We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #11 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Edgerton, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a partial view, but it was great. Could see the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was wonderful and everything in it was done well. Had the breakfast package and ate at Duke's. It was well worth it. It was easy to get around. We participated in the Vow Renewal Ceremony and I would recommend it to those who would like to renew their wedding vows. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was the elevators were slow-one was being renovated. We were on the 16th floor, so we could use the one that went up to the spa, that saved us some time.

Room Tip: Higher floor were great for view, at either nearer the ocean or nearer the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Bev313. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and that you were able to renew your vows during your stay. Our elevator upgrade project will be completed in early 2013. When the project is finished, we will be proud to feature state of the art, re-designed elevators to match our newly remodeled guest rooms and corridors. Mahalo for your patience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,459
    866
    220
    89
    34
See reviews for
734
1193
73
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful, great view, clean and Duke's in right down stairs. Include the breakfast as part of your stay, it is the best. We would go back anytime. It was the most enjoyable Hotel we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Get atleast a partial ocean view. One that you can see Diamond Head would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Kd2956. Thank you for making a stay with us a must-do on your list! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Duke's Waikiki serves the best breakfast buffet in Hawaii which features assorted fresh island fruits, delicious pastries, traditional breakfast items and a made-to-order omelette station. Guests can even book a room and breakfast package that includes daily breakfast for 2 at Duke's, Hula Grill or Seattle's Best Coffee. Mahalo Nui Loa for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach in November 2012. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The view of the ocean was magnificent! The food, drinks and entertainment at Duke's are awesome.

The location of the hotel is excellent - right in the heart of shops and restaurants.

The only 2 negatives I have are: one of the elevators was still not working and we had to pay $50+ to "rent" an umbrella and 2 beach chairs for the day. When we were already paying over $300 for a room/night, charging for umbrellas and chairs seems excessive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Andieo13. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your patience while we were completing the upgrades to all of our elevators. Your compliments about our rooms, views and restaurants are appreciated. We are sorry that we are unable to provide complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Since Waikiki beach is a public area, our hotel is not permitted to set-up seating for guests during their stay. We do, however, provide complimentary usage chaise lounges on our sundecks which face Waikiki beach and are just a few steps away from the shore. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you have been looking at this place for any length of time now you will see the mentions about the elevators. Well they are STILL being renovated. There must be a trade shortage of elevator technicians in Hawaii !!!!! But the ones that are running are excellent substitutes for a lack of a Sauna/Steam room on the premises, also for getting really close to many nationalities in a very tight space.

I am generally a pretty easily satisfied customer when it comes to motels (see some of my other reviews) but I was not impressed by this place. Never really felt the "Aloha Spirit". From the time we walked in, till the time we left. Reception was only interested in getting us to pay more for an upgrade and where not helpful in anyway shape or form. There are lots of tips on here about asking for a higher room on particular side/s. That is all great advice, but if you ask for anything that they haven't already allocated you (including what side of the building your on) - get your wallet out - it will come with a price.

Also if your booking thru Expedia - BEWARE - make sure you are very clear what you are entitled to and what you are getting. in fact I would triple check with Expedia before you depart. The same could probably be said for the other booking agencies. They are quick to hide the fact you have booked a room on what the motel calls "simple saver" rate.

For Australians arriving on the early morning flight - your room might not be ready (ours wasn't till 3 pm), but they have a room for getting changed in and getting squared away. We had to ask to use it, if I hadn't read about it on here I would have been none the wiser because it wasn't offered! In relation to waiting for a room, there is an activities desk on the lower lobby that gives great discounts, only catch is you need to sit (sleep) thru a 90 minute group presentation for vacation packages. But if you have sometime to waste waiting for a room this might be an idea - and you save some money.

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and did the complimentary vow renewal, which was great. A guy is there taking professional photographs and you can then purchase them (@ $265), and, like everywhere else in Waikiki, there is considerable pressure to buy.

Rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff very efficient at their jobs. Pretty good view from an Ocean View room (722). Noisy A/C. Light bedding, but if you turn off the AC it gets very warm in the room.

Overall - yes it is right on the beach, and a great central location, but this doesn't make up for the high cost nor the lack of helpfulness - I now sort of understand what women say about men not looking them in the eye, but looking at their chest - I always felt as if the staff were only looking at my wallet as the customer and really didn't care - especially if there wasn't an opportunity for a tip arising out of what they were doing for you.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter how high you go for a Diamond Head side room, the place next door is taller. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha mosanator. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your 20th wedding anniversary trip to Hawaii. We are delighted that you participated in our complimentary vow renewal ceremony while you were here. Your feedback is truly appreciated. Please be assured that our extensive elevator upgrades will be completed in early 2013. In addition, the Waikiki Plantation Spa located on the rooftop of our hotel will re-open for business at the end of this month. Throughout 2013, we will continue to offer discounted room rates that are very comparable to other beachfront hotels in the Waikiki area. Our guests will also experience an added value of having no daily resort fees imposed on them during their stay. All of our guest rooms have been newly renovated and include free local and long-distance calls to the United States and Canada, free wireless internet, free electronic safe usage and complimentary amenities such as Royal Kona coffee and tea. We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a fun hotel with Dukes right there. They have music during happy hour. It is hopping with people. If you want it quiet don't get the rooms above the pool. The hotel has really nice Hawaiian themed decor. My favorite is the hula girl lamps. The location in Waikiki can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha WA_traveller57. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent vacation to Hawaii. Our hotel is locally owned and we are proud to feature island-inspired decor and authentic Hawaiian artwork throughout the property. We are also proud to be home to Duke's Waikiki, one of the island's most popular restaurants due to its excellent food, live local music and fun atmosphere. Mahalo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a perfect location on Waikiki Beach! Rooms are newly renovated and spacious, must have an ocean view it's the best and great place to watch Friday fireworks. Restaurants in the hotel are great, and staff is outstanding! Close to all the wonderful shopping of Waikiki and restaurants.Going back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha suttona003. Thank you for your 5-star review. Your compliments about our location, renovations, restaurants and staff are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had a nice 4 night stay here in a really nice suite that had great views. The hotel location is excellent, close to good shopping and restaurants. The beach is great with really good sand. Although the $60 per day charge to use and umbrella and 2 chairs is OUTRAGEOUS. Also the mixed drinks and food at Duke’s is subpar (stick with beer and simple drinks here). All the workers were great.

Room Tip: I accepted an offer to upgrade to a suite at check in and was glad i did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha Larry J. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1 bedroom oceanfront suites. Our suites are the most deluxe room category in our hotel and they boast the best possible ocean views from two large balconies. They also feature a separate bedroom with a spacious living room, perfect for that home away from home vacation experience. Our hotel does provide chaise lounges on our pooldecks for guests who want to sunbathe just footsteps away from the shoreline, without having to pay to rent chairs on the beach. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.