We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room and View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Room and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1bed room, 27th floor at the Grand Waikikian Suite for 9 Days.
Balcony is very big and we can see Diamond Heads (City View) and little bit ocean. We stayed Kalia, Lagoon, Grand Waikikian before. The Room is spacious, Huge bath tub (it really huge), full kitchen and huge fridge also Wi-fi free!. We cooked every day. We normally bad experience with receptionist but they are good this time.
Walking distance to Ala Moana Centre, Waikiki, so it really convenience and good area.
We always come back this resort once a year but only negative part for this time follows
• when we arrived normally we get greeting (Ley etc) from staff but we didn’t get anything,
• Swimming pool is always packed especially, there has sign “Children under 5 is not permitted” at the Spa but many kids who is under 5 is stayed at Spa. Even staff doesn’t say anything. I wish they have Adult only pool and Spa like King’s land at Big Island.
• We ordered Nachos at the Hau Tree Bar, it was terrible not eatable…
• We had cleaning service in midweek but they didn’t stock anything (tissue paper, toilet paper, Rubbish bag) so we called them and looks like they came outside of door and took our rubbish but didn’t leave stuff which we requested

We just walked in to Harbour pub where located next Ilikai Hotel and front of Harbour. We went Happy hours and Beer is $1.5, food and service is excellent.

In addition, I hope Owners Lounge at 8th floor can open from 7pm to 9 or 10pm every day, because we are unable to print out boarding pass (we couldn’t print out domestic flight in Australia)

Room Tip: If you are huge fun of Hot Bath, I recommend to stay Grand Waikikian
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    176
    60
    14
    14
See reviews for
306
104
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed in quiet hotels with our kids and been bored. I knew that Waikiki Beach, and this property, would be busy and not quiet- therefore I booked it. It was a little annoying that the pool was crowded, but then again- my kids made friends and were happy. They let you bring your own food/drinks down to the pool, that was a plus! We constantly left the property to go out and about the island...so all was well. The Grand Waikikian tower has amazing rooms, terrific staff. The spa is not top of the line, I was a bit disappointed with it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are looking for a lively couple of days before moving onto something a bit more quiet then the Grand Waikikian is for you. Room was immaculate with all the mod cons you expect in the US. They even had a kettle for us anglophiles to make tea! Location is great as easy access to beach and Waikiki shops one way and upmarket shopping mall another. We will return for a 4th time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our 3rd time visiting Hawaii, but this was the first time just being there for a family vacation not for business. When we checking in the staff was very helpful and nice. Took a little time to check in but once we got to our room it was the best. Very clean and orderly. View was of the beach and it was perfect. In the morning we could see the surfers surf on the waves. Was wonderful!! We made breakfast every morning and ate outside on the balcony. We had a few Pigeons that would love to come in the room, the kids loved it.

Was a great location, we could walk down to steak shack and to Dukes to eat dinner and didn't take long at all. Went to Tropics for dinner and was awesome. Service was excellent and the food was great as well.

Our room was always clean when we came back from our adventures during the day! Called down stairs to get help pulling out the sofa bed and they were right up and figured it out right away. Kids would go down to the shop in the lobby and the staff was always friendly and helpful.

Overall loved the Hotel and would defineatly go back anytime.

Room Tip: ask for a 2 bedroom if there is 5 or more of you. Its BIG and you have a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent facility, clean, spacious rooms with outstanding staff. Concierge assistance was excellent...amenities in room,i.e. coffee maker, cookware, dishes, etc. were more than enough. I would recommend this facility when staying in Waikiki.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Focus for my review is Grand WaikikianSuites.

The Good stuff: Decent sized rooms, comfortable beds including pull out; PS3 DVD player; free DVD rentals from lobby; kitchen; washer dryer in room - very convenient; We had a room on 12th floor facing street but once windows were closed it was quiet enough even for a light sleeper.
Location seems good; Don't have anything to compare with but it worked for us.

Not so good stuff;

Check-in: Lady at lobby who was handing out leis looked tired and uninterested. Offered leis to a party arrived before us but ignored us for most part as we walked in - even ignored our little one who went and stood in front of her trying to get her attention to get a lei. Half way through our check in process another member finally warmly welcomed and offered leis.

The room:

Kitchen: Roaches in the room. Found 2 roaches on the kitchen counter during our stay on 2 separate occasions. Not cool at all. We did not bother calling anyone because it was something that needed to be taken care of right away so got rid of them by ourselves. We did provide this input to the team member who was giving us the timeshare presentation and he offered to share this with the team. Never heard back before we left. If we decide to never come back to this property this would be one huge factor.

Dated and stained/rusted silverware; Super scratched and smudgy glasses. Was missing can opener which was delivered when we called. No salt/pepper. I have stayed at various places with kitchens and always found salt and pepper in the kitchens but this one didn't have it.

Kitchen needs to be better equipped (more pans)

Bath and Bed linens: Not enough towels provided. Only 1 set of personal sized bath items. When housekeeping is only once in 4 days then I would think there should be more towels etc provided so you don't have to ask for more after every shower. Same thing with the dishwasher soap and the laundry detergent.
Got more in reasonable time when asked for.

Housekeeping only once in 4 days. When they cleaned our room they did not change fitted sheet for the pull out sofa. We ended up washing it ourselves.

Rest of the Resort:
Food: Didn't eat much at the resort: Round table pizza not good at all. Tried to get into the Tropics Friday evening there was a huge wait so passed. Tapa bar had a 30 min turnaround time for drinks (only drinks - no food was ordered). Breakfast buffet at the Lagoon tower was disappointing - very dry hash browns; ran out of white bread; oatmeal container was empty when we got there. Made to order Omelets were good. Expensive.

Pools: Crowded but ok. It can get hard to get chairs. Couples making out in the pool in full view of young kids was embarrassing. We had to leave the pool to avoid that behavior. Cigarette smoke from the beach area can be heavily smelled in the pool area - again not something that worked for us. "

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are excited to see you had some good comments about the resort, but also noticed you had some issues during your stay as well. I wanted to take this opportunity to address the issues in which you had during your stay.

I apologize the arrival experience was not to your expectation and that you were ignored by the lei greeter. I have personally followed up with the manager ensuring this does not happen in the future.

I have spoken with the housekeeping management team regarding the different discrepancies you spoke of. I also am following up to see why you were not contacted back regarding the issue you mentioned to the sales person. It is customary that we respond to the guests concerns immediately.

The Food & Beverage comments have been forwarded to the appropriate department as well to ensure this type of service does not happen in the future.

Again, please accept or apologies for the “not so good stuff”. We will ensure that these issues are addressed so they do not happen again in the future.

Vincent Jongert
Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is very clean and modern with nice, thoughtful touches throughout. The staff is attentive and well trained. There are several high-rise timeshare/hotel buildings on the premises and it is right on Waikiki beach. There are also a lot of shops and some restaraunts on the premises although they can be a bit pricey. They have a luau every night and fireworks every Friday evening. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy the Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool. Accommodations include One and Two-Bedroom Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations to your Saves list