We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at night after an 11 hour flight that had been delayed an hour. Much to our dismay, we were given the wrong room (partial ocean view with two double beds instead of a king bed). The staff claimed that there were no king rooms available and to check in the morning. By this time we were very tired and just wanted to pass out. The front desk was not apologetic about it, and didn't even mention it when we checked in, we found out once we got in the room. Luckily they were able to move us to a king room near the top floor which was nice, but still a hassle to have to pack up and move again. Not a very good experience on the first night after a long flight. After that though, everything was fine. The hotel is right in the middle of the Waikiki scene so very busy. Short walk to the beach and plenty of options for eats. Valet parking was very expensive each night, but there wasn't really any other option. Rooms were nice and clean. Beach in front of hotel not that clean, though that's true of most of the beach now (sad). Front desk staff were not the friendliest, except for the person who checked us out on the last day. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha ak2_travel, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as it will help us with training and reinforcement of our team. Should you be on the island again, we hope to welcome you back to give us another opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,704
    1,012
    255
    98
    39
See reviews for
881
1,369
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Comfortable is the best adjective to describe this lovely hotel. We usually vacation to Maui but decided that our teenage daughters would probably appreciate the vibe at Waikiki more this time. We were right. This hotel is right in the heart of the action - beach, shopping and restaurants. Our kids loved having the freedom to go a coffee or do some shopping or relax around the pool. They quickly recognized the value in getting up by 8 to pick their lounge chairs around the pool : ) We were glad we shelled out the extra $ for an oceanfront view. The calm, beautiful view was a great balance to the hoards of tourists and busyness outside the hotel. Comfortable would also describe the unpretentious atmosphere of the hotel. Staff and other guests are so down to earth. We happened to stay at a time when there were lots of "regulars", who were kind enough to give us tips on activities and restaurants. Comfortable is the word for our one-bedroom suite, as well .... spacious and with a pull-out sofa that the girls did not complain about! We've stayed at the Four Seasons Maui before, which is our benchmark for excellence, and would have to say that this is a close experience (in terms of service and location) at a more reasonable price. We must also recognize how fortunate we were to have Fiona as our daily housekeeper. She is an absolute asset to this establishment. We would agree that the elevators were under constant maintenance and there was one day when it was faster to take the stairs (to the eighth floor!) Overall, we had a great family holiday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you want a more zen-like experience in Waikiki, choose an oceanfront view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha funfamilytime, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying with us on your family vacation. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants. The oceanfront suites are great for families and it is relaxing to watch the waves washing to shore on the beach from your room. We hope to welcome you back on your next vacation to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

One of the best customer services I have ever experienced! Front desk person (Alex) was simply incredible and he made our stay a memorable one. Kind, helpful, compassionate and patient (we had two elderly ladies with us) would be just some of the adjectives describing him. Besides him, the entire stay was great. Beautiful property right on the beach and a home of Duke's, the best food in town! We loved it and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean view...it is just as good as the full ocean (this is kind of pushing it, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Alex L, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive comments of our team member. Be assured that your your feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an older hotel but just had Reno in March 2012. Room was excellent beds were so comfortable. View of beach was great from Oceanview room on 5th floor. Dukes restaurant was excellent for all meals and buffet breakfeast. Nice gym on roof also great view. We got a good price during reno otherwise it is expensive but worth every penny. Right across street from International Market and ABC store. Nice Hawaiian Artwork excellent woodwork throughout hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors on south side are quieter than north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Mark L, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our centralized location, provides our guests with many options for dining, shopping, or entertainment. Dukes located in the hotel offers a wide variety of food options for everyone. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Oahu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger more than we thought we would. Loved the location. Nice having both Dukes and Hula Grill in the hotel. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. The breakfast buffet at Dukes was good and at a reasonable price compared to most hotels $15.95. Also like breakfast at Hula Grill with great views. Had the special sunset dinner at Hula grill for $25.75 - 3 courses,very good.Also ate at Roy's, Sansei and PF Changs all within walking distance.

Room was very nice. We had an oceanfront with great view. Only complaint was we wanted a higher floor because of the music coming from Dukes, but none were available. Housekeeping service was great. If we needed anything they always accommodated us and were very friendly.
.
Elevators were slow especially on the weekend, but got better during the week.
The pool is small and the hot tub could have been hotter and too many kids in it!! Also to get lounge chairs you had to go down by 9:30 or 10am.
The bell staff were very friendly and helpful getting us a cab. Concierge was also helpful.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Aloha HawaiiloverChicago, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are glad that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was my second time back to Honolulu, and I knew this time I wanted to stay in a more touristy area, and on the beach. So we decided to stay here for my daughter's 8th grade graduation trip. The room was a nice room, it was a one bedroom suite, with pullout for my two kids. We were on a high floor, which we always request. The check in was a bit challenging at first, because my daughter's Godmom came as well, and I requested rooms next to each other, which they were unable to accommodate. We were so happy to have a partial oceanview, with that it made it easier for us to allow our children to venture off to the beach and still keep an eye on them. I loved that we were in the heart of all the upscale shopping, as well as it was great to have a local ABC supermarket across the street for some in room snacks. They also had a local flee market across the street, which made for some great gift shopping. The food at the Kuhio grill was great, and I loved the buffet for breakfast. I really loved being able to go downstairs from my room and be right on the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of all the action.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha nicole b, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are conveniently located to many shops and restaurants. The International Marketplace is a nice place to purchase souvenir to bring back home to family and friends. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Oahu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our room was ready for us even with a 9:30 am arrival.Great start.during our 8 night stay. The lifts were appalling. 1 was not working the whole stay and they were very slow with queues of 40 or more people at times. and waits of over 20mins. People started using the staff stairs for access.Room was nice, clean , and functional with partial ocean views and good facilities.Disappointing was the cleaning of the room not being done until late afternoon on several occasions.We found the Restaurants disappointingly "fast food" with a limited menu and the breakfast buffet not really up to standard for the price.we only ate there once for breakfast and dinner, as better food, service and atmosphere was available close at hand.All staff though were exceptionally good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Aloha travelbugged10, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We clearly did not meet your expectations for which we apologize. Your feedback is important to us, and will help us with training and reinforcement with our staff members. We do hope to welcome you back soon so we can make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.