We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations to your Saves list
Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice property on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I enjoyed this hotel. This will have been my fifth trip to Hawaii, but my first time at this resort. I found the suites great because we had a kitchen (which cut down on food costs), free internet and free laundry. The resort is crowded, but my kids enjoyed all the activities. If I were visiting with just my husband for a couples trip --- then I would suggest a quieter property. However, I felt this resort was great for our kids and had plenty of activities right here on site.

A few tips --- go to Foodland grocery store in the Ala Moana mall or the Walmart to load up on groceries. They are much cheaper there than the ABC Store on site. Next, if the weather is cool --- forget the pools because they limit the amount of people in the hot tubs and you cannot even get in. This was frustrating! A resort this size should have more hot tubs! Also, pool chairs are scarce!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we were glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    283
    82
    25
    16
See reviews for
477
159
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Rented a 2 bd/2 bath condo which was on the 12th floor and faced the ocean. The unit was beautiful - well maintained and clean. Beds and linens were great and the unit had all the necessary amenities. Would have preferred to be higher up as the complex hosts the nightly luau on the roof of the building next door. You can actually watch and hear the whole luau almost every night. Granted, the luau started early and ended early but it was a bit annoying if you were trying to have that late afternoon nap. The complex is huge but is well appointed. Lots of shops and restaurants on site. There were a couple of ABC stores either in the complex or very close which was perfect for quick pick ups of water/beverages. Location is at the very end of Waikiki beach but the beach is beautiful. Quite a bit quieter than down closer to the Westin Surfrider area. There are lots of places to rent umbrellas and chairs close by, but if you walk down just a little bit, the prices drop. It is close enough to walk down to the main drag, shops and International Market Place. It's also close enough to walk to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre. The beach was so beautiful we never spent any time at the pool but whenever we walked by it seemed to be very busy. We only ate in the complex one night and ordered from the pizza place and we found it to be quite expensive ($80 for pizza?) but it tasted good (but not $80 good).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the GW in a 2 bedroom Premier with ocean view. To say the least this room was fabulous. The service by the staff was incredible. If we needed something it was brought to the room in no time. You could spend a week in the village itself and never get bored or run out of things to do. Food is pricey, but it is Hawaii and we found ways to save. We went to the ABC store and bought breakfast items and a case of water. There is a corner cafe across the street that you could get a reasonable breakfast.
Overall, this was a very good vacation that in part was due to the hospitality of the Village staff. I dont think we ever ran into an unfriendly staffer.
Due to flight delays we needed to stay one more night and HGVC was very easy to work with as we moved right back into the room that we had checked out of.
Thank you HGVC and Hilton Hawaiian Village!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I first visited HHV in 1972, since then more an more guest towers have been build and less and less of the 22 acres is open space. If you go out for a walk around 6 AM it's a wonderful experience, after 8 AM it's like Times Squre at New Years. The pools are crowded, and with more people and few options for meals the wait times are longer, and there are fewer seats per property capacity to have a drink and relax. Need to Change the name to HIlton Hawaiian CITY Towers, and from what I was told there will be 2 more build in the next 5 years. The Luau I went to 40 years ago around the lagoon is now held on top of high rise parking structure surrounded by guest towers. The view is not worth the $100+ per person cost. The ABC stores are like 7-11's and there are about 2 dozen within a 10 minute walk, prices go down as you walk away from the resort properties. Waikiki is a crowded place these days. I was on a promotional package for Hilton Grand Vacations for the 6 days I was there, so I paid half price, which I found to be a good value, I would not pay full price for my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Front Office Manager at Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to Waikiki as well as on the many occasions over the past 40 years. Thank you also for taking time to express your invaluable opinion regarding your recent stay with us.

Here at the Hilton Hawaiian Village we are constantly increasing staff and training to better assist and service our guests and owners, however, as the population of Honolulu has increased over three fold in the last 40 years, and our tourist population of Hawaii has increased to over 7 million a year, we do find that the capacity does have its constraints. To offset the city like feel of Waikiki, we strive to give our guests and owners the best service here on the islands with a variety of restaurants, pools, bars, and the lagoon and ocean to choose from.

I will direct our various departments and managers to increase their presence and to keep their eyes wide open to better assist with any issues of our guests and owners.

Mahalo

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 days here with friends in October, 2012, and we had a fantastic experience. Our unit was lovely, spotless and actually quiet despite the fact that our balcony overlooked the curve in Ala Moana Blvd. We kept our balcony doors open whenever we were at "home", and all of our breakfasts, cocktail hours and even after dinner drinks were consumed out there as the tradewinds kept us cool. Perhaps the fact that we were on the 31st floor had something to do with the quiet and the winds, but it was such a pleasant place to be!
We enjoyed all of the amenities of the Hilton Hawaiian Village complex, especially the main pool and Hau Tree Bar, but we also spent much time off the premises as well. We explored almost all of Oahu using The Bus and a car that we rented for 4 days (and parked in the public lot by the marina), and we discovered that the walk down into the main Waikiki area or to Ala Moana Shopping Center was easy and excellent way to burn off some of those calories we were consuming. We loved shopping in the ubiquitous ABC Stores, and we were rewarded with some free gifts for saving our receipts. The beach in front of the complex is one of the widest and nicest along ALL of Waikiki, and we never had a problem finding a place for our towel there.
We had a small issue with our dryer door falling off! that was quickly and efficiently resolved by one of the nicest maintenance people I have ever encountered. He even recommended a local's restaurant for dinner that turned out to be one of our favorites.
We loved Honolulu and its energy, history and beauty, the Grand Waikikian and being in Hawaii. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Remember you are on a resort- by the end of my trip I told several guests the travel tips. FIRST- there is a public lot behind the hotel. $10 for 12 hours- also if you don't like a $100 plus for a luau on the roof-and $62.50 a kid - try Germaine's or Paradise Cove- We did Germaines for $50 a person(Use Hawaiian discount.com for coupon- the concierge doesn't tell you that- It was on the beach(not a roof)- beach was beautiful and it included 3 adult drinks a ticket too-food was great-get the beef- entertainment a little vegasy but fun- very interactive with the audience- the location wasn't that nice to get too so next time I would either do the cultural center(no drinks) or Paradise Cove. OH best restaurant in Hawaii is Ted's Bakery- on the North Shore go for lunch and buy a few dishes - you will thank me- but don't blame me if you come back a little heavier!

Room Tip: the higher the better- we were on the 18th floor-pretty good view of the strip and could see the Oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. clean, beautiful, we lacked for nothing! I Hop was across the street for a quick breakfast and the Outback Steak House was one block to the left and the steak was great! 2 ABC stores were a quick walk away for grocery purchases. The grounds were breath taking

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy the Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool. Accommodations include One and Two-Bedroom Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.