We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but rooms and breakfast lacking.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Aloha Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
909 Kahauloa Pl, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location but rooms and breakfast lacking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Aloha Bed & Breakfast for 4 nights. The location is great! The rooms were rather drap. There were 3 rooms which all shared 1 bathroom. We were lucky since we were the only guests there at the time. The breakfast was on the skimpy side. Choice of one fresh fruit and a bagel or muffin. Coffee and tea was available, no juice was offered. Washer and dryer was available for $8.00 per load. We thought that was rather excessive! I would not recommend this place unless you are the only guest.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Köln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This nice and cosy Place is owned by Phyllis... Phyllis and her husband are very helpful and you get an excellent homemade continental breakfast. We enjoyed this nice and quite place outside honolulu. With a car you can get to honolulu downtown in ca. 20 min.. To stay here you have to have a car cause its in a quiet neighboorhood up on a hill ca. 6-8 miles to honolulu. The rooms are quite small, but nice decorated. The only special thing is the shared bathroom for 3 rooms. But for us it was no problem. Thanx to Phyllis and her husband, Cheers Ina & Jannis

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Don and Phyllis were very friendly and made excellent recommendations on where to eat and things to do. They are very knowledgeable about the island and the location was a great escape from the hustle and bustle of downtown Honolulu and the popular Waikiki area. The self-serve breakfast was great because we weren't tied down to a schedule. We didn't have to be up at a certain time for breakfast and if we wanted to get an early start we wouldn't miss eating. Another great attribute was the affordable price. We got more for our money that we would have at a hotel that would have 'nickel and dimed' us. No a/c, but fans were provided and a nice breeze came in through the windows at night. It was wonderful. We also loved the Christian atmosphere. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and we were a little nervous, but Don and Phyllis made us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much at Aloha Bed & Breakfast! When we asked, Don & Phyllis could not have been more helpful in telling us where to eat, visit, hikes we might enjoy, even directions when we needed them. They were very congenial but still gave us our own space to enjoy meals and views from the B & B. The food was especially good, homemade and delicious without being too heavy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONANZA,OREGON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I come to Hawaii once a year for three weeks as a sales representative and happily I found Don and Phyllis' B&B. I stay here the entire time .What a great change from the hustle and hassle of downtown Honolulu. Parking is free (as opposed to $15+ dollars per day at some downtown hotels) and the views are great (diamond head and the ocean) The breakfasts are healthy and have a variety of organic cereal, Hawaiian fruit, juice, coffee tea etc. and whole grain toast and muffins. They are gracious and caring hosts. I have stayed here for the last five of seven years and I will continue to do so in the future. I have recommended this gem to friends and others at my company and have not ever had anyone complain. While not directly on the beach (you will need a car) they are just a few minutes from Haunama Bay - Oahu's premeire snorkeling park and about a 15 minute drive to Sea Life Park.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

The B&B is located in a sprawling suburban neighborhood (nothing old Hawaii here) about 20 minutes out of Waikiki without traffic, but double that when H-1 is backed up, which is quite often. If you love the scene in town, walking to the beach or want just a room to sleep in, you are probably better off just getting a room in Waikiki. Note that all three bedrooms are down stairs, sharing one full bath. The other half bath is upstairs, which makes it somewhat inconvenient. For a stay longer than about 3 days, the queen room is very small, so ask for the King. The twin room is best for sleeping in, as it has shutters that keep the room dark. The other two have good views, but the sun comes up about 7 so it gets bright quick, and it does get warm in the rooms. There is a fan in each room, but no A/C. Breakfast is usually fresh fruit, bread and cereal. And yes, it still costs $8 to do a load of laundry, which bugged us more than the ants that are on the kitchen counter every morning.

  • Liked — Free Parking
  • Disliked — Distance from town, and cost of laundry
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

What we liked about the Aloha B & B was its location on a hillside in a secluded residential area, far from the hustle & bustle. Despite this, it is not far from what most travelers would want to see and do on Oahu. The rooms are comfortable, and two of them have a great views of the town and ocean below. We breakfasted every morning on the deck looking out on this view. Breakfast was more than ample, and always includes fresh fruit. There is also a lovely pool, which you can use whenever you want.
The hosts, Don and Phyllis, are very friendly and try their best to cater to your every need. They suggested some great restaurants to eat at, sights to see and activities to do. Everything we did following their advice turned out to be top-notch. If you enjoy hiking they will even tell you about the great trail that starts just up the street from them. During our stay I twisted my ankle while hiking Diamond Head, and they were very concerned, offering suggestions about how to treat it. They are there for you, but you are mostly left alone to enjoy your trip.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 909 Kahauloa Pl, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views from non-smoking ridge Hawaii Kai home. King, queen & twin bedrooms $95 to $110 plus taxes.Free WiFi. Prefer longer bookings. Minutes to Hanauma Bay, Sea Life Park, beautiful beaches & hikes. Great places to eat close by. Friendly Christian hosts give concierge services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Bed And Breakfast
Aloha Hotel Honolulu
Aloha Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.