We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - Awsome - Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #11 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Seattle, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Awsome - Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can't Say enough good things about this hotel. The service, location, can;t be beat. Right on the beach at Waikiki (prime location) . Yes, you can save money and stay across the street, but the exepericne will not be the same. Staff is wondrful, polite, accomidating,ets. Food is fabulous! (Hula Grill & Duke's) -The best part was all hotel guests wre as acually plesant as the staff. Wonderful, pleasnet, curtious people stay here. You can't ask for more on Waikiki. Had a full ocean view room. perfect in every way, only drawback is not seeinjg Diamond Head. Plan to say here again and again. . . (Six nights 3/7 - 3/13). Aoha and Maholo from SeattleMatt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha seattlematt1956, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,455
    858
    220
    89
    34
See reviews for
727
1190
73
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

For the second time in 2 years, we stayed a week at the Outrigger Waikiki and for the second time, it was glorious. The bell staff is great. Our room wasn't ready as we had an early morning arrival but our bags were delivered within minutes of entering our room. The concierge was very helpful--providing us with phone numbers and hours for various museums and sites. Perhaps the highlights however, are the meals. Both Duke's and the Hula Grill offer incredible ocean views and great food and drink. It's worth being in the Hula Grill on Fridays around 5:30 PM--you can watch the sailboat races and enjoy Kona brews on tap. I recommend a high floor with an ocean view. We had a partial view which was nice and I can only imagine that a full view would be spectacular. The hotel's location is easy walking distance to other hotels, restaurants, bars, and shopping. I'm sure there are other great hotel options in the area--the Sheraton, Royal Hawaiian, and other Outrigger properties look very nice but we would enthusiastically book the Outrigger Waikiki for our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha Greg E, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. With our centralized location, guests can explore all the different shops and restaurants in the Waikiki. They will sure find something to bring back home. Our concierge staff are available to assist you on booking tours and activities or simply providing you directions to places you want to visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If want the best than look no further than the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach ! This is our second trip to Hawaii & our first time staying at this hotel. In 2011 we stayed at Castle shore apartments(they also belong to the chain of Outrigger Hotels) right at the other end of waikiki beach so this time we decided to stay closer to everything. The location was perfect. It is right in the heart of everything. Situated next door to the Cheesecake Factory & right across the road from the International Market Place. As for shopping you are also next to the forever21 store, galleria, victoria secrets & all the major duty free stores. So it's the perfect spot where you can go shop ,shop, shop & then come back for a few minutes later to the room for a rest .What more could you ask for? The rooms were large & roomy & extremely clean. The staff were very friendly & the maids were all friendly & helpful . We had 2 partial ocean view 2 double bed rooms & go out on the balcony to relax you have the spectular ocean view on one side & the main street on the otherside. You can watch all the people shopping at the International Market place from your balcony. My adult son & my husband took advantage of the use of the gym & my daughter & I enjoyed the shopping spree. Of course we all took advantage of the salt water pool & hot tub which were very nice & relaxing after a long day of touring & shopping. The best part was you are in the heart of the waikiki beach . Step out from the pool straight to Waikiki Beach & visa versa.The best of both worlds ! The Dukes resturant was very nice place to eat . There is also a post office in the hotel , an ABC store & a lot other boutiques as well. The whole hotel has free WIFI so you can enjoy surfing the net either in your room or near the pool or anywhere in the hotel. What more could you ask for. LOL
Definitely simply the best hotel we stayed out in our whole trip to America & will definitely stay again at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach when we go back. 5 Stars all the way !!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor. Less noisy than the lower floors. If the budget can afford it than go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Paulette A, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are happy that our staff were friendly and attentive to your needs. We are centrally located to many stores and restaurants where there is always something for everyone. Your comments will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we moved from the Hilton Hawaiian Village after 5 days and stayed at the Outrigger for another 3 nights. We reserved an oceanfront room and it was perfect. We were on the 14 floor in room 1424 which was right next to the corner room. It had a seperate shower and we opted for the spa tub which was nice but not quite big enough for 2 people unless they are small. With the spa tub you lose a little bit of room space but it was good anyway. The balcony had a table and 2 rocking chairs. The view was perfect. We saw a couple whales one day just cruising by in the distance. Got to see the sunset every night which was nice. The service was great from the restaurants to the bell desk to the check in desk as well as the valet service. They have a free Vow renewal on Monday and Wednesdays at this hotel which we did and it was really very nice. There were 5 couples that did the renewal and they do it outside just before the beach so that was nice. We stayed here 23 yrs ago and would stay again in a heartbeat. The airconditioning was very quiet as well.

Room Tip: If you opt for an ocean front room try to get one above the 8th floor as sometimes at night it can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha packy2, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to experience the Hawaiian vow renewal ceremony on the beach. Be assured that your feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is quite busy around this area of Waikiki, but I have also stayed at the "budget" end of town, at least two blocks away.
If you want a nice hotel with great service, restaurants, views and location, then this is your place. Don't scrimp , go for the best room your budget can afford.
If you cannot handle crowds, just plan your meals a little, we had acres of elbow room at breakfast between 8:30 and 9:00. Lunch we ate on the road and dinner was pretty hectic. To be fair we did not book for dinner and had excellent meals across the road and only waited 20mins max.
Oh Gawd, I sound meal-fixated! The Hotel has a fantastic lobby with museum quality art and artifacts. Go for a surf. Rent a Mustang and drive around the whole island. Eat garlic prawns at north shore. Easily done in 5 or 6 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing towards Diamond Head - it gives a better view of the main beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha russellen1, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants in Waikiki. Until next time, warm island regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located about 20mins from Honolulu Airport so its not too far away. The hotel features a salt water pool, hot tub. a small restaurant. Also included are several stores including 2 very nice jewelry stores, and a couple of ABC Stores (they are the American version of 7-11). For Canadian guests you get free Wifi and Free Calling to your friends and family back home in Canada. The hotel is a short walk from the International Marketplace and downtown Waikiki. It also located right on the beach. The Team was very friendly upon check in. The rooms were very nice and large and the view was absolutely wonderful.
It was such a nice hotel for my first trip to Hawaii

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice, however rooms on the left side you could get pretty good photos of the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha KLBFan13, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guests at Outrigger Waikiki can enjoy complimentary calls to the mainland, local, or Canada. In addition, there is complimentary wireless and high-speed throughout the property. Should you want to venture outside to shop, at the International Marketplace (across the street from us), you will find souvenirs to bring back home to your friends and family. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've stayed at the Outrigger many times - most recently in December of 2012. We find the staff to be wonderful - and the hotel is a wonderful combination of casual (for the kids ) - and more formal for the adults! Duke's Pub is great - and the hotel is also right next to the Cheesecake Factory!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha parveen50, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.