We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot to stay in Waikiki!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best spot to stay in Waikiki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Outrigger was absolutely fantastic. Located right on the beach, the dining is great (Duke's is the place to be and Hula Grill does a great breakfast). Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else because its fabulous! Will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha Mel N. Thank you very much for your five-star review of our property. It is excellent to hear that you would not consider staying anywhere else. We truly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,577
    945
    237
    95
    38
See reviews for
816
1282
80
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our stay was pleasant (see separate reviews of Duke's and Hula Restaurant). We stopped in the Hula Bar for a drink on a busy evening. We got the last table. The drinks were both weak and watered down. We were walking out to go to another restaurant, and I decided to ask for the manager. (I talk to a lot of them; and I know if it was me, I'd like to know about a problem.) Kim came right out, apologized, and invited me to bring my wife back so they could make it right. We enjoyed Jimmy Buffett's (see separate review); and on our return decided to take her up on her offer. She came right back our and met us at our table and made sure we got great drinks. I think this speaks volumes about the Outrigger. Travelers can't expect everything to be perfect, but management's commitment to fixing a situation is what we should expect.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View = from the balcony. Every POV room gets a sliver of beach/ocean to view. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha Norm G. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hula Grill. The Hula Grill is one of three famous oceanfront restaurants located on our property. The restaurant has always been known for its amazing views of the sunset, delicious island-themed cuisine, live Hawaiian music and warm hospitality. Much of its good reputation is due to the leadership of dedicated managers like Kim. Thank you for taking the time to speak with Kim and for giving her the opportunity to ensure you and your wife had a wonderful experience at the Hula Grill. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here recently with my 17 year old daughter and the hotel was very tired. The rooms are adequate sized but far from value for money. I would not consider staying here again - even with the ocean view room we had. Definitely better value at the Sheraton or Moana Surfrider.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha masterchefSydney. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are sorry that you were disappointed by the look of our property. We very recently completed a large renovation and have made extensive upgrades to all our guest rooms, corridors, elevators and pooldeck. Mahalo for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Checked in on a Friday and spent three nights there and had a great time. The hotel is amidst a heavily traveled tourist area, but is immediately along the beach and the room and view was great.

There was not much interaction with the staff but mostly they were very pleasant and cordial. One great attribute about the hotel and specifically the room we stayed in, was how quite the hotel was and while amidst a tourist area, it was quiet, which is a reason to go back.

The two restaurants on the ground level looking out over the beach had great variety and top quality food...definitely kudos to them on that point.

Room Tip: The ocean front room while costing a bit more was worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha JDSoul. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Yes, our hotel is located in a heavily traveled tourist area in Paradise. We are sandwiched by the relaxing shores of Waikiki Beach on one side and the energetic beat of Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's most popular strip, on the other. For our guests, we try to provide the best of both worlds on property. We feature casual and fun oceanfront restaurants, unique shops, live Hawaiian entertainment nightly and quiet, comfortable rooms to rest in. Please come back soon for another great visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

There isn't a better location for a hotel in Waikiki. It shares ocean frontage on the most prime real estate in Waikiki with the Royal Hawaiian and Moana Surfrider but is $100 or more a night less than a comparable room at either of these 2 Grand Dames of Waikiki. Now that the renovation is complete, except for the never-ending elevator upgrade, this is one of the top hotels on the central Waikiki strip.

I have stayed here 4 times in the last year including both pre- and post- room renovation. The Outrigger did a great job on the rooms. The new rooms are decorated with upscale, modern furniture that I have started calling "island chic". The medium brown furniture is accented by non-tacky island decor. The new doors really cut down on the noise from the hallway, and the RFID door locks make entry much easier with full hands.

The location can't be beat. The newly renovated pool is still small but the expanded deck seating provides plenty of places to sit and watch Waikiki Beach pass by. Nights in the lobby area are hectic when Society of Seven and Hula Grill patrons are waiting, but during the day, the lobby is nice and quiet. Duke's and Hula Grill are always busy but worth the wait.

My only complaint about the renovation is they skipped over an upgrade to the entertainment and Internet systems. All the channels are in standard definition. It's really hard to watch SD on a television designed for HD programming. The Internet is pretty slow. Wi-Fi is designed to cover common areas. Wired connections are provided in the room. The plans were obviously solidified before tablets became a standard travel companion.

I haven't been in a room yet that didn't have an ocean view from at least the lanai. All the rooms are good size (over 300 sq. ft.). City View room lanais on the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center are a bit loud due to the Shopping Center air handlers but when the lanai door is closed, it provides nothing more than a little white noise. The extra view of the city makes up for the extra noise (the other side overlooks the Moana Surfrider's high rise.

Room Tip: rooms ending in -00 are the smallest and only have a queen bed. Numbers above -17 are going to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha tulanecpt1. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your detailed and informative review shows that you know our property inside and out. We are delighted to hear that the recent renovations noticeably improved our guest rooms, furnishings and pooldeck. While our renovations have been completed, we are always seeking ways to improve the overall experience for our guests. Your comments about our entertainment and Internet options have been reviewed by the management team. Please look forward to enhanced technological features at the Outrigger Waikiki in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is perfect with the international markets across the road and the Cheesecake Factory next door. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are spectacular being right on the beach, and there was always some sort of entertainment going on. The only reason I have give it 4 instead of 5 was because we had trouble getting on to our hotel transfer company the day before we left and when I asked the staff to help me they told me that they wouldn't and it was up to me to do it myself. The room was lovely, the bathroom was a bit dated, but the view from the balcony was very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha Cattscan. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family holiday to Hawaii. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Your feedback about our staff is appreciated and will be used to improve the quality of our guest service. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 night in October 2012 before boarding our cruise ship and the hotel is fabulous.

We upgraded our room to a sea view on arrival and were not disappointed, amazing room with a fantastic view of Waikiki beach.

Breakfast buffet worth doing, sets you up for the day and the restaurants in the evening are well worth staying at the hotel for.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, could not have asked for more, made our stay in Hawaii even more special.

Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Kats53. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach prior to your cruise. We appreciate your compliments about our amazing rooms, affordable restaurants and friendly staff. We hope you will be back for another visit soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.