We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is absolutely fantastic, it is number one for location based right on Waikiki beach! The staff are lovely and very helpful. Dukes bar is brilliant. The beach is spectacular!!!! Really loved it and will return here again next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Aloha luvdisneyengland,
We thank you for staying with us and providing a positive review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, hotel and location. Our staff loves it when they see great comments regarding their hospitality. We sure would love to see you again next year. We are so excited about our renovation happening March thru June where we will be doing renovations to our hotel rooms, lobbies and pool area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back. Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,589
    947
    237
    95
    38
See reviews for
824
1286
81
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

just home today - stayed there for 10 glorious days.
rooms nice and modern and kept very clean each day.
it is a wonderfull location in the heart of shopping.
recommend it. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Aloha Sandra m,

We are happy to hear that you made it home safely. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate guests like you and the recommendations you provide. We are going to be doing a renovation starting March that will renovate our pool, guest hallways and guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

for the three nights we stayed 1/2-1/5 2012. We had come from Maui so Waikiki was a bit of a shock as we were told it might be, but this place was clean, very nicely decorated with sofa, great reading lamps and a slice of beach view! Unfortunately, our floor seemed to have several families traveling together so they would let the kids (smaller ones) run up and down the hall into the different rooms they were occupying, talking, laughing screaming. That didn't let up til 11ish. Then one night the family next to us had a child crying. My guess are the walls are not real soundproof. Other than that, we enjoyed the beach and pool facilities, and the hotel's drop dead central location. We found the concierge friendly, in fact all the staff was quite decent. No in room food service as we ate at Hula Grill a couple times and tried Duke's but too crowded and noisy for us.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and believe it would have been if not for the families traveling en masse a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Aloha AvidTraveler48,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We appreciate your honesty regarding Waikiki being very different from Maui. Waikiki Is very busy compared to the neighbor islands. There is a ton of activities that are available all day. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our location and accommodations. We apologize for our other guests disturbing your stay. If this should happen to you on your next stay please do not hesitate to let us know so that we can have security sent up to address the concern. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia,minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Jan 3-9 2012 my husband and I stated at the Outrigger on the Beach Honolulu. What a great choice we made! We booked an ocean front room that met every expectation. From the 5th floor we had sweeping ocean and beach views from diamond head to the west for incredible sunsets. The king size bed was very comfy, room temps were perfect. Ample space in the closet and dresser. room was very quiet as we were near the corner.
step out of the hotel and you are on the beach!soft clean sand, great swimming beach.
We had daily breakfast buffet at Duke's. Fabulous variety from freshmade omelets, Tropical fruits, and ready made items , fresh juices and more. Impeccable service!!! We also had Pupus and dinner at Dukes. The calamari is a must!
The staff here really know how to take care of their guests. They are friendly and truely care.
the hotel was spotless.
Great shopping also at the resort. tropical wear, liquor store, jewelry, sunglasses, and more. prices were good too.
across the street there is the international market. great for tee shirts, beach ware, farmer's market, jewelry, island food. We even found anunderground bar that had great happy hour prices.if you plan to spend time at the pool here is a tip. the pool towels are located in a hut out front of the pool people start lining up for towels about 7:45 or earlier. they get towels aand mark their chairs. also they lay out books or a hat, etc to mark thier spot. chairs were all pretty much taken by 8:30. the pool area is not very big. the pool does not seem very warm so not many peopel are in it.
also for happy hour the beach front tables go quick!never the less we had such a great time.
We can't wait to book another vaction at this resort hotel.the spirit of Aloha lives here!!

Room Tip: room with the best views are 5th floor or higher. ocean front is worth every penny!! (or dollar, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 5 nights in January 2012. You can't beat it for location in Waikiki - close to shops, restaurants, surfboard rentals, beginner surf breaks - everything's within a few metres of the hotel.
The room was nice - the city view room (308) had partial views of the ocean and beach as well, and the room itself was modern and clean. A little bit of noise from other room next to us (but they seemed to be enjoying themselves).
We didn't make much use of the facilities so can't comment on those, but the pool area didn't look that great - I'd much rather be down on the beach in front.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Aloha Dave_F_Sydney,

Thank you very much for a nice review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our hotel as much as our location. We are very excited as we are planning on a renovation that will take place from March 2012 till June 2012. We will upgrade of all our guest rooms, corridors and swimming pool, we are sound proofing the guest rooms and replacing the front doors. We look forward to bringing an improved Outrigger Waikiki for your next visit! Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on the way home. The hotel is busy but you have to expect that. The location is great - walk straight onto the beach from the hotel. The hotel does get very busy because of Duke's bar and very hard to ever get a table, in saying this the cocktails are the best we have ever had (especially the Lava Flow). The room was tired and could do with an update and the walls were very thin and could here everything from the rooms next door. The view was very nice. You have to get a pool chair by 8.30am otherwise you will miss out. The food was not great in the hotel and not a lot of options for vegetarians.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Aloha simone211,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will let our outlets aware that they should more vegan options available. I’m sure Dukes will be delighted to see that you had the best cocktails of your life at their bar.
We are very exited as we are planning on a renovation that will take place from March 2012 till June 2012. We will upgrade of all our guest rooms, corridors and swimming pool, we are sound proofing the guest rooms and replacing the front doors. We look forward to bringing an improved Outrigger Waikiki for your next visit! Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Overall enjoyed our 4 night stay at Outrigger Waikiki. Checkin went smoothly, no problems with pool attendants, bellmen etc....all staff very helpful. My only problem was with the room noise- constant noise from plumbing- toilets flushing, whistling like when you get air in pipes, general water noise. Having stayed at a few different hotels on this visit to the Islands, this one would have to be the noisiest. Having said that, I still rated it a 4 as it is in a perfect location, facilities and staff great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Aloha Marene,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to see that our staff took care of you when you arrived at our hotel. We love our convenient location as it gives our guest a lot to choose from. We are very exited as we are planning on a renovation that will take place from March 2012 till June 2012. We will upgrade of all our guest rooms, corridors and swimming pool, we are sound proofing the guest rooms and replacing the front doors. We look forward to bringing an improved Outrigger Waikiki for your next visit! Mahalo Todd Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.