We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staycation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great staycation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a perfect location on Waikiki Beach! Rooms are newly renovated and spacious, must have an ocean view it's the best and great place to watch Friday fireworks. Restaurants in the hotel are great, and staff is outstanding! Close to all the wonderful shopping of Waikiki and restaurants.Going back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha suttona003. Thank you for your 5-star review. Your compliments about our location, renovations, restaurants and staff are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,579
    946
    237
    95
    38
See reviews for
818
1282
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had a nice 4 night stay here in a really nice suite that had great views. The hotel location is excellent, close to good shopping and restaurants. The beach is great with really good sand. Although the $60 per day charge to use and umbrella and 2 chairs is OUTRAGEOUS. Also the mixed drinks and food at Duke’s is subpar (stick with beer and simple drinks here). All the workers were great.

Room Tip: I accepted an offer to upgrade to a suite at check in and was glad i did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha Larry J. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1 bedroom oceanfront suites. Our suites are the most deluxe room category in our hotel and they boast the best possible ocean views from two large balconies. They also feature a separate bedroom with a spacious living room, perfect for that home away from home vacation experience. Our hotel does provide chaise lounges on our pooldecks for guests who want to sunbathe just footsteps away from the shoreline, without having to pay to rent chairs on the beach. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the third time staying at this location. Great location right on the ocean. Just have upgraded the rooms but the rest of the hotel is still the same. Only 1 elevator running for all of the guest, thaking very long time to change floors or go up or down. Had to many times wait as elavator was full :( bad news. Maybe they should have finish the the rentovation before reopening. Lots of guess upset.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in 15 or 16 floor and on the west side of the building. This elimates the noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha robert p. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry for the delays you experienced with our elevator service. Our elevator renovation project is in its final stages and we expect to have all of our lifts fully upgraded by the beginning of 2013. Mahalo Nui Loa for your patience. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon for a fourth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, November 15-20th. We booked online with Expedia, and ended up with a room including breakfast, king bed, ocean view on the 12th floor.

The included breakfast was great as you had 3 options to choose from daily: menu at Hula Grill, buffet at Dukes', or coffee/muffin at Second Cup (I guess if you have an early flight or something and the other restaurants weren't open?).

Overall the hotel is excellent. Service everywhere in the hotel was outstanding (bell desk, valet, restaurants, towel man - Ray), the guestroom was recently renovated and the hotel is clean.

The location is also excellent. Right in the heart of the action, newer stores and restaurants. Awesome beach directly in front for swimming/surfing, or supping, great pool, small hot tub, choice of free chairs by pool/patio, or rent them on beach (yes, this was a bummer to have to pay.)
They had poolside service for food and drinks. Duke's is an excellent happening spot all the time. Great little sandwich shop (makes awesome custom made sandwiches) located on one far side of the shops level.

We had a very large newly renovated room, king bed, nice sized lanai with 2 chairs, sofa, safe and mini fridge. Even though it was an "ocean view", we looked directly across at another building and in reality only had a "partial ocean view".

The only Con's/Beef's I had were:
- Parking. Very expensive valet parking ($35/day) no other self-park options there.
- Room. Bedding was terrible. No king sized pillows, just small little pillows on a king bed. We tried requesting, but they don't have?!? Also, no duvet. Just a lightweight waffle blanket that looks/feels like a dish towel. Very bad bedding for the high price we paid for this room.
- A/C. The air conditioning only goes as low as 65 degrees. That's usually what we heat our house at during the day. Too hot = no sleep.
- View. Again, paid for oceanview, got partial.
- No recycling baskets in the room?

If the hotel were to fix some of these above issues, we would definitely stay there again. We love the location, service and dining options at the Outrigger Waikiki!!

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room, and try to include the free breakfast. Buffet is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha Jaimekelowna. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you found our service to be outstanding and that you enjoyed our room and breakfast package. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the air-conditioning temperature, lack of recycling baskets, uncomfortable bedding, linens and pillows in your room. Your comments will be reviewed by the General Manager for consideration of future improvements. Unfortunately, due to the large urban population of Waikiki, parking space is very limited at all hotels. While there are self-parking garages nearby, the cost of using those garages overnight exceeds the discounted charge of $35/day which we extend to our hotel guests for on-site valet parking. We hope you will choose the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at The Outrigger for a night prior to going on a cruise. This is a great location on Waikiki with everything you could want within walking distance. The staff was friendly from the doorman right through check out. This is the only hotel that I know of on Waikiki that anyone has spent a nickle on in twenty years. There was an extensive remodel completed this year and it shows. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and had a coffee maker which is a plus. Two notes of caution: The service at Dukes is horrible. We walked out after sitting for over ten minutes without getting a menu. This being the famous "Dukes" I guess you are supposed to be thankful they let you in the door. We ate upstairs at the Hula Grill for both dinner and breakfast and had nice meals with a great view from the second floor. Also, try to get a room on the 14th floor or higher as there is an express elevator for those floors. The other floors are serviced by three elevators but one was broken down while we were there and it made service problematic at best. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha Matt P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki prior to your cruise. We are glad you noticed our recent renovations which included upgrades to all of our guest rooms, lanais, corridors, swimming pool and pool deck. We are sorry that you experienced delays in our elevator service during your stay. The final upgrades to all of our elevators is in the process of being completed by the beginning of 2013. Once the upgrades are installed, all of our elevators will be running more efficiently and smoothly. Your comments about Duke's will be communicated to their management team for improvements to be made. Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our first stay at Outrigger Waikiki and we enjoyed every minute of our two week vacation. From the reception, a spacious room, friendly staff, breakfasts at Duke,s restaurant, pool facilities, all was crafted for the visitors' convenience. We stayed at another water frontage hotel three times before, but it cannot be compared with what we had at Outrigger. On the last day, during the waiting for the airport shuttle, we met a lovely 96 year old gentlemen who introduced himself as Tony Del Piero, ex manager who still works one day per week meeting and talking to visitors. We promised to meet him next year again.

Room Tip: Our room a partial view room and we had a good ocean view. Frankly we didn't spend much time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha Kiwis2000. We are happy to hear that this was your fifth visit to Hawaii and that you enjoyed every minute of your vacation with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to delight you with our service, facilities and accommodations. Tony Del Piano is truly an Ambassador of Aloha and a legendary former employee of Outrigger Hotels and Resorts. He started with the company in 1957 and worked closely alongside the founder of our company, Roy Kelley. To this day, he volunteers his time at our hotel each week to meet with our valued employees and guests. In doing so, he keeps the honest values of Outrigger alive. Because of dedicated leaders like Tony Del Piano, our employees are able to treat our guests like 'ohana (family) and to create a welcoming and memorable experience for everyone. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The location was great, beachfront right in the middle of Waikiki and walking distance to everywhere. My only gripe is I did expect sun lounges on the beach - there are ones in front of the hotel but at $60 a day I don't think so. Both the Westin and the Royal Hawaiian on either side have these for guests and I know both are more expensive but I did expect these for a beachfront hotel. Other than this I thought the rooms were a great size, standard & quality and the views were great. Would consider staying again but did not 'love' it enough to not consider other properties also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha Tanya B. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family holiday to Hawaii. We appreciate your compliments about our location, views, room size and quality. While we are situated right on Waikiki beach, unfortunately, the laws of the City and County of Honolulu do not permit our hotel to provide services outside of our property line. We do, however, provide sun lounges on the spacious pool decks within our property, just steps away from the shore. For guests who prefer to lounge on the beach, there is a vendor called U.V. Rays Hawaii right in front of our hotel that rents loungers and umbrellas at a reasonable price. As an added benefit, guests of the Outrigger Waikiki are allowed to charge services from U.V. Rays directly to their room account. Mahalo for your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.