and ABC store accross the road was a
mini supermarket open till 1am.
A beautiful hotel in the perfect location.
Look forward to returning soon
Mahalo!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha magrofam. Thank you for spending a glorious week in paradise with us. It is wonderful to hear that you and your `ohana were able to explore a lot of the natural and historical landmarks in Oahu. Being centrally located in Waikiki, our property makes it very convenient for guests to enjoy all of the swimming, surfing, shopping, dining and sight-seeing in the area. We are looking forward to your return visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great place in a perfect location. Rooms are decent size with balcony. Everything is very clean and service is fantastic.

There is valet parking onsite ($35 for the 24 hour block), Duke's Bar is a great spot for some nice cocktails and live music. Hotel is right on the beach and right opposite the International Market Place and Macy's. You can't be any more central!!!!

Breakfast is served at the restaurant on the lobby level - fairly reasonably priced and great view if you can get a table on the balcony. Best is to make a reservation for breakfast or you may need to wait 10-15 minutes for a table.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha MajaDulic. Thank you for your informative review and recommendations. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Please come back for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was lucky enough to have won round trip airfare to Honolulu back home in NY, so I decided to treat myself to a stay at one of Waikiki's most famous hotels - and am I glad I did! The room was actually VERY reasonably priced, and was an incredible value - spacious, clean and comfortable.

The greeting upon my arrival was warm and friendly, and not at all your typical, stand-at-a-podium-and-check-in experience. We sat down, chatted, I checked in, all was wonderful.

My room was a bit noisy, as it was overlooking construction that started quite early, but it wasn't the hotel's fault that the Cheesecake Factory next door had a fire and needed repair!

The beach is spectacular, the shopping is dangerously good, and the people on staff are truly touched by the spirit of Aloha. I'm dreaming of my return trip - where's a good raffle when you need one??

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha Donna H. Thank you for your 5-star rating of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are humbly grateful for your comment about our staff being "truly touched by the spirit of Aloha". As Na Mea Ho`okipa, or hosts, every one of our employees strive to create a warm, welcoming experience for all of our guests. It is our honor to provide the very best service and accommodations on the beautiful shores of Waikiki. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were very pleased with the hotel and service, not one complaint. Some reviews warned of having a room too close to Duke's, we were on the second floor right above Dukes and didn't have a noise problem at all, in fact we enjoyed looking down at the activities below. We checked-out and spent the day on the beach before heading to our cruise ship that afternoon, the hotel has a complimentary room that they offer to allow you to clean up and change before leaving, something that I thought was extra special. We loved Dukes, which is apparently a hot spot in Waikiki. The breakfast buffet is fantastic, and so was the lunch buffet, and the price was reasonable. Outrigger has the best beach in Waikiki, which is why we selected it. The beach area is relatively small, and a little crowed, but the water is great, you can go out a long way on the sand bar.

Room Tip: We spent the extra money for a beach-front room, for us it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Aloha REDeuble. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our property and staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the oceanfront views and live music from Duke's right on your lanai. Our complimentary hospitality rooms are available for guests who have a later flight and appreciate the use of a private room for a shower and change. Mahalo for letting readers know about this service. Please come back for another wonderful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very pleased with every thing about this hotel. I got an ocean front view room, Perfect location, Great service, helpful staff, good shops. the only thing I found a little bit uncomfortable was paying for hotel valet parking but is the only parking available, after a while I felt like a rich man I would stay again every time.

Room Tip: get a ocean front view room, is a bit more money but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Aloha Jose E. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o (Happy Anniversary)! Thank you for spending your special anniversary vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our oceanfront rooms are the ideal location to enjoy the very best views of Waikiki Beach - morning, noon and night. Please come back for another visit soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our 2nd time to Outrigger Waikiki - love it! You are right amongst everything (yes, it is a really busy spot) but everything is on your doorstep - shops, restaurants, markets and the beach. We booked an ocean view room with 2 double beds (for us and 2 teenage girls) which was lovely, clean and spacious. The only downside was when you opened the sliding doors, it was so noisy outside that we didn't open them for long (all the noise seemed to be coming from the big extractor fans at the Cheesecake Factory). All staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel at 6am and had put in a request for early check-in; it seemed very doubtful at the beginning but the lovely lady on check-in (think her name was Mae) managed to get us in early which was great as we could go back to bed - we were all really tired from our 1-50am flight from Las Vegas!
We did not dine in the hotel as it seemed really busy but there are so many other places to eat so it didn't matter.
Overall, a great experience and will definitely be coming back to this favourite hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Aloha SunloversSouthland. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki for a second time. We are happy to have accommodated your family for an early check-in, as we realize that flight times vary each day and guests are tired following a long journey to our island. Your compliments about Mae, our friendly Guest Services Representative, are appreciated. She will be truly honored to see her name mentioned on TripAdvisor. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.