We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast

J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
P.O. Box 25907, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Honolulu B&B and Inns
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here with the two lovely owners. The dogs are characters with personalities of their own.

The breakfast was wonderful, lots of fresh local fruit and every day we had a different set of beautiful dishes to look at. It is a very quiet location even though it is next to a main street. There is a large private deck and you could hear the wind in the distance, very peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The house is located in a very scenic neighborhood with mountains in the northern and eastern directions. It is a 20 minute drive from here to Wikiki. So you need car. The hosts Joan & Barbara are very sweet ladies. Rooms are very clean with excellent ventilation.and lighting. Laundry could be a problem but with a little planning this could be solved. I found a public laundry close to a restaurant so that the laundry operation can be synchronized with dining and thus solved the problem. Breakfast was awesome with lots of coffee, fruits, muffins, cheese etc. With such a diverse variety of options none should have any complaints about it unless they are a panda with a very special diet of bamboo shoots. Barbara was very sweet and if I happened to miss breakfast she used to put some for me in the refrigerator. Also I was very late for breakfast once and both Joan and Barbara were waiting patiently and did not even show any signs of annoyance and were very gentle. I love this place and the hosts and if I have to come back to Hawaii - I will most certainly come back to this place. Staying with Barbara and Joan is like staying with a very close friend. By-the-way Joan makes a tapioca pudding which tastes like manna from heaven.
I miss you both, Barbara & Joan! Enjoyed the breakfast conversations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at J and B's in Hawaii Kai for 8 days and strongly recommend it for anyone going to Honolulu who will have a car and is not determined to be on the beach. Barbara and Joan have two rooms available, both on the first floor. We were in the larger room, with king bed and all the amenities one could want. Breakfast is more or less the same each day, but that is not a bad thing. Plenty of fresh fruit, cereal, a variety of cheeses, excellent choice of jams, etc. The hosts go out of their way to be sure guests are satisfied, and we certainly were. The location is about 20 minutes from Waikiki, in Hawaii Kai, which suited us because we were visiting family nearby.

Room Tip: The larger room, which we had, has AC. We didn't need it, but in warmer months it would come in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Spurred on by other reviews, we booked 4 nights but left after 2. Accom is in a private house owned by two elderly Brits. The "welcome" was unfriendly and we didn't like the list of rules left by the bed. Our room was cramped, the drawers would not open as the chest was inside the closet. Blown lightbulbs, lace doilies and fringed lightshades in a cluttered environment. Getting info on road closures (Honolulu Marathon) was like drawing hen's teeth! Too far away from places to eat meant one of us couldn't have a glass of wine with dinner. Shame about the breakfast - seems the guests (who eat with the Innkeepers) can only eat what the house likes. Didn't like sharing the kitchen/diner with animals. We felt we were constantly in trouble for breaking house rules.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I loved Joan and Barbara. Their room was super clean, including the separate toilet room and separate bath/shower and counter area. The breakfasts were fantastic - fresh fruits of all sorts, bagels, toast, coffee in abundance, cheeses of all sorts and friendly conversation. I would certainly return and stay there again. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, U.S.A
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We recently spent four nights at this bed and breakfast in Hawaii Kai. I can't add anything to guests' comments about the helpful hosts Joan and Barbara, the large, lovely, clean room, the ample breakfast with its array of fruits and cheeses, and their adorable dogs. However, I do want to address the issue that one reviewer raised about hearing the hosts' TV at night since we nearly didn't go to this B&B after reading that comment. It is clear that as good innkeepers, Joan and Barbara took note of this comment and have remedied this problem by using ear phones when they watch TV. Consequently, we didn't hear a sound, even though we were frequently in bed between 9-10p.m.

As a result, we had the tranquility both inside and outside the house that we came for. Our stay was delightful and we will certainly return there on any future trip to Oahu.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Joan and Barbara were great hostesses! The rates are very reasonable, the location and room excellent, the shower hot every time! A very traditional bed and breakfast where you sit for breakfast with your hostesses and other guests at 8:00 sharp (arrangements can be made for earlier breakfasts). My wife and I very much enjoyed the quiet setting and exceptional hospitality for our first visit to the islands.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 25907, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
j And b`s Haven Hotel Honolulu
j And b`s Haven b&b
J And B's Haven Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J and B's Haven Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.