We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honolulu getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Honolulu getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked the Ocean View room months in advance and spoke to the booking agent that it will be a late check-in 7pm. We were celebrating my Boy friend's 40th bday and I wanted to ensure we had a nice room on a high floor. I phoned a week prior to our stay and the agent confirmed all the notes were on the reservation.

Upon check-in, that was not the case we did 2 room moves and ended up on the 1st floor. :(

The next morning I called and spoke to the front desk Manager Ana I believe. She was very sympathetic and offered us the deluxe ocean view comlimentary for the remainder of our stay.

I really appreciate her kind guesture and her ability to resolve our disappointment.

We loved the location and the size of the rooms. The only comment is the blanket that was in between the top sheet was a knitted waffle material. I stayed at the other property which was usually a duvet. That was more comfortable.

Thank-you Outrigger...Maholo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha Trish S. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your boyfriend's birthday celebration. We are sorry that you had to change rooms during your stay. While we try our best to accommodate all reservation requests, it is sometimes not possible due to limited availability and oftentimes, many guests requesting similar room characteristics. Our hotel has a dedicated team of employees and managers, such as Anna, who are happy to assist in resolving any problems. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to meet your satisfaction. Please come back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,905 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,588
    947
    237
    95
    38
See reviews for
824
1286
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the Outrigger on the Beach, and we had a great time. The location is ideal, right in the middle of everything. We booked an ocean front room, and were able to check in around 12 noon, which was very nice. I had the impression that the hotel was not fully booked however, as there were tables free at Dukes - unheard of! The room had a sofa, table & chair, extra chair, draws, king bed, plenty of room and well laid out. I liked the walk in wardrobe and bathroom. Very simple and convenient. I really liked the rocking chairs on the balcony too.
Staff were very efficient and friendly throughout our stay. I have seen some comments about charges, Waikiki is not a cheap holiday in the sense that you do have to pay for any extras, nothing comes free. Dopes not matter what hotel you stay at. Don't know why you would book a chair and umbrella for $50 when the hotel has lounges virtually on the beach.

A couple of tips for the frugal traveller (thats us!) The little coffee shop just behind the waterfall at the Hyatt makes (the best I found) real expresso coffee and lovely croisants for breakfast (aorund $8 for 2). Just behind the Outrigger pool, to the right of Dukes, in the lane to the pool is a lovely little deli place, makes great lunch smoothies, sandwiches and salads for around $6. If you would like to see the sunset from the water just book the catamaran that has rails both sides of the stairs, as they are hard to get on and off, book them at the beach early on the day you want to go. These cost $30 - booking through concierge etc costs about $42. And, last but definately not least, make sure you do happy hours - we loved the Hyatt (Hello Barbara!) for good Mai Tais and Pu Pu's at half price. Friends recommended the top of Waikiki as great value too. For shopping dont forget to get a Macy's overseas visitor card for 10% off everything, and go to Waikele for great savings.
Aloha.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms get full sun from about 12 noon - can be too hot to be on the balcony. If this wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha BarbKs. Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us. Your many recommendations for activities and dining in the Waikiki area will be useful for future visitors. While Waikiki Beach is not a budget destination, vacationers will find that our location has a lot to offer for those seeking a fun-filled holiday and warm island hospitality. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a partial view, but it was great. Could see the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was wonderful and everything in it was done well. Had the breakfast package and ate at Duke's. It was well worth it. It was easy to get around. We participated in the Vow Renewal Ceremony and I would recommend it to those who would like to renew their wedding vows. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was the elevators were slow-one was being renovated. We were on the 16th floor, so we could use the one that went up to the spa, that saved us some time.

Room Tip: Higher floor were great for view, at either nearer the ocean or nearer the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Bev313. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and that you were able to renew your vows during your stay. Our elevator upgrade project will be completed in early 2013. When the project is finished, we will be proud to feature state of the art, re-designed elevators to match our newly remodeled guest rooms and corridors. Mahalo for your patience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful, great view, clean and Duke's in right down stairs. Include the breakfast as part of your stay, it is the best. We would go back anytime. It was the most enjoyable Hotel we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Get atleast a partial ocean view. One that you can see Diamond Head would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Kd2956. Thank you for making a stay with us a must-do on your list! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Duke's Waikiki serves the best breakfast buffet in Hawaii which features assorted fresh island fruits, delicious pastries, traditional breakfast items and a made-to-order omelette station. Guests can even book a room and breakfast package that includes daily breakfast for 2 at Duke's, Hula Grill or Seattle's Best Coffee. Mahalo Nui Loa for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach in November 2012. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The view of the ocean was magnificent! The food, drinks and entertainment at Duke's are awesome.

The location of the hotel is excellent - right in the heart of shops and restaurants.

The only 2 negatives I have are: one of the elevators was still not working and we had to pay $50+ to "rent" an umbrella and 2 beach chairs for the day. When we were already paying over $300 for a room/night, charging for umbrellas and chairs seems excessive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Andieo13. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your patience while we were completing the upgrades to all of our elevators. Your compliments about our rooms, views and restaurants are appreciated. We are sorry that we are unable to provide complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Since Waikiki beach is a public area, our hotel is not permitted to set-up seating for guests during their stay. We do, however, provide complimentary usage chaise lounges on our sundecks which face Waikiki beach and are just a few steps away from the shore. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you have been looking at this place for any length of time now you will see the mentions about the elevators. Well they are STILL being renovated. There must be a trade shortage of elevator technicians in Hawaii !!!!! But the ones that are running are excellent substitutes for a lack of a Sauna/Steam room on the premises, also for getting really close to many nationalities in a very tight space.

I am generally a pretty easily satisfied customer when it comes to motels (see some of my other reviews) but I was not impressed by this place. Never really felt the "Aloha Spirit". From the time we walked in, till the time we left. Reception was only interested in getting us to pay more for an upgrade and where not helpful in anyway shape or form. There are lots of tips on here about asking for a higher room on particular side/s. That is all great advice, but if you ask for anything that they haven't already allocated you (including what side of the building your on) - get your wallet out - it will come with a price.

Also if your booking thru Expedia - BEWARE - make sure you are very clear what you are entitled to and what you are getting. in fact I would triple check with Expedia before you depart. The same could probably be said for the other booking agencies. They are quick to hide the fact you have booked a room on what the motel calls "simple saver" rate.

For Australians arriving on the early morning flight - your room might not be ready (ours wasn't till 3 pm), but they have a room for getting changed in and getting squared away. We had to ask to use it, if I hadn't read about it on here I would have been none the wiser because it wasn't offered! In relation to waiting for a room, there is an activities desk on the lower lobby that gives great discounts, only catch is you need to sit (sleep) thru a 90 minute group presentation for vacation packages. But if you have sometime to waste waiting for a room this might be an idea - and you save some money.

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and did the complimentary vow renewal, which was great. A guy is there taking professional photographs and you can then purchase them (@ $265), and, like everywhere else in Waikiki, there is considerable pressure to buy.

Rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff very efficient at their jobs. Pretty good view from an Ocean View room (722). Noisy A/C. Light bedding, but if you turn off the AC it gets very warm in the room.

Overall - yes it is right on the beach, and a great central location, but this doesn't make up for the high cost nor the lack of helpfulness - I now sort of understand what women say about men not looking them in the eye, but looking at their chest - I always felt as if the staff were only looking at my wallet as the customer and really didn't care - especially if there wasn't an opportunity for a tip arising out of what they were doing for you.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter how high you go for a Diamond Head side room, the place next door is taller. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha mosanator. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your 20th wedding anniversary trip to Hawaii. We are delighted that you participated in our complimentary vow renewal ceremony while you were here. Your feedback is truly appreciated. Please be assured that our extensive elevator upgrades will be completed in early 2013. In addition, the Waikiki Plantation Spa located on the rooftop of our hotel will re-open for business at the end of this month. Throughout 2013, we will continue to offer discounted room rates that are very comparable to other beachfront hotels in the Waikiki area. Our guests will also experience an added value of having no daily resort fees imposed on them during their stay. All of our guest rooms have been newly renovated and include free local and long-distance calls to the United States and Canada, free wireless internet, free electronic safe usage and complimentary amenities such as Royal Kona coffee and tea. We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a fun hotel with Dukes right there. They have music during happy hour. It is hopping with people. If you want it quiet don't get the rooms above the pool. The hotel has really nice Hawaiian themed decor. My favorite is the hula girl lamps. The location in Waikiki can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha WA_traveller57. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent vacation to Hawaii. Our hotel is locally owned and we are proud to feature island-inspired decor and authentic Hawaiian artwork throughout the property. We are also proud to be home to Duke's Waikiki, one of the island's most popular restaurants due to its excellent food, live local music and fun atmosphere. Mahalo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.