We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach is superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sandy Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach is superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for four nights from 12 Feb 2013. I had the generous senior's discount rate for a city view room (1203). It was a lovely room and indeed it had a good view of the beach and the ocean. Everything about the hotel was excellent. We will return.

Room Tip: Room 1203 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Albert O, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,704
    1,012
    255
    98
    39
See reviews for
881
1,369
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Outrigger countless times, usually 1-3 times per year. I am sitting in the airport now, reflecting on what I appreciated most about this particular visit. I have written about the renovations before, but am happy to report that all rooms are now renovated. They are still working on the elevators. The best thing about the renovated rooms is the soundproofing (very quiet) and the decor that perfectly suits a property that has modernized but kept its island charm. What makes this property truly unique and special is that it is family run, and many of the employees have been there for years. Our housekeeper Yee Wan had worked there over 30 years. Our bellman had been there over 40 years! The employees report that they are treated very well. The friendly Aloha spirit,and the same welcoming faces make this one of my favorite places to visit.

Room Tip: Try for at least a partial ocean view to see a slice of that beautiful water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Aloha TrvlAgtRet, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us in our newly renovated room. We will share your comments with our team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here year after year with my family growing up in the 90s and it was amazing. Coming back almost 15 years later, it's still amazing. You cannot get a better location anywhere in Waikiki imo. The rooms are clean and in great condition (maybe reno'd in the last few years. All the pics you see are accurate as to what to expect. If you have an oceanfront room (we did) you can sit on your balcony every night and listen/see the live music downstairs at Dukes. My favorite part of this place hasn't changed from when I was a teenager: You go swimming in the ocean, you walk right off the beach to rinse off your sandy feet and jump right in the pool to desalt yourself before laying on your lounger. It's a beautiful thing.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get the oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha azarbrook, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. The view of the beach from an oceanfront room is spectacular. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location was the best in Waikiki, central to everything. Hotel was nice and clean, rooms were large and well maintained. It can be a bit noisy but it was not a problem to me. Pool was a bit too small. Breakfast was very good. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha youngmcdonald, thank you for your time in providing us with feedback on your stay. We are centrally located to many restaurants and shops. We are pleased to hear that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. Your feedback will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Outrigger Waikiki on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place has everything you need. It's on the beach so seconds away from surfing, cocktails served to you at your cot on the lanai, and fresh fish tacos at famous Duke's restaurant. Yum!! Quick and helpful service, clean, and lovely rooms with comfy beds. Forget the high-end ritz of the Hilton (it is like living in a compound a bit removed from the beach.) I stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and found myself disconnected to the beach and distracted with all the sales and marketing pitches. Instead, relax and be yourself by staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. You will love it!!! I did.

Room Tip: Get a partial view of the ocean so you are inspired to go to the beach as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha Rosanne M, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The beach within couple steps from the hotel is a nice place to sit and relax while watching the waves wash to shore. Duke's have many great food and drinks for everyone. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We love this hotel. Our second family visit in 3 yrs. we book a city view room, but get views of beach both times. Recently renovated, friendly, perfectly located. What more could u ask for? I love the central location & being across the road from international market place. Have just recommended to friends & they booked straight away. Look after them! Will definitely stay on our next trip to US and your great state

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha Austrav2565, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your return stay with us. The International Marketplace located across from the property is a great place to shop. After a whole day of fun-filled activities, you can return to your newly renovated room to relax, and enjoy the view of the outdoors. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, I have been to hotels elsewhere in the world that have been called "on the beach" and they have been no where near it, this however literally is!! From the pool which is very small! its about 5 meters to Waikiki beach. At the front of the hotel its Waikiki drive absolutely perfect....
The room its self was very nice but we weren't in it for very long, slept in it then we were out, why go to Hawaii to stay in your room????
Would recommend it to anybody, the only downside is the food and drinks, although top notch were very pricey!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Brybentley, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is relaxing to go to the beach in front of the hotel and enjoy the outdoors. We are happy that you had an adventurous time while on the island. At the pool area, we also have pool chaise lounges for our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.