We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Hawaii Tours

Discover Hawaii Tours
Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96830 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
(808) 690-9050
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$93*
and up
Ranked #43 of 355 Activities in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We came from Australia and we were uncertain of the best way to tour the Pearl Harbour sites and also what tour to take to see the island .We looked around and decided to take two tours with Discover Hawaii Tours. Our experience was first class. We had two different drivers on each tour.
Christine looked after us on the Pearl Harbour tours and we had a great day. Seeing the four sites means that there is not a lot of time to see everything but it was well very managed and we very well looked after.
We then took the Circle Island tour with Nancy and she could not have been more helpful. As a nervous traveller Nancy allowed me to sit in the front of the bus with her and she looked after me all day. We stopped at all the regular sites and a few extras as well. The unexpected stop at the roadside fruit stall was the best pineapple I ever tasted. The Polynesian Cultural Centre and the Byodo-In Temple were highlights.
I recommend Discover Hawaii Tours as our drivers and the experience was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for joining us from Australia! Travelling can be a nerve-racking experience, and we're so glad Nancy made you feel comfortable. We want to make sure you're as comfortable as possible so you can enjoy all Hawaii has to offer without worrying about anything else. We can't wait to see you again!

P.s. thank you for sharing your gorgeous pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,091
    264
    84
    64
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Wild West
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We took the "Ultimate Circle Island Eco Adventure" tour with Discover Hawaii Tours in March. Our guide, John B was exceptional. He kept us entertained for almost 10 hours, while driving us around the island in a mini-bus, stopping at many places and beaches along the way. His knowledge of the island's history, culture, legends and current affairs was awesome and he was a masterful storyteller. Some of the stops we made were to tour a botanical garden, purchase fresh fruit from a road side stand, take a boat ride to a secret beach where we ate a bag lunch,drive up to a high altitude look-out, walk through a Japanese temple, take a drive through Punchbowl Cemetery, and stop to see the exterior of Iolani palace. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and learned a lot..

We also did the "Complete Pearl Harbor Experience" tour with a different guide from Discover Hawaii Tours. His explanations for how things would flow between each segment of the tour were somewhat confusing, but after some discussion with fellow travelers, we all managed to be at the right place at the right time, and experienced everything that was included. It was an excellent, comprehensive tour of the whole area. I am claustrophobic and was apprehensive about going down into the Bowfin submarine. However, I managed to assert mind over matter, and was glad I did. The spaces were very compact, and the thought of being down there, underwater, and under attack during wartime, was terrifying. The Arizona memorial was solemn and thought provoking, and the tour of the "Mighty MO" (Missouri battleship) was very interesting. I highly recommend the complete tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Aloha! What beautiful pictures you took during your time on the island, and thank you for sharing them with us. It sounds like you experienced a number of our favorite activities, and we cannot wait to have you back again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, GA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor and Pacific Memorial tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Taking part in the tour garunteed us a ticket for the memorial which is first come first served. However... the day was entirely too rushed. There wasn't enough time given to explore all of the museums, the Memorial, and USS Missouri.
In my opinion - the time the driver took showing everyone the birthplace, school, and such of the president would have been better served touring the museums!
Driver was very courteous of all passengers, but if you're looking for a 'personal' or 'in-depth' tour-guide, this is not what you're looking for. The driver has a script (understandable) and there isn't a lot of time allowed for questions.
I felt the tour was a little over-priced for what was provided... With a GPS, and a little pre-planning to know that you need to arrive early for tickets, we could have had a more relaxing day to spend more time at the things we would have enjoyed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing Pearl Harbor and Downtown Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not complete the tour as described.
We did not get onto the boat to the Arizona as the navy called off trip due to weather. What was unfortunate our Discover Hawaii driver did not verify that all of his passengers for the 11 am movie showing were on the boat to the Arizona immediately after the movie finished had he have stayed on site he would have known we all were going to be stuck on site for another two hours without option of getting away.
We called their office, and whilst the operator was pleasant she did not seem to believe my story and was asking if i want to cancel the rest of our tour if so they will send a driver to take us back to our hotel.
The company finally sent a new bus and driver and gave us a modified downtown tour which is not what we had paid for, the guide had no idea .
Unfortunately have to say my party of 6 is extremely disappointed in not having the tour as advertised.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Little late in this review!! We took our tour for Pearl Harbor with Discover Hawaii. Our Tour guide was "Cousin Kevin" He made all the downtown time of traveling to and from hotel comical. He really knew the area and we got a nice history lesson on the tour! Would recommend them for this tour :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Mahalo for letting us guide you through this very special site. We don't doubt "Cousin Kevin" made the ride entertaining and educational. We look forward to seeing you on another tour soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Hawaii Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.