We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent 5 nights in an Ocean View room on the 11th floor, overlooking Waikiki Beach, the Royal Hawaiian and out to Downtown Honolulu. The room was absolutely beautiful, with a nice Hawaiian "feel" coming across from the decor. The bed itself, including the linen, pillows etc was absolutely beautiful. The bathroom amentities were also first-rate, the shampoo and conditioner amongst the best I've ever used! The only minor drawback was the shower was essentially one ridiculously high pressured spurt of water which made it a little difficult to have a relaxing shower after returning from Waikiki.

We had breakfast included, and the hotel gives you a choice of 3 places to use your breakfast vouchers - Duke's, the Hula Grill or a small coffee shop near the entrance. We chose to have breakfast at Duke's each morning. Breakfast was really very good, although it would have been nice to see some nice fresh grilled tomatoes or sauteed mushrooms to add a bit of a vegetable component to the buffet. We also had a lunch and a dinner at Duke's, the food really was very good and, thankfully, reasonably portioned by a Hawaii standard!

Staff were excellent, it really is lovely to be addressed by name in a manner that isn't "fake". The standard of housekeeping was also very good.

The only big issue the whole stay - one day we went to enquire with the concierge about a rental car. For some reason, she saw this as an opportunity to absolutely bombard us with information about a timeshare program. She was really very overbearing and we had to be reasonably firm with her to actually make her stop informing us about a program we have absolutely zero interest in. She then became very short and surly which I consider highly unsavoury. This was disappointing as the rest of the staff were great.

Will surely be returning!

Room Tip: Request a room on West side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha vheba, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is very relaxing to sit on your balcony to watch the waves wash to shore on the beach. Dukes provides a variety of food options for their breakfast buffet. Hula Grill also have a great selection of breakfast items that you can order from their menu. We do apologize for the experience you have encountered with our concierge and the shower pressure in the room. Be assured that your feedback with shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    1,080
    270
    101
    41
See reviews for
957
1,466
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
985 helpful votes 985 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large, the balconies have two chairs and a table that are usable. Everything inside: front staff, cleaning staff, restaurant staff, amenities and friendliness were above average.

The only reason we might not come back was the noise. Early morning noises include the service and garbage trucks, daytime noise included the constant thrum of traffic and horns, the very frequent honks from the catamaran plus the occasional annoyed broadcasts from the catamaran to get surfers out of the way of its path, the loud drumming from somewhere on the beach and from the restaurants below and the noise from street entertainers until late at night. We might have just tried to enjoy it, but the noise reflects and echoes off buildings and has the same effect as a radio just off its station. On our last night, someone discovered it was fun to sing and shout to get the echo. It wasn’t fun for us to hear at two in the morning. If you can sleep with the windows shut and the very cold blast of air conditioning, you might be okay, but we like to have the window open.

The hotel has just put in a new system for its elevators, so that seems to be working well. The Dukes restaurant has a wide variety of excellent food and salad bar. The cleaning staff is top notch, so much so that I wrote a note to the manager about the cleanliness. We had the feeling that the hotel is well run and responds well to its guests in every way. The location on the beach and near the Royal Hawaiian shopping centre is excellent. If you can handle the noise, then I’d recommend it highly. We were glad to get home to the peace and quiet and a good night’s sleep. We’re still looking for the perfect week or two week holiday in Hawaii because we go every year.

Room Tip: We were in room 912 and there were many noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha VictoriaGardener, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are delighted that our team were friendly and attentive to you needs. We apologize for surrounding external noise you have experienced during your stay. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is incredible. It is right in the middle of upscale shopping. They treat you like family and the accommodations are impeccable. The king size bed was very comfortable with rich comfy bed linens. The decor was exotic and exceptional. We loved the food and view each of the restaurants had to offer especially the breakfast buffet at Dukes. The valet parking was so convenient. I thought they displayed the Hawaiian culture superbly. Very Aloha!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha Vicki M, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach.Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and I must say we were pleasantly surprised as everything proved to be a great experience from check in, took about 2 min., to check out, less then 1 min.
Our room, ocean front on the 14th floor was spotless and was kept that way thanks to the excellent and always friendly housecleaning staff.
We ate in all of their restaurants and were especially happy with the staff at Duke's Canoe Club in particularly with the manager we met, Drew and waiter Dave B; both were very friendly, made you feel welcome and glad you were there, they and the housecleaning staff would be enough to make you want to return.
I also found the prices for food and drinks to be reasonable, on par with what we pay at home in a good restaurant.
The hotel is in the middle of everything which is great, no need to walk great distances
Also the beach with numerous activities, it’s great for people watching, surfing canoeing and catamarans are right there to take you out for possible whale watching cost was $20/person or 25/person with all you can drink.
Finally this is not the first time we’ve been to Waikiki in fact its our fourth trip and by far the best. Thank you Outrigger for a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha joe l, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at night after an 11 hour flight that had been delayed an hour. Much to our dismay, we were given the wrong room (partial ocean view with two double beds instead of a king bed). The staff claimed that there were no king rooms available and to check in the morning. By this time we were very tired and just wanted to pass out. The front desk was not apologetic about it, and didn't even mention it when we checked in, we found out once we got in the room. Luckily they were able to move us to a king room near the top floor which was nice, but still a hassle to have to pack up and move again. Not a very good experience on the first night after a long flight. After that though, everything was fine. The hotel is right in the middle of the Waikiki scene so very busy. Short walk to the beach and plenty of options for eats. Valet parking was very expensive each night, but there wasn't really any other option. Rooms were nice and clean. Beach in front of hotel not that clean, though that's true of most of the beach now (sad). Front desk staff were not the friendliest, except for the person who checked us out on the last day. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha ak2_travel, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as it will help us with training and reinforcement of our team. Should you be on the island again, we hope to welcome you back to give us another opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Comfortable is the best adjective to describe this lovely hotel. We usually vacation to Maui but decided that our teenage daughters would probably appreciate the vibe at Waikiki more this time. We were right. This hotel is right in the heart of the action - beach, shopping and restaurants. Our kids loved having the freedom to go a coffee or do some shopping or relax around the pool. They quickly recognized the value in getting up by 8 to pick their lounge chairs around the pool : ) We were glad we shelled out the extra $ for an oceanfront view. The calm, beautiful view was a great balance to the hoards of tourists and busyness outside the hotel. Comfortable would also describe the unpretentious atmosphere of the hotel. Staff and other guests are so down to earth. We happened to stay at a time when there were lots of "regulars", who were kind enough to give us tips on activities and restaurants. Comfortable is the word for our one-bedroom suite, as well .... spacious and with a pull-out sofa that the girls did not complain about! We've stayed at the Four Seasons Maui before, which is our benchmark for excellence, and would have to say that this is a close experience (in terms of service and location) at a more reasonable price. We must also recognize how fortunate we were to have Fiona as our daily housekeeper. She is an absolute asset to this establishment. We would agree that the elevators were under constant maintenance and there was one day when it was faster to take the stairs (to the eighth floor!) Overall, we had a great family holiday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you want a more zen-like experience in Waikiki, choose an oceanfront view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha funfamilytime, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying with us on your family vacation. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants. The oceanfront suites are great for families and it is relaxing to watch the waves washing to shore on the beach from your room. We hope to welcome you back on your next vacation to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

One of the best customer services I have ever experienced! Front desk person (Alex) was simply incredible and he made our stay a memorable one. Kind, helpful, compassionate and patient (we had two elderly ladies with us) would be just some of the adjectives describing him. Besides him, the entire stay was great. Beautiful property right on the beach and a home of Duke's, the best food in town! We loved it and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean view...it is just as good as the full ocean (this is kind of pushing it, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Alex L, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive comments of our team member. Be assured that your your feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.