We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is perfect with the international markets across the road and the Cheesecake Factory next door. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are spectacular being right on the beach, and there was always some sort of entertainment going on. The only reason I have give it 4 instead of 5 was because we had trouble getting on to our hotel transfer company the day before we left and when I asked the staff to help me they told me that they wouldn't and it was up to me to do it myself. The room was lovely, the bathroom was a bit dated, but the view from the balcony was very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha Cattscan. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family holiday to Hawaii. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Your feedback about our staff is appreciated and will be used to improve the quality of our guest service. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    1,061
    267
    99
    40
See reviews for
935
1,439
90
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 night in October 2012 before boarding our cruise ship and the hotel is fabulous.

We upgraded our room to a sea view on arrival and were not disappointed, amazing room with a fantastic view of Waikiki beach.

Breakfast buffet worth doing, sets you up for the day and the restaurants in the evening are well worth staying at the hotel for.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, could not have asked for more, made our stay in Hawaii even more special.

Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Kats53. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach prior to your cruise. We appreciate your compliments about our amazing rooms, affordable restaurants and friendly staff. We hope you will be back for another visit soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here early December with a friend. We upgraded and got the most unbelievable room on the 16th floor (1625) - views from Diamond Head to the end of Waikiki beach. The room was spotless, comfortable and it was very quiet. You could hear the band playing in Dukes or from the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. From the 14th floor there is an express elevator - which was great as hotel was pretty busy. We ate at Dukes and the Hula Grill - both were reasonable and the food was delish. The location can't be beat. Stay here - you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha sprinkles21. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your decision to upgrade to one of our Oceanfront rooms was an excellent one. From those rooms, guests can fully experience the best views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean. On Friday through Sunday, they can even sit on the lanai to enjoy the music from Duke's Waikiki's live music performances by renowned local recording artists. Mahalo Nui Loa for recommending us. Please come back for another magical visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

You will be greeted by beautiful Lei girls, wearing muumuus and plumeria in their hair,and "Aloha." Overhead Royal Palm trees sway in the tradewind breeze. The doorman wears a white uniform with gold epaulettes. Porters take your luggage and guide you up the wooden stairs to the Registration Desk. Along the way you pass happy people in conversation, texting on Ephones, reading newspapers. Served in exquisite fashion by staff dressed impeccably in white and pink clothing, all wearing white gloves. Looking through the building you see the magnificent Pacific Ocean, The soft sands of Waikiki and Sun Goddesses and Sun Gods everywhere.
Splendid sailing yachts and huge ocean freighters create an awesome sight.
Now the real luxury of the hotel begins. Perfection in every detail. Aloha

Room Tip: The ocean view will never be forgotten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Aloha Blueyes144. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed by the appearance and atmosphere of our property. We strive to offer the best of both worlds in Waikiki - luxurious accommodations and service amidst a relaxing, oceanfront location. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please stay with us again for another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Outrigger based on reviews on trip adviser. Everything from check-in to check out was excellent. On check-in, the room offered was on the 2nd floor. I requested a higher floor. Mai was so polite and accomodating, offering a higher floor and an upgrade for a small fee. I did not bargain for a lower fee. The room offered was an oceanfront on Waikiki Beach on the 10th floor; a premium room with a huge Jacuzzi! The view was magnificent of the beach,ocean, and Fountainhead.The bed was very comfortable as the hotel just underwent massive renovation and decoration. The room was clean, ready, and completely furnished. We never had to request anything. Yes, one elevator is still not running. Perhaps the hotel was not full, but I never encountered any delay of the working elevators. The lobby is beautiful, the staff was polite and helpful at all times. There is a small store in the building that has most last minute items and snacks. There is also an ABC market across the street. This hotel is located in the middle of everything. Walking distance to restaurants and attractions. The Pink,Green,Red trolley stops right in front. Speedyshuttle was prompt and knew the area, able to answer questions and recommend restaurants. Dukes is in the lobby, a Hawaiian must stop with excellent Mai Tai's, food and service. And you can get served right on the beach, no need to change out of a suit. I do recommend a bathing suit coverup for walking through to the beach; it's just nicer. I really can't say enough nice things about the hotel and its staff. They were also pleased that when we checked out, we were heading for a sister property on Maui. I don't know if they called ahead, but when we arrived in Maui, they greeted us by name coming through the front door. I hope the hotel manager reads this review. If there has been recent "personnel training efforts" it shows. the staff was super. While in Honolulu we went to Pearl Harbor, an absolute must see. It was also Dec 7, and they held the 2nd annual parade that goes right in front of the hotel. Friday night there are fireworks on a neighboring beach. And Sat Dec 8th, Santa arrived on the beach in an outrigger canoe! All this and never having to go anywhere to see it. This hotel is a great choice location!

Room Tip: My 10th floor room on the oceanfront with a Jacuzzi, 1024, was wonderful. If you can afford it, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Aloha vicki c. Thank you for being a TripAdvisor user and for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your compliments about our superb and helpful staff has been reviewed by the hotel manager. We are delighted that you were able to stay in a Deluxe Oceanfront room. This room category is perfect for vacationers who travel as a couple. All of our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms feature the best possible water views from a spacious lanai with glass railings. The room interior has a king sized bed and Jacuzzi tub for after-the-beach relaxation. Mahalo for sharing the details of your wonderful experience. We hope to you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul,Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A very short trip in Hawaii before going back to Korea from LA, 4 years ago, My friend took
me to this hotel bar for dirinking at night. I remember Outrigger. it seems to be a little bit expensive for staying alone like me.. even Breakfast not included. but hotel location is just perfect for everything. along the street, Macy's and other shops are open until 11PM. you can also buy anything you need from ABC Mart just across the street. Hotel beach is beautiful.
Luckily I booked the city view room. but they upgraded my room to Partial ocean view room in
11th floor. it was great !!!
other hotels can let you in earlier before Check- in time. but Outrigger waikiki
didn't let me in even at 2 PM. I had to come back at 3 PM to get the room key.
but overall, I really loved staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha sunmin. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your short visit to Hawaii. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and newly renovated rooms. While our check-in time is at 3pm, we do try our best to accommodate arriving guests into their rooms as soon as they become available. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back soon for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with family early December. The things we loved about it were friendly staff, fantastic location and so close to everything, great rooms. We booked 2 Partial Ocean View rooms on level 10, the view was very good, exactly like how it was mentioned on the website. The beds were very comfortable.

We went to Maui for a few nights after staying at Outrigger Waikiki, then came back to another hotel in Honolulu, we all regret not staying at Outrigger Waikiki again, although the other hotel also had the same star rating, but it was clearly no comparison with Outrigger Waikiki.

We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha Kakurohead. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family vacation. It is a pleasure to hear that you will definitely stay here again. We are looking forward to your next visit. A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.