We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perl harbor tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Hawaii Tours

Discover Hawaii Tours
Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96830 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
(808) 690-9050
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$93*
and up
Ranked #42 of 356 Activities in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perl harbor tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We made an overnight stay in Waikiki and did the morning Pearl Harbor tour with Discover Hawaii. We were picked up at the Marriott on time at 6.15 am. Our driver Javier (from Peru) was very knowledgeable and explained everything along the way.
Must do if you are in Honolulu.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,097
    267
    84
    64
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor & Oahu North Shore Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is does not look a bad option if you only have one day to visit the most you can of the island of Oahu: you get picked up at your hotel, it includes Pearl Harbor tickets, food and you have a guide. The price was reasonable and the list of things to visit is almost too good... but here it is the trick: they run you around only stopping 10 minutes maximum in beaches and lookouts... but make you waste your time in shops.

When the brochure says that you will visit the Dole Pineapple Plantation and a Coffee & Macadamia Nuts plantation it means that you cross it with the mini bus, they drop you off at the shop and make you stay there around 30 minutes. That is how they make the money... There is no proper visit or guided tour of the plantation...

When the brochure says that you will visit Jurassic Park and Pearl Harbor film locations it means that they tell you while in the bus that those films and others were filmed in the island.

The guide was a good hearted and very resourceful hawaiian guy but it was difficult to understand him some times in the microphone.

I'd rather rent a car and drive around with a good travel guide. It will be cheaper and more satisfactory.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We would like to offer some feedback regarding your review.

We have spent many years determining the appropriate amount of time to spend at each stop. There are many factors that are involved, and the allotted time allows guests to take pictures, enjoy the scenery and still make it to every stop throughout the day. Many of our guests use our Circle Island Tours to familiarize themselves with the island, and return to the locations of the liking later in their vacation.

We do not make any money off of the stops at Dole and Tropical Farms. These stops are designed to show guests the agriculture that is grown in Hawaii, and so that our guests can sample the delicious assortment of goodies.

There are a number of movie film locations around Oahu, and the most popular filming location is Kualoa Ranch. This is where your lunch stop occurred, and there are movie film locations at the location where we eat lunch.

We are always happy to hear compliments towards our tour guides, and thank you for that and it should be known that the issue with the audio has been addressed. We would also like to point out that this tour is far less expensive than renting a car, purchasing a travel guide, filling the car with gas, purchasing lunch and navigating the often confusing roads of Oahu.

We thank you for choosing Discover Hawaii Tours, and hope that you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Waste of money and time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We paid to be collected at 11am for a tour of Pearl Harbour... We were picked up 25 minutes late and then had to wait while the rest of the passengers were collected so by the time we reached Pearl Harbour we were way behind schedule. The entire time we were there was so rushed we did not have time to see anything properly. The really sad part was that the Navy cancelled the boat trip across to the Memorial because of the weather conditions which to all of us appear to be flat calm so that was very frustrating. We were supposed to be collected at 4.15 but due to bad traffic the guide did not get back until 4.45 so the remainder of the tour was rushed also a 2 minute stop to take photos at the palace zoomed up to punch bowl cemetery and that was it. Wished we had known about booking free tickets on Internet and would have gone there by public transport and spent hours there instead of being so disappointed with this trip. Others in the bus felt exactly as we did and not surprisingly no one tipped the guide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha,

We would like to offer some feedback to your review. While we are happy to address concerns with our tours, the concerns that you have brought up are largely due to outside factors, and not your experience with Discover Hawaii Tours.

The tour that you are speaking of begins at 11:35am, not 11:00am as you have incorrectly stated. Your tour and the pick-up time were correct, but because of the size and the distance of hotels in Waikiki, we must conduct some of our hotel pick-ups with our guests on board.

As it is stated on our website, brochures and confirmation letters, the USS Arizona Memorial is operated by the US Navy, and Discover Hawaii Tours has no control over the ferry boat, or boarding of the Memorial. If weather conditions are deemed unsafe, there is nothing that we can do about that.

It is also important to remember that the traffic in Honolulu is among the worst in the country, and we do experience delays in returning to Waikiki from time to time. Again, this is entirely out of our control. However, this did not affect your tour in any way. The visit to Punchbowl National Cemetery is a drive-through only, and tour companies are not permitted to stop inside the cemetery. Also, the stop at the King Kamehameha the Great Statue is for pictures of the statue only, and not to visit the surrounding structures. We make this stop so that our guests are familiar with the location, and can return later if they wish.

Lastly, tickets on the Internet are left over from the preferred ticketing companies, like Discover Hawaii Tours. We are afforded first selection of tickets, and often times, tickets are sold out entirely by the time the general public is given the opportunity to select their tickets.

We are disappointed to hear that you chose not to tip your tour guide, as it is customary to tip when a service is provided, whether it be on a tour or in a restaurant.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Encyclopedic knowledge of Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I did a group tour of Pearl Harbor and circle island of Oahu. Our guide, John, was very professional and had very in depth knowledge of the Islands. He kept us on schedule, and gave great information as we went. Just to note - these are not leisurely tours. They keep you moving from spot to spot and you end up seeing (and learning!) a ton, but its a long day. The only negative feedback I would give is that lunch was poor. It's a boxed lunch and nothing special. I think it would be a nice touch to dine at a local restaurant and I would have given up a stop on the tour to do that. Otherwise it was great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour. We love receiving feedback from our guests, especially when our guides are mentioned.

To address your concerns about lunch: we are constantly working to improve our tours and the feedback regarding lunch is very valuable to us. Our local restaurant partner is a valued partner, and they prepare the lunches fresh each day. We will look into the reasons why your lunch may have not been up to standards.

Thank you again for choosing Discover Hawaii Tours. We hope you had the best vacation in Hawaii, and look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURBAGE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor Battleships of World War 11”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked this half day tour for a 6am pickup from our overnight hotel as we were joining a cruise ship in the afternoon. The visit to Pearl Harbor was excellent and included a film about the lead up to the attack on Pearl Harbor and then a Navy operated Launch out to the USS Arizona Memorial. After free time to visit the other memorials and museums the bus then took us to the Battleship Missouri for a short guided tour the free time to wonder over the ship and see what it was like below decks. If you are in Honolulu and have not already been there this is a must do trip. Just one thing to careful of, if you are being collected double check they have the correct name of the Hotel (we didn't and after several phone calls were finally picked up 1 Hour late).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Hawaii Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.