We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Grand Waikikian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Save Saved
You added Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Offer
Ranked #24 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hilton Grand Waikikian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Self parking $27 per day (too much for self parking) 2 Bedroom Premier is just a regular 2 Bed 2 Bath! Clean and no nonsense. Great for families with kids. Nice shops, big resort. (the slide pool is too small and in the shade!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    197
    63
    18
    15
See reviews for
353
116
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Grand Waikikian, I got a fabulous deal on this through HGV of course I did have to go to a timeshare presentation but, the value was so worth the 2 hours. The sales person and his manager were not pushy at all and respected our "No" decision.
We had a wonderful 1 bedroom suite. Rooms were very tastefully furnished and very comfortable. And though I don't cook it was nice having a fully stocked kitchen. We were able to buy fruit and have lovely fruit salad for breakfast, also a toaster is available, so toast with cheese and we had a great little breakfast . (A rice cooker available as well :o)). The living room had a extremely comfortable little couch - usually hotels have lumpy hard couches, not this one. Also a DVD player and a game console were available - DVD's can be rented in the lobby. The bed and pillows were very comfortable - slept very well. All in all I really loved this place, was nice coming "home" at the end of the day and chilling! I gave the property a "Very Good" instead of Excellent (which it really is) only because the entire resort is so big. I found the grounds to be rather overwhelming but, that's just me. I loved the resort and despite the size would stay again and certainly would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

ON 4/5/13 we flew into Honolulu, Hi, we booked a 2 night stay at the Outrigger Luana. 1 bedroom condo, it was nice and clean. But could of used alittle updating. Our view was amazing.Good front desk people.Very accommdating and very nice. But we didn't like valet parking for $25,00 per day. Considering Honolulu is very expensive. but all in all i'll rate is as nice. The on 4/7/13 we went to The Grand Waikikian by the Hilton, we liked the hilton again beautiful ocean virews. With a two bedrooms and 2 baths. We stayed there 5 days. It was nicely furnished and very accommadating to our needs. We rented a cadillac srx suv because we had our son and some friends there.So this trip was alittle business and alittle pleasure.We all enjoyed it. But again the parking was too-expensive the Hilton valet parking was $33.00 a day and self parking was $27.00 a day. Its really tuff parking in H0N0LULU, alot of one way streets.it

Room Tip: Get a high floor and a cornor room, with a ocean view. We had both ocean and city views in both plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Grand Waikikian is a great location to stay at. The views are great and there are alot of things to do right at the property. The staff is very helpful and nice. The Bali Steak and Seafood restaurant was a big disappointment with a high price tag. The food at the Tropics Bar and Grill was good and the ambiance was great. There are a lot of things to do for the whole family. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent location, close to everything you would ever need when in Honolulu. The pools, lagoon and nearby beaches were wonderful. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Although this is a higher price hotel than what I am used to, it was well worth the extra money. The room was very nice, clean and c/w a fully functional kitchen. Ask for a high floor - the views just get better as you get higher. We actually had mostly a city view, which seemed disappointing at first, but if you come from a small city like we do, it was interesting to watch the this busy city from our balcony. Also very easy to get a taxi at the front entrance.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are home from a wonderful 10 days staying at this great resort. Generally speaking our family prefers a smaller more intimate property. Even thou we were fully expectant of its size we were still overwhelmed the first few days.

We stayed on a high floor with a nice view ~ we had requested 2 queens and a king for our 2 bedroom reservation and even called the hotel itself ahead of time to request but when we arrived we received 2 kings and a pull out. Our 2 teenage sons were not going to sleep together, thus one of our kids had to sleep on a pull out in the small living area and kitchen so that really put a cramp on the early risers. We told the folks checking in of our earlier request and phone call for the bed arrangement but for some reason our request didn't show up in their computer system. They did say next time they would do better but I cannot really state when we will be traveling again to Hawaii from the east coast as it is a looong trip. While the room had beautiful views of the water and the marina, we also had to listen to the rooftop Luau every night...that did get a bit obnoxious and I was glad that I was not a paying customer subjected to cramped seating and buffet lines as well as lip sinked music.

The overall property size was huge and it seemed like a lot of work to find a parking spot, unload our groceries and it was even a hike to get to the beach but we did enjoy the property regardless. The convenience to the shops with the ABC store which had light grocery shopping was nice. The restaurants are very expensive and really not that great. We chose to venture out and walk or take a cab downtown to the Waikiki beach for incredible dining options!

The location was convenient but the best thing our family did was rent a car and get away from the property. The crowds were huge from the many buildings all using a few pools and fewer pool chairs. Typically people would rise early to claim a chair with a towel and never use it. The pool staff should monitor this because the few times we sat by the pool you had to hunt for a chair or watch people circling around for theirs.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the people are really nice. The kindest of all are the gentleman at the bell hop stand...Every day they greeted you with a genuine welcome and were happy to give suggestions for dining or directions. Actually they more helpful than the concierge who were most interested in signing you up with a tour to preview the property to buy time share or to steer you to a restaurant on the property when you ask for a suggestion. When we asked for a great pizza restaurant, we were told about the hotel pizza or the other option was to get in the car and drive 15 minutes away. Honestly they should not call them selves 'Concierge' because they were more hotel information people.
We did find a great pizza restaurant (I looked up one on Trip advisor) that was just a quick cab ride away that was so good and we walked home on the return trip just to enjoy the evening walk along the hotel & beach area and shopping area of Waikiki beach!

Overall we enjoyed our time at the property. The property is huge, corporate and I felt nickeled and dimed for everything from parking to sitting on a beach chair on the beach. I loved my early morning walks along the beach walkway and the property is located near a park which is an easy walk for smaller kids. We enjoyed Honolulu and the best thing to do is escape the crowds of the resort by visiting the other regions of the island or go discover another more local beach to get the true flavor of the island. Be sure to stop at the local farm stands for the most delicious fresh fruit and coconut ever! Honolulu and this property is obviously a favorite destination of the Asian population. I found them to be lovely people who were quiet and gracious and definitely were the shoppers of the upper end stores.

A favorite surprise was the Sunday morning church service on the beach. It was uplifting, real truth taught and the praise and worship music in the Hawaiian style as well as the traditional Hawaiian dance is something that is imprinted on our minds and hearts forever. Overall this was a great vacation, but I will say our next Hawaii trip will be to another less congested island. We loved the climate and the people and hope to return one day. Being Hilton Grand Vacation owners perhaps we will explore the Big Island property next time!

Great memories and beautiful pictures, we are thankful to have had such a wonderful family vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
神奈川
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at 17th floor in a 2 bd Premier with ocean view.
I've never heard any bad noise during stay, except "Luau show" drums, voices and music at dinner time.
Concierge is excellent, s/he knows everything not only Oafu island, but also neighbor islands.
What I experienced small thing is, lost my way at parking lot. There are two exits, but it's hard to know which way is right exit.

Room Tip: More ocean view at the rooms on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy the Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool. Accommodations include One and Two-Bedroom Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.