We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Exceeded Standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fantastic and on the beach. Attentive and polite staff, exceptional housekeeping, beautiful rooms. Great location in Waikiki, central to everything. Good restaurants to choose from, some free entertainment and a great bar. Partial ocean view room on west side with setting sun was perfect. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetlagclubmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha jetsetfun, thank you for the positive feedback on your stay. We are happy that our guest service team is friendly and attentive to your needs. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed a week at the outrigger room with Jacuzzi. The room is smaller compared to the Sheraton but we love the in-room Jacuzzi with beach front views. Location is more central than the Sheraton so there will be more traffic and people. Food is good at their restaurants. Stay here for the location and jacuzzi. Enjoy Hawaii

Room Tip: upper floor or you will be right on top of the restaurant playing loud music on weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tokidokiKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha tokidokiKT, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Jacuzzi in our deluxe oceanfront rooms are perfect to relax in after a whole day of activities. The hotel is central to many shopping and dining establishments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

To be honest we didnt love the hotel. The location is great but the staff we thought really let it down. Our ocean view room on level 10 was great and much better than i thought we would get. At the activites desk we just got harrassed by the staff who were trying to make us go to a time share meeting...very off putting. The next time we had to go to the desk we lied and said we were under 27 years of age so they would leave us alone. While on the beach lounges we never recieved pool service although i did see a waitress come out once or twice over our stay. You are not allowed to order anymore than 1 drink at a time so this meant my husband and I had to keep getting up seperatley which was very frustrating and not relaxing at all. The restaurant part of Dukes had good service but when i asked if there was any vegetarian options on the menu i was told no we don't really do vegetarian which meant i had the salad buffet for dinner :( My husband enjoyed his mahi mahi though. The one person who we did recieve excellent service from was the man who runs the towel service by the pool Im sorry ive forgotten his name but I believe he may have been of asian background. This staff member was lovely and didnt stop walking around making sure the pool area was clean and everyone had towels. In hindsight i wish we had stayed at the hilton which was further away

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reneericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha reneericho, congratulations on your honeymoon. Please accept my apology that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Thank you for your comment as it will help us further enhance our services. Should you be on Oahu again, please give us another opportunity to improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was here over New Years
If you looking for a true feel of the Islands this is the place.
Beds is a must for me. I hate hard beds and this place is perfect!!
Great view and location. Staff excellent as well.
Will come back again. I like nice and this is it!
Perfect as well if your lady likes shopping!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha roger4321, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest comfort and cleanliness is utmost important. We are located in close proximity to many stores. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights preceding a Hawaiian island cruise. The Outrigger Waikiki Beach had been recommended to us because of its location in Honolulu and its amenities- primarily the restaurant and bar selection right on the beach. It is also central to other restaurants and shopping in a very busy and active stretch of Waikiki. We paid for an Ocean View room and were on the 14th floor. Be aware that many of the rooms in this category have side views but in the end we were pleased we were high enough for views of both the city and the beach. Duke's Sunset Bar did not disappoint us but it is an extremely busy place - you won't always get a table. The hotel has everything one might expect of a large luxury hotel. The only negative thing about the hotel was the servicing of elevators for the 3 days we were there and that did produce some delays. Would we stay there again? Yes, but only after researching the neighbouring hotels that seem to have similar amenities . The cost of staying here is high , so I would feel better doing my homework.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niagaranomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Niagaranomad, thank you for your time to comment on your stay. The Outrigger Waikiki is located in close proximity to many shopping and dining establishments. Dukes is a very popular restaurant with many great food on their menu. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

i
I stayed at the outrigger Waikiki on the beach for 9 nights (with my partner and his family in the room next door which was requested) in late December 2012 to January 2013, I cannot complain once!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The room was more than I expected the view for a partial ocean view was amazing we could see Waikiki beach!!!!

The Staff were great front desk and the concierge was a great help !!! The hula Grill has beautiful food, we had New Year’s Eve there and it was great the food, the drinks, the view and the fireworks were amazing from the Hula grill. We had breakfast here a few times and the pancakes were so big and taste so good :)

Dukes, was great we had breakfast here and the buffet was very yummy, the fresh omelettes were great in the morning :)

The Pool was nice and newly renovated but the beach was right there so we stayed at the beach most of the time as the water is so clear, you can hire a beach chair and umbrella which is nice to relax on!

The shops in the hotel only a few have great gifts to bring back home 

This Outrigger Waikiki on the beach was amazing it truly is right on Waikiki beach the atmosphere is great the people are great everything was 100%


I will definitely stay here again with no hesitation :) cannot wait to come back

MANY THANKS OUTRIGGER :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angaston
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

One night did not do this place justice and we will surely return. Clean room with acceptable view and some great inhouse dining venues with ambience and good food. Great breakfast buffet. The staff bent over backwards to help when we had problems with wifi on our netbook.
Upon returning to Australia, discovered w had left a camera in the lobby and after a phonecall to the hotel, they had it back to us in 4 working days.
Please upgrade the very slow lifts please.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barossa-Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Barossa-Epicure, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy that our staff was attentive to your needs during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,911 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing