We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get what i paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations to your Saves list
Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Discount
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manteca, United States
1 review
“Didn't get what i paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I paid for extra for a plus 2 bedroom, occupancy 6. It slept 6 but only had room for 4 in dining area and sat only 3-4 in living room (VERY TINY). I believe this violates the guaranteed occupancy for 6 that I paid for. Also, it was on a lower floor than plus price is supposed to provide for. (Rooms begin on floor 5; I was was just 4 floors up from that, in room 802 of a 39 story building; this is not my idea of a preferred floor level I was told I would receive for the extra plus points I paid). Master bedroom very small & stuffy with no windows that opened, no lanai and a miniature soaking tub. Most furniture was tacky and worn (The second bedroom was decorated with all mis-matching furniture and the dining furniture was worn and scratched) This entire unit felt like it was an after-thought. I was told units like mine get lots of complaints. Otherwise, the place is beautiful. Grounds and pools are wonderful and the staff were great (except for my unit location)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us here. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our owners and guests as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations. We are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied and that the resort did not meet your expectations. Thank you for providing the unit number you stayed in as it helps to identify the particular category of the unit. It is categorized as a two bedroom partial ocean view (plus) unit with an occupancy of 6 (all of the Grand Waikikian 2 bedroom units sleep six). “Occupancy” is determined by the amount of guests that can be accommodated by sleeping capacity. In the Grand Waikikian there are three different view categories: Premier (Ocean View), Plus (Partial Ocean View) and Standard (City View). We are disappointed you did not like the layout of the unit and the condition of some of the interior. The tower is currently planned to go through a soft renovation sometime next year. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the grounds, pools and our staff.

Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    266
    77
    23
    16
See reviews for
447
151
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Beautiful resort with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby and on property. Great place for families and/or couples. Access to beach, many pools, lagoon and the property is AMAZING, I would highly recommend the Hilton in both Honolulu and on the Big Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beautiful resort with lots to do for the entire family. Walking distance to Waikiki and Ala Moana Shopping Mall. Staff is wonderful and accommodating. Best "Family" hotel in Waikiki! The hotel is clean and there are plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are Hilton timeshare owners. We stayed 14 nights in Hawaii with out first 4 at Grand Waikikian. We stayed in the Grand Waikikian tower (not lagoon or kalia). When you read reviews be sure you know where the person stayed. We loved the pool area and spent most of the time at the lagoon and pool with slides. Stand up paddleboard on the lagoon is so easy that the 5, 7 and 10 year olds in our group had no trouble. There were plenty of chairs by the pool, we had no issue with overcrowding. The Hilton Hawaiian Village has many restaurants and shops, you won't need to travel far to find what you need. You will need a stroller with kids. We debated bringing a stroller for our 5 year old as she is getting to old for it, but everything is do spread out we were glad to have it. The shopping district is an easy mile walk away.

The rooms were clean and well appointed. The rooms were smaller than I expected. The Orlando HGVC one bedrooms are much larger. Kings Land HGVC also has larger rooms. But you will not find a better location on Waikiki beach than this resort.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Staying in a two bedroom apartment was perfect for our family. Decent location, but it is a long walk to the main Waikiki Beach area. Short walk to the Ala Moana Centre and Kalakaua Ave.
Rooms were well furnished, LCD TVs and well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A relaxing place for family and friends to vacation who have varying interests, because there is something onsite of interest for everyone. Located inside the Hilton Waikiki Village, a haven for spending time on the beach, walking, shopping, dining and relaxing with friends. You could just remain in the Hilton village during your entire stay. Our unit had an excellent ocean view. The unit was very clean and the property well kept. Adjacent to other Hilton condo and hotel towers on the premises. There's a lagoon pool on the property that's adjacent to the beach and also a traditional swimming pool. The staff was very friendly, and the premises are very safe. Numerous stores and shops on site, with grocery items also available at multiple ABC Stores, a ubiquitous chain on the island. And Starbucks is there, along with other coffee shops. Favorites---the ice cream store across from the Great Lawn. Stroll down the beach next door to the Hale Koa Hotel, for the shaved ice--sold next door to the bar on the beach. Walking distance from the shopping mall, the Ala Moana Center, which has a lot of high end stores.

Lots of daily tour pickups on site for sightseeing---which I would recommend in lieu of driving, unless you're prepared to deal with heavy motor vehicle traffic and rain.

Room Tip: Choose and upper floor with a room number ending in "01" to get an optimum ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My second visit to Hilton Hawaiian Village and first in the Grand Waikikian. It was a very nice and comfortable unit with a great view (unit was #2609). Very well furnished with everything you would normally need for a home away from home. The unit was clean and in good repair with the type of furnishing you would have at home. A lot restaurants and shops within the resort that are a bit on the expensive side but everything in Hawaii is expensive with the exception of pineapple.I had a rental car for the week and parking was $27 a day I think next time I will take a shuttle and rent a car per day as needed at the onsite rental office or one nearby like next to the abc store nearby. Groceries are available abc stores(limited) or a foodland market thats a few miles away near the H1 highway. The resort grounds were clean was well maintained and on friday night there was a pretty good fireworks display. The luau was expensive but there are coupons around the place to get a discount or upgrade from free. I give the luau a 7 out of 10 and the food buffet was pretty good and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy the Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool. Accommodations include One and Two-Bedroom Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.