We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel -great location on Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel -great location on Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here with our two small children for two weeks. The kids loved the pool and the heated jacuzzi. The hotel is right on the beach which was amazing. Duke's is always excellent and they supply the poolside food. Beds are very comfortable and each room has a pretty roomy lanai. Staff were always helpful and fast.
The music from Dukes did not disturb us at all. Close to everything and if you enjoy the vibrant Waikiki this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Askamamma. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family vacation. Our newly renovated swimming pool is now kid-friendly due to a reduced depth of 4-feet throughout the entire saltwater pool. Children of all ages enjoy the lively atmosphere of Duke's and the large variety of menu items the restaurant has to offer. Mahalo for your positive comments about our staff and rooms. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,589
    947
    237
    95
    38
See reviews for
824
1286
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel deserves better reviews. Our room was on the first floor and we never heard noise. The Hula Grill and Duke's are wonderful. No problem checking in on a Wednesday at 3:00. Nice room, clean in the center of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Downhill2. Thank you for your 5-star rating of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. While we are located in the heart of energetic Waikiki, our guests can still enjoy a relaxing stay in any of our 524 rooms. Our recent renovations included a sound-proofing upgrade to all of our rooms, thus the amount of noise that can be heard from inside each room has been significantly reduced. We are happy you enjoyed dining at Duke's and the Hula Grill. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I have recently returned from a holiday to Hawaii. We stayed at the Outrigger on the Beach Waikiki. The hotel and the staff were absolutely wonderful. On arrival we found that we didnt have a booking as the agent had cancelled it and the reception staff (Keith) did everything in his power to ensure us a room immediately. The rooms and every aspect of he hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff and service was of a very high standard. We loved our experience here and would highly recommend this property and their staff. Food was great, shopping was fantastic and the hotel is centred right in the walking distance to almost everything. We will return and stay again at the Outrigger

Room Tip: we stayed in a partial ocean view room on the 7th floor and we could sit on our balcony and see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha lynne S. We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic holiday while staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Thank you for your compliments about Keith, our valued Guest Service Representative at the Front Desk. On occassions, there are problems that occur upon arrival or during a guest's stay. Our employees have been trained to anticipate the needs of our guests and are more than willing to assist in resolving issues as soon as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your Partial Ocean View room, and we truly appreciate your high recommendation of our property and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Coming from Australia you arrive at your hotel before the usual check in time and I presumed that we would have to wait a few hours before we could get into our room however when we checked in we were advised that our room was ready which was a wonderful surprise. We were in a partial ocean view room with the most amazing view of the beach and the sunset each night and then we could see the city light up. The room was newly renovated and had a walk in wardrobe which was so handy for us shoppers & a very compact but functional bathroom. The hotel is right in the middle of the beach and is just so handy for anything that you want to do during your stay. This was a girls trip so we wanted to be able to go to restaurants and shop with ease and this hotel enabled us to do that. Loved having a Macy's store right across the road. Enjoyed breakfast in Duke's each morning looking at the beach & our server Cam was great. For variety we tried the Hula Grill one morning which was not nearly as nice so quickly went back to Duke's for the rest of the time were were there. The lifts in the hotel are being upgraded and this caused a few problems with having to wait for a lift but I am sure that once the new system is in place it will be fine. Did not have any problem with the pool as we were always able to find a sun bed but I can imagine it would get crowed in peak time. Cannot wait to return and hope I get room 1133 again.

Room Tip: Our room on the 11th floor was perfect - the higher the floor number the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Joylane. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your girl's trip to Hawaii. We have a lot of International guests arriving early each day and we are happy to get everyone settled into their rooms as soon as they become available. Our location is ideal for a fun-filled holiday as shopping, dining and entertainment options are conveniently nearby. We are glad you enjoyed going to Duke's and we will pass along your compliments to Cam. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for 10 nights, Ocean Front room, 1026. From the first time entering into the building, we were awestruck by the beauty of the lobby. The staff were friendly and very accommodating in getting us checked in and setting us up with a few activities during our stay. This hotel was located in the heart of Waikiki, which gave us an access to EVERYTHING. (restaurant, shopping, beach etc)

Our room (1026) had a post card view of Waikiki beach, and had everything to make us comfortable. Having a free long distance call and in room WiFi was great. We ate breakfast at Dukes, Hula grill and Seattle's coffee shop, which was a definite advantage rather than having to look elsewhere. Our favourite breakfast was the breakfast buffet at Dukes. My husband ate egg's benedict 8 days in a row!. Guava passion fruit and orange beverage tasted amazing.

Beach access was through Dukes restaurant and once on the beach lounge beds, umbrellas, surfboards, were available for a nominal fee. We purchased an inflatable tube and a air mattress at ABC store.

In having access to the public laundry facility located in the hotel. we were able to pack light for our trip. This was one of our deciding factor in choosing this hotel.

During our stay, we participated in free Ti leaf lei making and ukulele lessons in the lobby of the hotel with a wonderful man, named Wally. He gave us a lot of local knowledge and insight into the Hawaiian culture. We had a great discussion and a great time.

All in all we had a truly amazing experience and could do it all over again.

Thank you for making our stay the most memorable experience of our lives.

Room Tip: Ocean Front room on higher floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha versa309. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and allowing us the opportunity to create a memorable vacation experience for you and your husband. Our Oceanfront rooms are one of the very best categories in the hotel. They feature spacious lanais with glass railings to maximize the magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean. Thank you for exploring the many dining options right on our property. Duke's and Hula Grill are famous for their island-inspired breakfast selections. We hope you will come back soon for another amazing visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just back from Hawaii & can't wait to go back.

We stayed at the outrigger on the beach in Waikiki. The location of this hotel is just perfect being right on the Waikiki beach. The hotel is very busy & the pool area can be somewhat cramped, but we always managed to find a spot.

We upgraded to a deluxe part ocean view. The rooms are the same just with a better view. If you can get it the ocean views seem to have bigger balconies.

The bar in the hotel (Dukes) must be the most popular on the island - it was always very busy.

Food could be better, it's a bit mass produced & we did not always stay there for breakfast.

The people & service were all we could ask for...

Overall we will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same with the difference being the view - if you can get one that faces the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Graeme_UK_9. We are so happy to read your comment, "the people & service were all we could ask for". While we are proud to be located on the best section of Waikiki Beach, we constantly strive to provide our guests with the best possible service at all times. Your satisfaction is a compliment to our team. Mahalo Nui Loa. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my 4th trip to Hawaii and I have tried a different hotel each time. It was my first time staying at the Outrigger and I will definitely be back!
I found this hotel to be perfectly located and it ticks all the boxes. We stayed over Halloween and had a great time.

Upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean View Room on the 9th floor for a reasonable additional cost per night and had a great view of Waikiki Beach on the Diamond Head side of the hotel. This was one of the renovated rooms – it was quiet, spacious and had a comfortable bed, quality linens and towels and nice toiletries (few and far between at some hotels of late). Most importantly, it was nice and quiet!

Staff were friendly and housekeeping faultless. Main hotel areas always clean and tidy.

Didn’t use the pool area as I’m more of a beach fan but it looked great and there were plenty of lounge chairs. Gorgeous beach out front with quite a few sea turtles amongst the swimmers. Great atmosphere. Easy to come and go between the room and beach although the elevators were pretty slow (one being fixed).

Didn’t breakfast at the hotel but had dinner at Duke’s for the always delicious Hula Pie and was very pleased that they give hotel guests priority reservations. Just call down and advise when you’d like to dine and they call you back when a table’s available. This worked perfectly as we stayed over Halloween and the restaurant was only taking outside bookings for 4:45pm or 9 pm.
Called up at 6:00pm and were in within half an hour. Excellent way to ensure you get a table easily in busy periods.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha AshVee. Thank you for giving the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach a try on your 4th visit to Hawaii. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back. Our Deluxe Ocean View rooms offer a spectacular view of the beach and are so close to the water that guests can even hear the sound of the waves from their lanai. We are proud to have received numerous compliments about our bathroom amenities and toiletry products. All of our rooms feature a line of quality shampoos, conditioners, soaps, lotions and sun gels that have a tropical fragrance exclusively created for Outrigger's paradise destinations. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to share your experience and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.