We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach is a great hotel! It is clean and centrally located. Beds were comfortable and rooms were modern. They offer free WiFi and daily activities like lei making, hula lessons or ukulele lessons. Surf boards and boogie boards could be rented right there on the beach. Three nice restaurants at the hotel with outdoor dining. Staff was nice and housekeeping always said hello. Mikala at the front desk was great! Always friendly and very professional. She helped us make a smooth transition from another hotel. We appreciated her advice and suggestions throughout our stay. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonoluluGM, General Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Warm Island greetings and hello from Waikiki beach,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. I am very happy to share your comments about Mikala and our other team members with them. We hope your transfer over to us from the other hotel has convinced you to return back to Honolulu and stay with us again. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,561
    933
    235
    92
    38
See reviews for
805
1269
80
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A spring break trip to Hawaii! Thanks to Steve at Beach Bums for selecting the perfect hotel for my 17 year old niece and me. The room overlooked the ocean and the lanai was the perfect spot for morning coffee.

Plenty of restaurants in the hotel including Dukes which is accessible from the beach. They served great burgers and drinks and the vibe there is lively.

The staff at this hotel is extremely friendly and helpful including housekeepers, bellman and front desk staff.

Our concierge, Heather , hooked us up with several tours and also provided maps and public transportation info.

Located across the street from the hotel was the Marketplace...loaded with stores and stalls to buy souveniers.

Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonoluluGM, General Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha and thank you for traveling from Marlton, New Jersey to stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback, and in taking the time to let us know about your uniqe experience. Be assured, i will share your comments about the staff with all of them. The Concierge Heather is one of the best. We are very proud of her. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With warm Island Regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Right in the middle of Kalakaua Ave so most of what you want to see in Waikiki is within walking distance. The hotel sits right on the beach. Beach activities, shopping, McDonald's, coffee shop, shows, International Marketplace, everything is right there. Duke's is a great people watching restaurant which is downstairs from the hotel. We were there on Spring Break. The streets were filled with students day and night. There must have been a lot of high school sports tournaments that week because the kids were out at night in packs. It was an interesting mix with high school kids in various forms of uniforms and school sweatshirts AND drug dealers and hookers trolling around. The area still felt safe and was very clean.

Room Tip: If you aren't a night person then get a room away from Duke's. It gets hopping at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha etan92612, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Duke's is a popular restaurant in the hotel that serves a variety of food for everyone to enjoy whether it is for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Waikiki would never be first choice in Hawaii but the outrigger is clean and in a great location. Everything is expensive and the beach is small and very crowded. Parking is $35 a day. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Have stayed here twice and would definitely go back if needed to be in Waikiki.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha Laura I, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs. Your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location in Waikiki. It sits directly in front of famous Waikiki beach and within walking distance to every shop, restaurant, and activity you could possibly imagine. The hotel is very well kept, and the rooms are very nice also. Great bang for your buck. We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Waikiki.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room closer to the ocean to reduce the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha Jetspeed219, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel directly on the beach in waikiki. Very friendly staff for every service we encountered. Loved the location as it is very central to everything. The size of the hotel is great as it is not too large so it's easy to get around. We rented the beach umbrellas and ate at Dukes and Hula Grill restaurants. The food and drinks were all very good. We sat at Dukes bar and chilled out and all of this is just a step to the ocean. After we checked out, and later in the day, we were given a complimentary hospitality room to freshen up before our flight. We had a great time and I highly recommend this hotel. When we come back to waikiki we will definately stay at the outrigger waikiki again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha CNJNalberta, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've been to Oahu twice now and the second time I stayed here at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach—March 21-March26—and I will never stay anywhere else again. My friend and I, both young adults, absolutely loved our stay. The staff at both the hotel and Duke's are so friendly and helpful; our room was beautiful, clean, and always stocked with everything we needed; our housekeeper, Mia, was the sweetest lady; and we had a killer view for booking one of their cheapest rooms. The location is amazing as it's right on the beach. I highly recommend Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to anyone looking to stay on this island. Best hotel I've stayed at ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha Nicole J, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants. Be assured that your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the new future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.