We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Twin room breakfast included partial ocean view. Check in swift and efficient, room very clean and spacious, wired and wireless Internet in room included in rate, bargain. Location perfect, everything on the doorstep including the beach. Staff friendly and helpful. Choice of three places to eat the included breakfast, chose the buffet each day, great food, fantastic location, right on the beach. No negatives at all, if you are visiting Wakiki then this hotel will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for high room on the west side, fantastic sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Aloha Chris A,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are happy to see that you took advantage of our complimentary wireless in the room. We have a great selection to choose from for dining. We are delighted that our staff took care of you during your stay. We hope you have a great year and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    969
    243
    94
    38
See reviews for
838
1310
82
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingen, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Hotel was fantastic, room was great, breakfasts were amazing, cocktail hour visited every afternoon! You just can't fault this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eastern side of the hotel as the western side overlooks the Hawaiian Internati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Aloha Mel B,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights based on a combination of price and positive reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed! The staff was exceptional, helpful and friendly, including housekeeping in getting us moved to another room when a slight problem arose. The location is perfect, stepped right out of the hotel onto the beach. We walked through the lobbies and restaurants of some the more expensive hotels nearby and still preferred Outrigger Waikiki on the beach. Dinner on the beach at Duke's was fun.. but highly recommend happy hour mai tais at the Hula Grill when the wait at Duke's is crazy.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Aloha Mike M,
Thank you for giving us an excellent review. We are delighted to see that our staff was helpful and friendly during your stay. We are very excited as we will be renovating our hotel rooms, lobbies and pool area. We have been planning this renovation for the past year and it is coming up fast. We look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated hotel. Mahalo
Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is absolutely fantastic, it is number one for location based right on Waikiki beach! The staff are lovely and very helpful. Dukes bar is brilliant. The beach is spectacular!!!! Really loved it and will return here again next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Aloha luvdisneyengland,
We thank you for staying with us and providing a positive review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, hotel and location. Our staff loves it when they see great comments regarding their hospitality. We sure would love to see you again next year. We are so excited about our renovation happening March thru June where we will be doing renovations to our hotel rooms, lobbies and pool area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back. Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

just home today - stayed there for 10 glorious days.
rooms nice and modern and kept very clean each day.
it is a wonderfull location in the heart of shopping.
recommend it. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Aloha Sandra m,

We are happy to hear that you made it home safely. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate guests like you and the recommendations you provide. We are going to be doing a renovation starting March that will renovate our pool, guest hallways and guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

for the three nights we stayed 1/2-1/5 2012. We had come from Maui so Waikiki was a bit of a shock as we were told it might be, but this place was clean, very nicely decorated with sofa, great reading lamps and a slice of beach view! Unfortunately, our floor seemed to have several families traveling together so they would let the kids (smaller ones) run up and down the hall into the different rooms they were occupying, talking, laughing screaming. That didn't let up til 11ish. Then one night the family next to us had a child crying. My guess are the walls are not real soundproof. Other than that, we enjoyed the beach and pool facilities, and the hotel's drop dead central location. We found the concierge friendly, in fact all the staff was quite decent. No in room food service as we ate at Hula Grill a couple times and tried Duke's but too crowded and noisy for us.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and believe it would have been if not for the families traveling en masse a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Aloha AvidTraveler48,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We appreciate your honesty regarding Waikiki being very different from Maui. Waikiki Is very busy compared to the neighbor islands. There is a ton of activities that are available all day. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our location and accommodations. We apologize for our other guests disturbing your stay. If this should happen to you on your next stay please do not hesitate to let us know so that we can have security sent up to address the concern. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia,minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Jan 3-9 2012 my husband and I stated at the Outrigger on the Beach Honolulu. What a great choice we made! We booked an ocean front room that met every expectation. From the 5th floor we had sweeping ocean and beach views from diamond head to the west for incredible sunsets. The king size bed was very comfy, room temps were perfect. Ample space in the closet and dresser. room was very quiet as we were near the corner.
step out of the hotel and you are on the beach!soft clean sand, great swimming beach.
We had daily breakfast buffet at Duke's. Fabulous variety from freshmade omelets, Tropical fruits, and ready made items , fresh juices and more. Impeccable service!!! We also had Pupus and dinner at Dukes. The calamari is a must!
The staff here really know how to take care of their guests. They are friendly and truely care.
the hotel was spotless.
Great shopping also at the resort. tropical wear, liquor store, jewelry, sunglasses, and more. prices were good too.
across the street there is the international market. great for tee shirts, beach ware, farmer's market, jewelry, island food. We even found anunderground bar that had great happy hour prices.if you plan to spend time at the pool here is a tip. the pool towels are located in a hut out front of the pool people start lining up for towels about 7:45 or earlier. they get towels aand mark their chairs. also they lay out books or a hat, etc to mark thier spot. chairs were all pretty much taken by 8:30. the pool area is not very big. the pool does not seem very warm so not many peopel are in it.
also for happy hour the beach front tables go quick!never the less we had such a great time.
We can't wait to book another vaction at this resort hotel.the spirit of Aloha lives here!!

Room Tip: room with the best views are 5th floor or higher. ocean front is worth every penny!! (or dollar, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.