We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, BUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Save Saved
You added Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Offer
Ranked #24 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, BUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Hotel is extremely beautiful and very classy. The rooms are fantastic - everything is brand new/modern, very spacious, and SO clean We had a one bedroom on the 28th floor mountain/city view. We were there as part of a timeshare exchange, but we only stayed for four days. Whenever we needed anything - especially clean towels, they were right there with them, at no charge. The only time we heard traffic was when we sat on our balcony, we were never disturbed while the sliding door was closed. We were treated to a nice little gift basket on our arrival for our honeymoon- really nice - above and beyond! Check in was a little slow - but extremely friendly. The valet and bellman were also very friendly. Improvements needed with concierge: two employees were very hard to approach and took time to "warm up" to us. When giving directions they acted as if we knew where we were, pointed, and rushed us along. And when I asked for opinions on restaurants for dinner - He abruptly pointed out the restaurant on site - which is probably a great restaurant, but I wanted personal/local advice and options. Then he handed me a magazine and said look at these restaurants. So I figured out our place to eat that night - and it turned out brilliant (might have to do a review on the Westin Surfrider restaurant!) For a snorkeling trip I was directed to a lovely young women at the inside office concierge - she was a doll - wish I got her name. So maybe go to the office concierge and not the concierge desks along the hallway?
The turtle snorkel trip was great! Right at the Hilton pier - great staff, and we got to see turtles. AND it's only a one and a half hour trip! Which is great for a quick little trip right off shore, doesn't take up the entire day.
Ok, read everyone elses reviews, it's a large resort. Lots of walking - its part of the Hilton Village. But close to a great little outdoor shopping area. The lagoon is freezing, couldn't get in, and the sand is really rough on the feet- but it's man made. Not enough Pools for the size of the resort and not enough chairs-the kind of hotel to get up early and get your chair. I abolutely refuse to do that. The Tapa pool was closed during our stay. Towels are awful!! Little little towels, and worn out. I think they should update these. And the one hot tub - close to the grand waikikian, closes at 7 PM - WAY too early!!!! That was a bummer.
The beach on the Hilton side is cramped - and they charge something like $36 for beach chairs and umbrellas. I would just go down a little past Tropics and sit on the beach there - seemed MUCH less crowded. Tropics - great apps and happy hour music/band!
I think this is not good for couples looking for romance- crammed up with families. Even in October. And I personally didn't enjoy Waikiki, especially on a honeymoon. Great to see the beach, diamond head, and have a great dinner and late night in the city, but one day/night was enough for me (I live in Philadelphia, I'm over the city vibe - but others look for that type of action with things at least being open late). Was easy to walk around - no choice, couldn't get a cab on the street! Great walkway along the beach from Hilton down past many properties, and lit up at night. And an awesome sunset - one of the best we were able to see. For a more relaxing time for couples I recommend the North Shore. We rented a car for a day and headed up there (about an hour drive) - it was amazing! And Pearl Harbor is very close also - the main reason we came to visit Oahu.
Overall - Not one complaint about the room - great accomodations! And most of the staff was extremely friendly!! Just decide if you want city atmosphere, lots of walking, and many families. The atmosphere of this hotel (Grand W) is certainly high end and classy! It's a shame they rely on the Hilton Village for ammenities - that's where things go down hill just a little.

Room Tip: Higher is better to help avoid traffic noise. I thought the elevator ride was pretty quick, not muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    204
    65
    18
    15
See reviews for
363
117
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This resort is disappointing. To go to any swimming pool, we had to go down 23 floors, walk through two to three lobbies, up to100 yards to relax in a pool or jacuzzi.
We are actual HGVC owners and decided to come to Honolulu for the first ime.
This will be our last time in Honolulu. We "spent" extra points for a Premier room. However, the view which was billed as an Ocean View, should have been called an Ocean Peak.
The rooms are very nice and well appointed, but, since they are new, they are smaller than the other towers, and have less desirable views.
We just checked in today, so I guess our disappointment shows! Is a pool and a Jacuzzi with an available lounge chair too much to ask?

Room Tip: If you have children in the party, choose another tower. It will be bigger and have a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your most recent trip to Waikiki. We are concerned that your stay was a disappointment to you and hope that on your next visit we can meet your expectations and match your desires with your room category, tower and pool proximity. In the Hilton Hawaiian Village we have a total of 7 towers, 4 pools open now, with our Super Pool undergoing renovation (opening soon) to make it an even better experience for our guests. For ocean swimming guests, we have our protected lagoon, and for those more adventuresome, we have Waikiki Beach with the waves, turtles and other sea life.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Mahalo

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at the new tower Grand Waikikian. Nice, but no fitness center. Had to walk over to the Kalia tower. Not a great facility. Crowded at any time. Stale air from lack of adequate ventilation.. Nice kitchen in room. But why the tub in the bedroom? Water in the pools and lagoon was too chilly.
Very crowded on the grounds and they have another tower on the drawing board.
Street noise on Ala Moana Blvd was deafening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilliwack
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We decided to go to Hawaii for our 40th anniversary and thought we were fortunate to be able to stay at the Grand Waikikian. The suite were absolutely beautiful but that was where it all ended. We had wanted to cook some of our meals in the suite which we did but they only had four plates, forks, cups, 4 towels, 4 face clothes etc.. So the dishwasher and washer/dryer was going all the time and for a resort that encourages their guest to save water and energy it was a joke. We had wanted to make breakfast in the suite but there was no egg flipper and when I called they stated that they did not provide them and that I could go and buy one. Great rice cooker though.
We travel a lot and I am used to getting nickeled and dimed by resorts but i was in for a shock when they $25.00 and fifty dollar you to death. $25.00 a day for parking and if you did not valet park you had to park a faie distance away from the entrance to the hotel. If this wasn't enough the charged you 16.00 for a chair on the beach and $30.00 for an umbrella.
We were ignored by most staff and was even glared at by one while the Japanese guest were treated royally. We sat and watched as the staff lavished Asian guest ahead of us with leis, chocolate and beach bags. We got one box of chocolate. When I said something they reluctantly gave us a couple of things.
I felt that I was being tolerated and not welcomed by the majority of staff. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village as the destination for your 40th anniversary and for taking time to give your input regarding your most recent stay. We were delighted to have you as a guest at our resort and would very much like to improve upon the services you experienced while here.

Every member of our team wants to ensure that our guests are leaving our resort feeling extremely satisfied. To ensure that your experiences are indeed resolved and not allowed to be experienced by other members and guests, I will forward your concerns to appropriate department heads to review with their team.

On behalf of the entire resort team, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your input to us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you as a guest at our resort.

Mahalo,
Shiho Natori
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We only stayed 2 nights but the room was fantastic, kitchen well equipped and bedroom & bathroom clean and comfortable.
The Hilton Hawaiian Village is a bit out of the way & it is a 10 minute walk to get to the beginning of the Waikiki action but that didn't worry us.
The Tropics Bar and Grill had a fantastic small band playing & my only criticism would be that they stopped playing at 8:30 on our last night - I could have listened to them for a lot longer.
Altogether a great experience

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

First and foremost what a beautiful setting: Diamond Beach!! Very close to the airport but not too close, GW has an ideal location for bars restaurants boardwalk activities and of course the beach. There are a few very good restaurant in and around and a few bars as well! The room was a pretty good size suite with master bedroom and a seperate bedroom with two twin beds. Each room has it's own bathroom which is always a must! Amenities were very nice, full kitchen and washer and dryer and a quaint little balcony!!

After checking out, you can leave your things on the 8th floor Hilton member's area and enjoy another day at the beach. That level has full bathroom showers changing rooms and food and drinks for guests that are leaving that day: very practical!

Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Do some groceries and save yourself A LOT of money from tourist trap restaurants around the hotel:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days and were very happy with our room upgrade ocean view and room quality. We enjoyed days on the beach, excellent food at Tropics Bar and Grill, and just walking around the grounds. The resort is beautiful in every way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy the Grand Waikikian™ Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool. Accommodations include One and Two-Bedroom Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Waikikian Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.