We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff - great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff - great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I loved the location of the hotel. We could walk wherever we needed to go. The bar, pool and Jimmy Buffets were all nice. Macy's downstairs, International Market around the corner and beach across the street. Staff were super friendly. When I left my mini-wallet with cash, ID and a credit card by the computers, it was returned to me all in tact - cash included. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    815
    223
    49
    22
See reviews for
500
608
87
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Stayed 8 days - great housekeeping service, clean and fresh rooms. On a tight budget - this hotel fit perfect. The halls going to the room of the hotel were outdated - but once in the room - it was updated. The main entrance was updated and comfortable. There were still some older visuals in the room - ceiling bathroom and door - but minor when compared to the cleanliness of the room. Fresh linens and comfortable bed. Definitely would stay again. The one drawback was the noise on the main road Kalakaua - power washing the sidewalks or road?? at 5:00-6:00 am. We were on the 5th floor - maybe going higher up would help. Easy 2 blocks to Waikiki beach. Pool and whirlpool clean and enjoyable. Not too busy on the desk usually - unfortunately pool closes at 6:00 pm to serve for the restaurant. Parking attendants were quick at getting the car to us. No problems with parking - costly though @ $20 a night. We rented our car just a couple blocks away at the Enterprise on Sunset. Everything in the room worked great - had wakeup call - they were prompt too. Store in the hotel if you forgot anything - good service - reasonably priced. Used the fitness center a couple times - on the last day there were no disposable ear plugs though and no towels. Equipment worked great - even though the display was not working properly. Overall we enjoyed our stay - it was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We would not ever stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone. Our family booked this trip thru Expedia for our Mother's 70th Birthday Celebration. We all felt like we were treated like second class citizens by this hotel....like "Oh, you booked a cheap trip thru Expedia, then you're going to get a cheap trip." Our mother is wheel-chair bound and the one and only handicapped access was usually blocked by delivery trucks, construction vehicles, etc. Some type of construction was going on at the hotel and we were wakened each morning at 6am with loud banging and vehicle back-up alarms beeping. The hotel did not seem to be anywhere near capacity, but we were told when we asked about being moved away from the noise that we would have to pay an up-charge of between $25 and $50 per day depending on how far away from the noise we moved. Location to beach, restaurants and shopping was good, but couldn't make up for all the other inconveniences.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

To be in the center of everything the OHANA beachcomer is the spot. There are many good resturant in the area including the one in the hotel.Very good shopping in the area.The beach is less than a 5 minute walk accross the street.Free trolley service when you show your hotel key. will stay at the Ohana again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

If you want to be right in the middle of the action stay here. We had a low floor overlooking the air cond but was not noisy when door was closed. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. One of the best hotels to stay in for the money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We had 2 adjoining partial ocean view rooms. They had everything we needed & I consider myself a very 'picky' person. The entire staff was very accomodating as well. (housekeeping, bellmen, registration, restaurant, etc) And, the location of the hotel is within close walking distance to everything! We just couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This was our second time at this hotel. This time we stayed 6 nights, including Christmas day. We love the location, the rooms are comfortable and clean and now there is a restaurant too, which was great. The staff are friendly and helpfull. The only part we did not like was leaving. We would definately revommend this place to anyone and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.