We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the Ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vineland, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my second stay here. The first time, although offered an upgrade, it was raining the last 2 days, so decided to stay in the partial ocean view room. This time I did choose to upgrade to an oceanfront room. Am I glad I did! Were on the 4th floor - high enough to avoid the noise but close enough to hear/see the entertainment below on the patio. I left the curtains open at night and, without lifting my head from the pillow, woke to see the ocean, palm trees and sky. Amazing! The room was perfection! Clean and comfortable. Used the lanai for morning coffee and evening for a glass of wine in the most perfect setting possible. Check-in was a breeze; as was check-out. Everyone was friendly, cheerful and helpful. Loved being only a few floors above Duke's. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet. And you must try the Hula Pie at least once! The location is perfect for going to the beach or shopping, since both are right there! The only caution is that the beach chairs (the blue umbrellas) are not free. You must pay for them. But you can take your towel and sit on the beach in front of them. Or relax on the patio beach chairs. The pool is beautiful! I'll go back in a minute and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha ShortStopsTravel, we are happy you had a very relaxing vacation while staying with us. Our oceanfront rooms are very popular. Waking up every day to the view of the ocean is a great way to start your day. Duke's have a daily breakfast buffet with a wide variety of entrees for everyone to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    989
    247
    95
    38
See reviews for
853
1,343
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amazing hotel. I arrived here after a 2 week stay at a Fairmont hotel in Canada. This hotel has much better customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and the lemon infused cold water in reception is very refreshing.

The Ocean view rooms are worth paying the extra for to be able to step into the hot Hawaiian sunshine and watch the locals surfing and swimming in the morning before heading off to their jobs for the day!

The hotel is perfectly located right on Waikiki beach. Take a stroll along to Fort de Russy park and the US Army Museum (not to be confused with Pearl Harbor) and then head back to the hotel for lunch by the pool.

If you’re feeling energetic have a surf lesson with Dave just past the Honolulu PD Waikiki Beach police station.

In the evening you can walk to many of the great restaurants, including the Cheesecake Factory (go for Crazy Craig’s Carrot Cake Cheesecake) and if you’re a Country Music fan head over the road to Jimmy Buffet’s Beachcomber for a Hurricane.

The restaurants at the hotel are also both good and serve up great fresh ahi/tuna. Breakfast could get busy and sometimes involved a 30 minute wait (pagers were given out) but this seems pretty usual for most of eating places along Waikiki. And what’s a 30 minute wait when Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach has so much Aloha Spirit to share!

Top tip – there are three or four Outrigger hotels on Big Island, all pretty close to Waikiki beach. Check carefully to make sure you’ve booked the best one - this one!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha matts g, we are glad you had an adventurous vacation while visiting the island. The hotel is centrally located to many stores and restaurants. The best part is that we are on the beach. You can take surfing lessons, walk around, watch surfers, or simply relax on the sunny beach in front of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location is fantastic - Waikiki beach on one side, and the city of Waikiki on the other. We paid for a ocean view room, and it was worth the extra. It was nice to relax on the small balcony overlooking the beach and city after a busy day in Hawaii. We found the beds very comfortable, and the room and bathroom very clean. We ate at Duke's one night, and it was the best food we had on our visit to Oahu. Valet staff were very friendly and helpful, although the traffic in Waikiki and Honolulu was difficult at times, that is not the hotel's fault, of course. There are many restaurants, shops, and of course Waikiki beach which are all within walking distance from the hotel, but had a rental car we used to explore more of the island of Oahu every day. It was nice, though, to come home to this hotel as a "home base" each night. If I have the opportunity to return to Oahu, I will definitely stay at this hotel. Mahalo for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha Brenda A, we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. After spending the day filled with activities within walking distance from the hotel or outside, it is relaxing to come back to your hotel room that is clean and relaxing. The breathtaking view of the ocean will help you wind down your day. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are back staying at the Outrigger for our third time friends say why not try somewhere different?

Well I could say perfect location I could say convenience I could say the great meals but in reality all of those things are true but what we love is the warmth of the staff it's like coming home nothing is a problem

I can't recommend this hotel more highly

Robert congratulations to you and your team already planning our fourth stay

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha Lynchie9, the three restaurants (Duke’s, Hula Grill, and Chucks Steakhouse) and Seattle’s Best on property offer a variety of meal options for our guests at different times of the day. Our staff is great in providing the Aloha spirit to all our guests. We look forward to your fourth stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of two adults and two girls aged 11 and 13 stayed in a deluxe Diamond Head oceanfront suite for 10 days just before Christmas. Our room was 823 and consisted of an entry hall, two full bathrooms, a main bedroom with lanai and the main living room (with sofa bed) and another lanai which fronted Waikiki beach. When we arrived, we walked out onto our lanai and looked down to see several sea turtles swimming just off shore. I believe it is the best value oceanfront option for a family and we would definitely stay here again.

The rooms were spotlessly cleaned by friendly housekeeping staff every morning. It was great for us as we were up and out by 9.00am every day and by the time we returned from breakfast our room was done. We slept with the lanai door open every night as it was nice to hear the ocean. Yes, Dukes is noisy on the weekend but the music stopped at a reasonable hour and we were on holiday so didn't mind anyway. Only two elevators were operational while we were there but unlike other reviews, we didn't have to wait more than a minute during our entire ten day stay. In a 16 storey building of course there will usually be some delay for an elevator but it was never a long wait at all.

We ate breakfast at Dukes nearly every morning and lunch some days too. We can highly recommend their Mai Tai's! As I have said in my separate review, the service at Dukes would have to rate as the best and friendliest on Waikiki. We also had breakfast, pupus and dinner at Hula Grill and I would recommend it too for good food, island atmosphere and service.

My daughters and I did a couple of the complimentary classess offered in the lobby. They are conducted by a lovely gentleman named Wally who is a font of local knowledge and is truly an asset to the hotel.

The overall location of the Outrigger cannot be beaten - Waikiki sand on one side and central location on Kalakaua Avenue on the other - an easy walk to shops, restaurants etc. Another plus is that taxis are always on site if you decide to use one.

We would definitely stay here again and I cannot think of any negatives we encountered during our stay.

Room Tip: Splurge on an ocean front if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Aloha Griswalds2074, thank you for your time in providing such positive feedback. The view from our deluxe one bedroom oceanfront rooms is awesome and it definitely is comfortable for families. Guest comfort and cleanliness is utmost important and I am happy that our housekeeping staff was attentive to your needs. Duke's restaurant is conveniently located in the hotel with many great food. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

the location is great but the hotel is very ordinary. the rooms are small and the bathroom amenities are poor (the bathroom cups are plastic wrapped in plastic, like you would see in a cheap motel). i had requested a room with two beds and on arrival was told it wasn't available unless i paid an upgade fee. the website photos of the pool are very misleading - in person it's one of the smallest hotel pools i've ever seen, and considering the size of the hotel and number of rooms, totally inadequate. inside, the lobby and common areas look worn and tired and in need of a major overhaul. on balance, the staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of the restaurants. it was a busy time of year (the week between christmas and new year's) so it's fair to expect the restaurants to be busy, but the young girls at the hostess desk of both restaurants were rude and uppity. i would give this place a miss next time and stay somewhere off the beach for a better facility and better service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Aloha mbrown1965, thank you for taking the time to comment on recent stay with us. Please accept my apology as we did not meet your expectation. All of our rooms are replenished with plastic cups. Our housekeeping staff will be happy to replace your plastic cups in the room with glass ones. We strive to meet all guests requests as indicated on their reservation. I am pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in a partial ocean view room from Christmas Eve with all out 4 adult children, son in law and 13month old grandson.
The location is perfect- the beach is right outside the door,close to shops, transport etc. We paid extra to have breakfast included - very good buffet in Dukes and the A La Carte in the Hula room was very good. One morning we had an early tour and you could use you voucher in the cafe downstairs from 5.30.
We had our family Christmas dinner in the Hula Restaurant and it was very good (with no extra charge for Christmas Day), as was Chucks steakhouse.
Waikiki was very busy at that time of year so finding a restaurant for dinner was sometimes a challenge.
My only complaint was not really with the hotel but a tour we organised through the tour desk with Polynesian Adventure tours to Pearl Harbour, The Missouri and Honolulu City tour. The tour desk told us if we didn't go on a tour we'd have to queue for hours- but i think you can actually buy tickets online and not have to be out of the hotel by 6.30am. The Pearl Harbour Missouri tour was excellent but our bus tour guide Ed, while a very nice man, never got to the point- waffled on, the bus broke down which meant our tour was held up and didn't end up returning to the hotel until after 4 instead of 2. The replacement bus air conditioning was totally inadequate . We were sitting in the back - 7 of us and a baby and it was so unbearably hot the baby was getting distressed so we all got off the bus and caught a very well airconditioned local bus back to the hotel. Our complaint about this to the tour desk achieved nothing - thus this post !!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room has a nice view of the beach- not 306 degrees but enough to get a beach feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.