We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover Hawaii Tour” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Hawaii Tours

Discover Hawaii Tours
Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96830 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
(808) 690-9050
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$93*
and up
Ranked #42 of 356 Activities in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Discover Hawaii Tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Picked up late, had to change bus unnecessarily when the guides headset wasn't working. Missed our slot on the film and memorial rota, abandoned by the guide when returned for pickup and had to wait on another guide to complete the tour. Our half day tour turned into a full day of delays.
Completely overpriced

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Mahalo for joining us on a tour and thank you for your feedback. We continually strive to deliver the best tour experience possible to each and every guest, and we are sorry you had this experience. Kindly let us know what day you toured with us so we may address this. We value your time, business and feedback. Please direct message us at jackie@discoverhawaiitours.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,097
    267
    84
    64
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
1 review
“Saw everything and more in 1 1/2 days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This was my wife and I and two sons first trip to Hawaii. We felt it was important to learn and see as much as we could of Oahu before going into resort mode.
We did the afternoon tour of Pearl Harbor. To say that it was a moving experience would not begin to give it justice. Additionally, our tour guide Will was knowledgable, friendly, and extremely passionate relating information to us. According to our 11 year old son he was the bomb.com.
The very next day we did the full day Eco tour of Oahu. Others have already reported about the beauty and variety of stops on this tour. Nancy was our guide and a true professional.
It was a very full day and a half, but it would have taken us a week to be able to get to all of these stops without all of the insight. I would recommend either or both of these tours to first time visitors.
TJ - Pittsburgh

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We are happy to know that Will took good care of you and your family on your Pearl Harbor tour, and that you elected to tour with us again for the eco tour with Nancy. It was our pleasure to take you along and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked a trip to Pearl Harbor and the boat was having brief mechanical issues. Keep in mind this was the only reason we flew in for the day. The company was rude and was not willing to work with us in any way. They had no contingency plan for this type of issue and ultimately said there was nothing they could do.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Mahalo for joining us on a tour and thank you for your feedback. We continually strive to deliver the best tour experience possible to each and every guest, and we are truly sorry the boat was having mechanical issues. Kindly let us know what day you toured with us so we may address this. We value your time, business and feedback. Please direct message us at jackie@discoverhawaiitours.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I cannot recommend this tour enough. I took the pearl harbour and circle island tour which makes for a long, but hugely enjoyable day. Our tour guide was Maurice and he was personable and friendly, but above all he went out of his way to ensure everyone had a great time. Maurice was very knowledgable and had an excellent sense of humour. For young women travelling alone I highly recommend this tour. I got to see around the whole island and felt really safe.
To top it all off I left my sunhat on the bus and the company was super friendly and helpful and had the hat returned to me quick smart. Thanks so much for a great tour!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We are happy to know that Maurice took good care of you on your Pearl Harbor and Circle Island tour. It was our pleasure to take you along and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Day of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Having been warned many tours are a tourist trap, we didn't know what to expect. We were So Glad that was wrong with Discover Hawaii Tours. Nancy was personable, knowledgeable and treated all of us as family. Amazed with all of the activities jammed packed in the day. Highlights included lunch on an island at Kualoa Ranch, macadamia nut farm(with Lots of samples!) and Waimea Falls Park. Seems expensive but Well Worth it! Highly recommended. Be prepared for a Full day as we didn't return until 7:30pm.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We are happy to know that Nancy took good care of you on your tour. It was our pleasure to take you along and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Hawaii Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.