We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entomophobiacs--BEWARE!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Aloha Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
909 Kahauloa Pl, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Central Point, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Entomophobiacs--BEWARE!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Upon entering Aloha's Bed and Breakfast, we found Don, the owner, was trying to crush hundreds of ants in the kitchen. He explained that there were a lot of ants in Hawaii. Being on vacation we thought okay, we will see how is goes. Then, Don took us downstairs and showed us a lot of ants that were in the shower, but said that he had put poison out, and they would be gone in the morning. To our chagrin, they were not. We have stayed in many B & B's over the years, and the owners invariably cook a wonderful meal for us. Breakfast consisted of cold cereal, a few fruits, and some bread which was laid out for us to prepare on our own. The swimming pool was a disaster. Very filthy at the bottom, dead ants and bugs floating, and some of the tiles were falling off. The filter system was not operating. The last morning that we were there, a cockroach greeted me at the coffee pot. We stayed in the king-sized room, which was small, and it had a very firm bed. The other two bedrooms were also occupied, so we had to share one bathroom---sometimes a complicated issue. No air conditioning, fans were provided, but please remember to turn off the fan when leaving, otherwise you will incur the wrath of Phyllis. NO SHOES in the house!! We stayed 7 days and paid nearly $800.00 and felt that we should have received a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaB_and_B, Owner at Aloha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We apologize that your time with us was when we had an epidemic of ants. I am chemically sensitive so we do not use chemicals in our home. In April of 2014, we had a treatment done on our property for ground termites which is non-toxic and has no odor. We were told that the chemical that was used will also help get rid of ants. We are so very happy that the preventive treatment for ground termites also keeps ants away. We have noticed the results already!

Phyllis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for a week in May 2012. Phyllis and Don could not have been nicer .... kind of like staying with relatives. Phyllis made sure there was plenty of fresh pineapple (favorite) every morning along with a very nice and healthy choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt etc. They definitely saved me money with suggestions of restaurants and attractions. Planning to take my nieces this winter and will definitely stay here. Cant wait .... thanks again Phyllis and Don!
Don't miss nearby Hanauma Bay .... it is AWESOME!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed here on a recent trip to honolulu and was interested in something different than another hotel. a friend told me about this b&b and i gave it a try. it was really a wonderful experience, run by a very nice retired couple, phyllis and don. they were very welcoming and helpful in giving me recommendations for local things to do. their place sits up on a hillside overlooking the harbour and bay. it is also so convient to the most beautiful part of the island.

phyllis also had a nice, healthy breakfast each morning. very fresh island fruit. i will look forward to staying here when i get to come back to oahu.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A clean place in a convenient location (20 min from Honolulu by car), a good price (for Hawaii). But it is not a B&B - you stay downstairs in one of the three rooms (very plain) with a shared bathroom. You have breakfast (pretty good) you make your self and park on the street. Yes there are public beaches nearby (driving) and a salt water pool on site, also a patio - no problem getting towels from the owners.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The breakfast was great -- they have organic food and fresh food. Our hosts offered us numerous good tips that saved us money. They loaned us boogie boards and towels. We also enjoyed their salt water pool. Recommend a stay here. Good hosts, food and tips. We'd go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Aloha Bed & Breakfast for 4 nights. The location is great! The rooms were rather drap. There were 3 rooms which all shared 1 bathroom. We were lucky since we were the only guests there at the time. The breakfast was on the skimpy side. Choice of one fresh fruit and a bagel or muffin. Coffee and tea was available, no juice was offered. Washer and dryer was available for $8.00 per load. We thought that was rather excessive! I would not recommend this place unless you are the only guest.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This nice and cosy Place is owned by Phyllis... Phyllis and her husband are very helpful and you get an excellent homemade continental breakfast. We enjoyed this nice and quite place outside honolulu. With a car you can get to honolulu downtown in ca. 20 min.. To stay here you have to have a car cause its in a quiet neighboorhood up on a hill ca. 6-8 miles to honolulu. The rooms are quite small, but nice decorated. The only special thing is the shared bathroom for 3 rooms. But for us it was no problem. Thanx to Phyllis and her husband, Cheers Ina & Jannis

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 909 Kahauloa Pl, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views from non-smoking ridge Hawaii Kai home. King, queen & twin bedrooms Free WiFi. Thirty days or longer reservations. Minutes to Hanauma Bay, Sea Life Park, beautiful beaches & hikes. Great places to eat close by. Friendly Christian hosts give concierge services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Bed And Breakfast
Aloha Hotel Honolulu
Aloha Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.