We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #11 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly place !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger on the beach for 7 nights with great results . The staff were always helpful and the room was clean modernised and quite large. We had a room with partial ocean views and that was all we needed ,the view we had was great we looked over the surf rider but a great view of the beach as well . It was nice to sit our on the balcony and watch the ocean action.
The only down side was after being on another island in a resort with a lovely restaurant always having a place to eat , then not having priority seating for Outrigger customers was a bit disappointing in all 3 eating restaurants. Having to book Dukes restaurant for a sitting 2 days ahead and only able to get into a 815 pm sitting was very disappointing. Otherwise great hotel in a great location with great hospitality. THANKYOU.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha PGM1559. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that our staff was always helpful and friendly throughout your stay. We are very sorry that you experienced difficulties in securing reservations at the dining establishments in our hotel. All three restaurants on property, Duke's Waikiki, Hula Grill and Chuck's Steakhouse, are amongst the most popular eateries on Waikiki Beach and can become very busy on a daily basis. We hope you will come back and join us for another friendly visit in the near future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,455
    859
    220
    89
    34
See reviews for
728
1190
73
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I spent 7 nights at this hotel in April 2013. The hotel is well located and the rooms are well appointed. Not sure if we would have had wifi in our room had we not been on the first floor closer to reception.

The biggest complaint i have about this hotel is the total lack of shade poolside, not an umbrella in sight. The beach is extremely busy - with boats and board hire taking up just as much room as people. It costs a LOT of money to hire chairs and umbrellas on the beach - i went and bought a cheap umbrella in one of the many many ABC shops ($17 approx) to get some shade.

Dukes is located in the hotel but i found the food to be quite ordinary and the place always busy. It didnt seem particularly child friendly. Poolside service by the pool wasnt particularly fast and drinks were quite expensive.

ABC shops were everywhere and we bought fruit, drinks and sandwiches most days.

Overall the majority of the complaints i have relate to Hawaii in general not necessarily this hotel. I found the meals to be boring - does everything have to be slathered in Jack Cheese? I seriously am not suprised that USA has an obesity problem. The meals served are enormous and on the most part very unhealthy. The food alone has turned me off returning.

I did manage to obtain nice meals at the cheesecake factory and the california pizza kitchen located close by but neither take reservations - so be prepared to WAITTTTTTTTTTTT to get a table even at 5pm.

Overall - if you want a beachside hotel and dont mind crowds then this is your hotel.......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha Tantakesatrip. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family vacation in Hawaii. Your comments about our poolside and restaurants are truly appreciated as they will be thoroughly reviewed by our management team. Please be assured that we do offer complimentary wifi throughout the entire property. If your future travels bring you back for another visit, please let our friendly staff assist in recommending some nearby restaurants which specialize in serving the fresh, healthy Pacific Rim cuisine that Hawaii is well-known for. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at this hotel, it was an unbelievable experience. Staff would go that extra mile, food at the different restaurants was always top rate and pricing was good value.

Whether you are a couple like us or a family, Outrigger Waikiki on the beach can cater for all and I would truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha borg69. Thank you very much for your five-star rating of our property. We are so glad you and your family had a wonderful experience with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our second stay here, booked a partial ocean room last time, this time we booked a cityview room as budget was tight.
Stay was April 11-18 2013, with my 16 yr old daughter and her friend.
Had a great ocean view from balcony, never paying more for views, lol . We did request a room on the Diamond Head side of hotel and got room 709.
Room had two double beds, queens would have been better but oh well, very comfy beds. Had a hidabed sofa but girls chose to share bed instead to keep room from feeling crowded ( if we had sofa bed out).
Bathroom is great., love that there is a separate toilet and shower area, a walk in closet and sink area, two or three people can get ready without too much trouble. Shower was great, tub however is only a 1/2 tub, fine for me as I don't use hotel tubs but if you want a proper bath tub you should enquire about that.
We love the pool area , actually we use the patio just below the pool, you can relax on comfy padded loungers that face the ocean , steps away from the sand but not on the sand! Pool drink and food service is pretty good, the ceasar salads were a great deal.
Would I stay here again, in a heartbeat, its so central, there are several restaurants ( we ate at Dukes the bar and restaurant side,) and Chucks, and they do not disappoint, the breakfast buffet is excellent and worth the price, other places seem cheaper but nickel and dime you with juices and coffees going for 3 or 4 bucks, this is all included at Dukes.
Staff were all very nice..

Another hilarious tip,, they give Seniors Rate to anyone over 50!!! And its a good discount , so when booking room be aware of that !

Room Tip: Choose the Diamond Head side rooms, they are quieter then the other side which faces Cheesecake Fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha joan1. Thank you for coming back to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for a second visit. Our property is perfect for a fun-filled Hawaiian vacation with family and friends. We feature spacious rooms, beachfront pooldecks with abundant seating, 3 of Waikiki's most popular restaurants and a convenient location to everything Waikiki has to offer. Your tip about the Senior Citizen rate for adults age 50 and above is an excellent one. We also extend discount rates to AAA members, airline employees, travel industry employees, military personnel and residents of Hawaii based on availability. Please call our reservations department at 1-800-OUTRIGGER for more information. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early April before going on the Maui. We researched and also took into account the opinions of other TA members, before choosing this hotel. We were very pleased that we did, upon arriving we felt welcomed by the staff. We were on the seventh floor ocean view room. We had a nice view from our balcony. The room was clean, spacious and suited our stay.
This hotel was in a great location, beachfront and close to restaurants and shops.
We ate out breakfast at Dukes, it has one of the best buffet breakfasts we have ever had. On our first evening we ate our dinner there, the wait staff, was informative and gracious. The meal was very good, with good presentation, we even enjoyed it, even though we were very tired from our long flight from Canada.
If we return to Waikiki we would return to this hotel and I recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in Waikiki. Thanks to those who answered my questions, you helped us make a great choice.

Room Tip: Great Location. Excellent breakfast at Dukes...on site restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha Canadasunny53. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you took the time to research our property on TripAdvisor before making your decision. Mahalo for sharing your own experience with other readers. Your compliments about our welcoming staff, clean & spacious rooms and Duke's Waikiki are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUFFALO, NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki twice during the last two weeks. The first time we upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the 11th floor. It had two balconies and a wonderful view of the beach. The second stay we had an ocean view king bedroom on the 16th floor with again a great view of the beach. Being right on the beach makes the vacation rather than across the street or a block or two away. This hotel was just right for us--not too big and very personalized service. Location is great--close to restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha SUZY_Q025. We are delighted to hear about your wonderful stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Being on the beachfront definitely maximizes the Hawaiian vacation experience for all visitors. Please come back and join us for another amazing visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our tenth visit to Hawaii and our seventh staying at this fabulous hotel. We couldn't get in last year due to the renovations which made us very disappointed. However, this year, as usual, we had our one bedroom suite. At first upon arrival, we were a little dismayed as we were told that we had the last suite which was on the first floor. Having stayed on the first floor on a previous visit, we were not happy about this. The bathroom in the unit is very tiny and the whole unit is a completely different shape as opposed to other one bedroom units on upper floors. Many, many thanks to Alex who virtually turned himself inside out to manoeuvre things around for us. As we were staying for eight nights, we preferred not to be moved too many times. Therefore, after all his hard work, we stayed on the first floor for one night and were then moved to the 9th floor suite which was perfect. The first floor one bedroom has a massive balcony, but this does not do much for two people without children. Then again, while the balcony would come in handy if you did have children, the bathroom is so, so small, that it would prove totally unacceptable for all concerned. The noise from the large air ventilator is right outside your bedroom sliding door. It lends no attraction as part of the balcony and the smells from the restaurants downstairs as well do not add any value to the fact that your balcony is bigger than everyone else.

All the front balconies facing the ocean now have glass panels which is far better than the iron bars that were there previously. The decor is nice, however, we both felt that the previous decor was brighter and highlighted a more tropical ambience to the rooms. The new upholstery has darkened the rooms somewhat but on the whole, still a lovely, warm and friendly hotel. The one disappointment for us was the new pool. It has been turned into more of a wading pool for children and the older generation. Having a depth of 3ft at the shallow end and 4 feet or 1.2metres at the deep end (if you can call it that), it has made it feel like a warm bath as opposed to having that ''refreshing díp''!!! The beach is a much more attractive option if you want to cool off!!!

All staff as usual are friendly and courteous. The location is superb and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we go to Hawaii. There is no better place than the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach!!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford an oceanview room or suite, go for it. It definitely makes a difference and adds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Aloha WStravel11, thank you for your time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff were attentive to your needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.