We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl Harbor USS Arizona” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours

Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours
Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96830 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
800-946-4432
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #38 of 281 activities in Honolulu
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pearl Harbor USS Arizona”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The tour it self was very interesting. Unfortunately high winds cancelled our trip by boat out to the USS Arizona. Very unfortunate. Discover Hawaii, obviously a third party provider to a national park, didn't really care about trying to get us back out there so that we could actually try and complete our tour. Remember Pearl Harbor is a National Park controlled and regulated by the government. Walk in tickets to the Arizona Memorial can be picked up for free on a first come first serve basis or purchased in advance for around $8. If you have means, rental car or taxi, the more economical way is to just go ahead and take care of the transportation yourself. If you feel more comfortable paying marked up rates to have a bus and tour guide drive you around town then by all means go that route.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Aloha RR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We would like to offer some feedback to your comments.

Disclaimers on our website and brochures state that any cancellations to the USS Arizona Memorial are out of our control, which you have recognized. However, we cannot simply divert a tour in the event that the USS Arizona Memorial reopens at a later time. Our tours are only guaranteed to visit Pearl Harbor, and the USS Arizona Memorial is not a guaranteed portion of the tour, exactly for the reason that you have stated. The US NAVY is in full-control of the ferry boat.

Tickets to the USS Arizona Memorial are given out on a first-come, first-served basis, but pleae be aware that tickets are limited to a set number each day, and usually are gone before 8:00am. With the recent Government cutbacks, tickets have been reduced, and are even harder to come by than before. Discover Hawaii Tours enjoys preferred ticketing with Pearl Harbor, and we are able to reserve tickets ahead of tour date. The tickets available online to the public are what is left over after we have taken our tickets for any given day.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your tour, and hope that you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,958
    239
    76
    58
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a private tour set up by the concierge at our hotel. She worked hard to get us the tour we wanted for 9 of us. We decided to do a modified "Ultimate Circle Island Oahu Eco-Adventure Tour". Our tour guide, Bob, was fabulous. He new the history of the Islands, every plant and tree and animal on the island and where they came from. He made our trip fun and educational. I highly recommend Discover Hawaii Tours and especially Bob.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Had no choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

So, since I booked really late, the only way that I could get tickets to see the Arizona in Pearl Harbor was to book a full tour. That said,if I had booked Arizona tickets ahead of time, we would have just rented a Jeep for the day and toured ourselves. We spent a little time at Pearl Harbor, but we would have spent much more had we rented a car. So much to see there. We did the Polynesian Cultural Center, which was fabulous and we could have spent much more time there, too. My kids loved that part the most. The parade was great - wish we had seen each "village." The Byodo-In Temple was beautiful. The beaches we stopped at were great, but since we couldn't wear swimsuits, we couldn't swim. The Dole Plantation was a let down tourist trap - and free to get in, btw. Didn't know that there was a train around the plantation until it was too late to take it. The tour guide himself, though, was great and informative and interesting! He was Hawaiian and we learned a whole lot about Hawaii, which I enjoyed so much. He pointed out sights and kept a running commentary. But we drove a lot. The buffet food was okay - the atmosphere was great. We got dropped off at the airport 2 hours ahead of time, so a lot of wasted time there. If you can get Pearl Harbor tickets, just go it alone. This was an expensive day, for sure, but worth it to see Pearl Harbor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Pearl Harbor and North Shore package was SUPERB value for money and our guide, Nanci, was SIMPLY THE BEST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This tour has SO much in it! It is a great way to see some of the most important places on Oahu! If you can do the package that includes the South Shore as well, then you would have basically covered a majority of the highlights of Oahu! Nanci, our tour guide made this trip the best for us! She was so knowledgable, helpful and enthusiastic! Her love for this island which she moved to 40+ years ago shows in everything she does! Her day-long commentary was informative, valuable and never got boring! At the end of the day, we felt so looked after, that we feel we made a friend whom we would love to see the island with again the next time we are back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor Memorial and Honolulu City Tour/Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although my husband and I planned out our 3 week vacation to the Hawaiian islands well (we have been traveling with our 3 children as well...two 10 year olds and one 6 year old) we forgot to get Pearl Harbor tickets in advance on the government website! Since our last island was Oahu and we were there for 4th of July week -- we could no longer get tickets on the site.

The next option was to arrive at Pearl Harbor at 6AM and wait in line and hope that we could get tickets. No thanks. But, we felt this was a very important part of the trip for our children (my husband and I had already been to Pearl Harbor).

So, the last option was to find a tour company who does the work for you. It does cost money but you don't have to wait hours in line, etc.

For this tour -- it cost about $199 for the 5 of us. We were on a large bus (not the small Discover Hawaii buses) and it was fine. I'll admit we are not fans of tours - we like to adventure ourselves, but, I'm glad we did this - it turned out very well.

Our guide was Matt on Sunday morning and he was charming but a bit tired (he mentioned it was supposed to be his day off). But, he knew a lot and pointed out all of the fun TV filming locations and everything about Punch Bowl, various government buildings, etc. On this tour -- downtown is just drive through -- no stopping for pictures of the Royal Palace or King Kamehameha's statue, etc.

I do recommend this tour for the knowledge of the tour guide and the ease of getting into the USS Arizona Memorial.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha LewisTexas-

Thank your for taking the time to review your tour. We are very happy to hear that your family enjoyed the tour. We hope that your trip to Hawaii was wonderful, and would love to see you again should you return to the Islands.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Discover Hawaii Tours - Private Day Tours to your Saves list