We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love this Hotel !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love Love Love this Hotel !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I can't praise this Hotel enough. From the moment we arrived until we unfortunately had to leave it was wonderful. Very helpful staff. Lehua on the check-in desk was awesome. What a lovely girl. We were in room 622 and had a fantastic view of the beach/ocean/part of diamond head. We spent many an hour relaxing on the lanai 'people watching'. Rooms were very comfortable, housekeeping was great, shops downstairs open till late and of course there's Dukes - great place for lunch. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else when I return .... and I will return. Also Heather booked a few tours for us and was always happy and eagre to be of help. Lovely to be treated so well when you're far from home. Lots of Aussies stay here. There was 1 lift out of order, but it really wasn't a big deal. I'm sure once the lifts are all renovated I will have nothing negative to say about this Hotel at all. It still scored 5 out of 5 anyway. Another huge plus is the location. It is in the centre of everything. You couldn't ask for a better spot. We've only been gone a week and I'm itching to get back there already.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get less noise from Duke's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Aloha BrisbaneGail. Thank you for your many kind praises about the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are especially happy to hear your compliments about our warm and friendly staff members, such as Lehua at the Front Desk and Heather at the Concierge Desk. They are our wonderful Na Mea Ho`okipa (hosts) who offer genuine, attentive guest service at all times. Our property is perfect for people watching as our three oceanfront restaurants and galleria of unique shops are always abuzz with enthusiastic visitors from all around the world. Mahalo Nui Loa for your 5-star review. We will look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    989
    246
    95
    38
See reviews for
852
1,342
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for 1 week for our honeymoon. Booked it through a Air Canada vacation package. This hotel was fantastic! We asked for a higher up room and got the top floor. The express elevator to the top floors was a bonus! The rooms were extremely clean and beds were very comfy. Hotel safe was through button code, which is great instead of carrying a key. Location of hotel was perfect! The sound did carry up from the street below, but we found with the heavy curtains closed, it helped block some of the sounds.

We also booked breakfast with our package and could choose to have breakfast at either Dukes, Hula Grill or Seattle Coffee, all which are in the hotel. Dukes had an amazing breakfast buffet and Seattle Coffee was good when we had to leave the hotel early.

The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The concierge helped us book some tours and stuff. She also recommended a new luau called Chief's Luau, which was the highlight of our trip.

Hotel check out was at noon but our flight wasn't until 9pm, so the hotel was able to store our luggage during the day and even gave us a complementary room to change and shower in for 30 mins before we went back to the airport that night.

Would stay at this hotel again and will recommend to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Aloha Dognamedbeatles. Thank you for staying with us during your Honeymoon in Hawaii. We are pleased to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms to be both comfortable and clean. Thank you for taking advantage of our complimentary features such as free in-room safe usage, daily concierge services, Hospitality Room and baggage storage. Those features have been implemented to ensure all of our guests have a convenient and stress-free visit. We truly appreciate your recommendation and compliments. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days here in November. We have previously stayed in the Moana Surfrider, Outrigger Reef, Marriott and a few others and this was the absolute best! First off the location can't be beat. Hotel is right on the beach and right in the middle of Waikiki. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. I had requested a room on the 14th floor in order to use the express elevator and we were on that floor. Many times there were long lines at the other elevators so that worked out great. Beautiful view of the beach and Waikiki street. Staff are friendly and helpful. We ate at both Duke's and Hula Grill ( I gave separate reviews for these) and the food was very good! I spent very little time at the pool but it was always very clean. A final thumbs up to the parking attendants who were very quick in bringing our car to us.

Room Tip: request a room on the 14th floor or higher so you can use the express elevator and on the side facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Aloha kiwizoe. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your return visit to Hawaii. We are very proud that you preferred us over the Westin Moana Surfrider, Waikiki Beach Marriott and the Outrigger Reef on the Beach - three very well-known hotels in Waikiki. We strive to give our guests the best vacation experience by providing a welcoming, Hawaiiana atmosphere, warm, personalized service and facilities that accentuate our oceanfront location. Mahalo Nui Loa for your 5-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We arrived in the morning getting in around 9.00am after an 14 hour flight from Perth, check in was at 3pm but they allowed us to check in early without any extra charge which was fantastic. We had a partial ocean view room and was happy with this as the view was great, my son got to watch the surfers every morning. Room was more than I expected as we had our 2 sons, 10 and 14 and my husband - 2 double beds and a sofa bed which worked really well, room has everything you need and if it doesnt just ask and they will endeavour to sort it out for you. Everyone is very accommodating and very friendly. Dukes restaurant in the hotel is a must but remember to book as it gets very very busy. Also dont book any tours through the hotel - they are so expensive and you can do it a lot cheaper with tours out on the street or through the Aloha bus company. Stay here and you will have a ball as it is so close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha AntheaMarell. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your family holiday in Hawaii. We realize that our guests travel long hours to reach our islands and we try to accommodate them with an early check-in as soon as their room becomes available. Our hotel is a family friendly property that features many spacious rooms with bedding for up to four people. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a delightful experience here. We hope to welcome you back for another visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked the Ocean View room months in advance and spoke to the booking agent that it will be a late check-in 7pm. We were celebrating my Boy friend's 40th bday and I wanted to ensure we had a nice room on a high floor. I phoned a week prior to our stay and the agent confirmed all the notes were on the reservation.

Upon check-in, that was not the case we did 2 room moves and ended up on the 1st floor. :(

The next morning I called and spoke to the front desk Manager Ana I believe. She was very sympathetic and offered us the deluxe ocean view comlimentary for the remainder of our stay.

I really appreciate her kind guesture and her ability to resolve our disappointment.

We loved the location and the size of the rooms. The only comment is the blanket that was in between the top sheet was a knitted waffle material. I stayed at the other property which was usually a duvet. That was more comfortable.

Thank-you Outrigger...Maholo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha Trish S. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your boyfriend's birthday celebration. We are sorry that you had to change rooms during your stay. While we try our best to accommodate all reservation requests, it is sometimes not possible due to limited availability and oftentimes, many guests requesting similar room characteristics. Our hotel has a dedicated team of employees and managers, such as Anna, who are happy to assist in resolving any problems. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to meet your satisfaction. Please come back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the Outrigger on the Beach, and we had a great time. The location is ideal, right in the middle of everything. We booked an ocean front room, and were able to check in around 12 noon, which was very nice. I had the impression that the hotel was not fully booked however, as there were tables free at Dukes - unheard of! The room had a sofa, table & chair, extra chair, draws, king bed, plenty of room and well laid out. I liked the walk in wardrobe and bathroom. Very simple and convenient. I really liked the rocking chairs on the balcony too.
Staff were very efficient and friendly throughout our stay. I have seen some comments about charges, Waikiki is not a cheap holiday in the sense that you do have to pay for any extras, nothing comes free. Dopes not matter what hotel you stay at. Don't know why you would book a chair and umbrella for $50 when the hotel has lounges virtually on the beach.

A couple of tips for the frugal traveller (thats us!) The little coffee shop just behind the waterfall at the Hyatt makes (the best I found) real expresso coffee and lovely croisants for breakfast (aorund $8 for 2). Just behind the Outrigger pool, to the right of Dukes, in the lane to the pool is a lovely little deli place, makes great lunch smoothies, sandwiches and salads for around $6. If you would like to see the sunset from the water just book the catamaran that has rails both sides of the stairs, as they are hard to get on and off, book them at the beach early on the day you want to go. These cost $30 - booking through concierge etc costs about $42. And, last but definately not least, make sure you do happy hours - we loved the Hyatt (Hello Barbara!) for good Mai Tais and Pu Pu's at half price. Friends recommended the top of Waikiki as great value too. For shopping dont forget to get a Macy's overseas visitor card for 10% off everything, and go to Waikele for great savings.
Aloha.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms get full sun from about 12 noon - can be too hot to be on the balcony. If this wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha BarbKs. Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us. Your many recommendations for activities and dining in the Waikiki area will be useful for future visitors. While Waikiki Beach is not a budget destination, vacationers will find that our location has a lot to offer for those seeking a fun-filled holiday and warm island hospitality. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Oh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a partial view, but it was great. Could see the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was wonderful and everything in it was done well. Had the breakfast package and ate at Duke's. It was well worth it. It was easy to get around. We participated in the Vow Renewal Ceremony and I would recommend it to those who would like to renew their wedding vows. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was the elevators were slow-one was being renovated. We were on the 16th floor, so we could use the one that went up to the spa, that saved us some time.

Room Tip: Higher floor were great for view, at either nearer the ocean or nearer the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Bev313. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and that you were able to renew your vows during your stay. Our elevator upgrade project will be completed in early 2013. When the project is finished, we will be proud to feature state of the art, re-designed elevators to match our newly remodeled guest rooms and corridors. Mahalo for your patience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.