We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay elsewhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Would not stay elsewhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We arrived 11am - 3 hours prior to checkin.We were prepared to just leave our suitcases and go to the beach. But as soon as we arrived at the front desk the lady said our room was ready! After a 10 hour flight we could not have been happier. Check in was very quick and everything was explained. We were in our room within 10 minutes of arrival. We requested an ocean view room when we booked the accommodation and we were not disappointed. The room on the 22nd level was absolutely perfect. Ocean view to one side and city/mountain view to the other. We had 2 double beds which were so comfortable as were the fluffy new pillows! Needless to say we had a perfect nights sleep each night. The location is so central. The area is very safe even late at night which was one of the reasons we wanted a hotel that was on a main street as 3 ladies travelling we did not want to be walking down back streets late at night. There was no noise to be heard from the street below or the International Market construction. The room and bathroom was extremely clean and furnishings were all kept well. The coffee machine was a bonus as we did not have to go downstairs first thing in the morning for a coffee. The coffee supplied was also of good quality. The toiletries supplied were also good quality, the shampoo was good as was the body lotions etc. Generally toiletries supplied at other hotels we have stayed at you would not use to wash your dog in!! Our room was cleaned each morning by "Marilyn G". Each afternoon when we came back to the room was like we had walked into a new room! The bathroom was sparkling and fresh towels each day. Only if all people were as thorough as Marilyn. We happened to come back our room whilst it was still being cleaned, only to find 3 or 4 bottles of cleaning products and disinfectants that Marilyn was using to clean the bathroom and basin area. The room smelt like it was fresh and we knew it was spotless. 100 points to Marilyn. Please pass on our thanks to her.
The staff at the reception were always helpful with whatever we needed throughout our stay of 10 days.The facilities were also kept up to date and clean. The pool area was always clean and tidy. The lifts were really quick to arrive and did not have problems at all. There was a newspaper available each morning. One other thing that I felt was a bonus was that after about 10pm there was a security guard sitting next to the lifts. This was definitely a secure place to stay!
Of course the beach was across the road, cafes, restaurants and shopping all just outside the hotel. Being "shop-a-holics" having Macy's just downstairs was a dream come true!
This is my 4th time in Waikiki and have stayed at other hotels, but I would never go back to them now that we have found the Beachcomber! Thank you to all the staff you have working there as it is obviously a reflection of how good the management is.
Mahalo!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on TripAdvisor. It brings us great pleasure to learn that we were able to accommodate to you after an extremely long flight from Australia. With our central location, it sounds like you found paradise as a true shop-a-holic and it is the most gracious honor to learn that you will not return back to Waikiki without staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Thank you for making a personal recognition to Marilyn as she is a tremendous asset to our Ohana. Mahalo Nui Loa and until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    805
    222
    49
    22
See reviews for
494
596
87
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights and being a travel agent we are picky with things but this property exceeded my expectations, I was expecting a good stay but I got a lot more than that, great property with extremely helpful staff, nice and clean, great location, will definitely be recommending this to anyone going to Oahu,

Before this job I was working in a luxury hotel in Dubai and comparing Beachcomber to those properties I am very happy with the comparison of standards, also make sure to check out Jimmy Buffets down stairs

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the commending words. It is absolutely wonderful to learn that we could exceed your expectations in every way and being mentioned in the same breath of luxury properties in Dubai is an outstanding recognition of our true efforts of service. Gracious Mahalo for the awesome review and we hope to see you here at the Beachcomber should you plan a return visit to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, part of a group. Great clean hotel and will stay here again without hesitation. Right in the heart of Waikiki and opposite the cheesecake factory, Macy's downstairs and Ross Store around the corner. Staff very friendly, and helpful. The sink in my bathroom was blocked, and someone was there within the hour and was fixed and then even left a box of chocolates for the inconvenience. I stayed on the 7 floor, and even though it was right in the heart, the room was nice and quiet at night, and couldn't hear the cars at all. The hotels bar/restaurant Jimmy Buffett's has a fantastic menu and the food was great and fairly cheap! Next time I return, will be happy to stay here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. With our great central location, it really allows our guests to take advantage of the complete Waikiki experience and it is wonderful to learn you were able to do just that. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your sink but do hope you were able to enjoy the delicious chocolates. Mahalo for the wonderful review and we will anticipate your return back to the Beachcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was my third time staying at the Waikiki Beachcomber and I love it and will return again.

I don't have a negative thing to say about this property because every time I have stayed here it has been pleasant and without any issues.

The best thing about this hotel, aside from it's location (right in the centre of Kalakaua Ave, the main drag and opposite the Cheesecake Factory), is the premier bedding and pillows. I have NEVER slept better in any bed in my entire life! It is worth staying here just to get a good nights sleep!

Even the valet parking was easy to use and although it was a tad on the expensive side at $30 USD per night, still worth it because of the convenience of having the car right there when we needed it.

The pool is small, but being so close to the beach, there's really no need to use the pool except those times when you're either too tired to walk across the road!

The other good thing about this property is that they do not charge resort fees unlike some other properties. WiFi is included in the rate and is of a high quality.

One last thing to note is that at the moment there is construction going on right next door at the former International Market Place - not sure how long this will be going on for, but it is quite noisy regardless of which side of the hotel you're on (unless you're facing Kalakaua, then maybe it's not so noisy), which means you cannot leave the balcony door open for fresh air without putting up with lots of noise.

Overall this is the best hotel I have stayed at, and would highly recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor...I prefer the Diamond Head side of the hotel because I love the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the amazing review. It is such a great compliment to be named your favorite hotel in Waikiki and excellent to learn that your best sleep comes from a stay at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. It is absolutely wonderful to know that you can find true comfort during your vacation with us. While we take great pride in our No resort fee property, it is excellent to hear that you took advantage of our standard amenities including free Wi-Fi. Warmest Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great place, very central to everything. Check in very fast and also checkout. Rooms are very nice and great showers, we had the 16th floor and an ocean view. Not happy with breakfast at the Jimmy Buffets diner place, very basic and I thought not very clean really. Not far from the beach. Markets in lane way next door great for shopping. We had breakfast at a place called Seaside bar and grill, not the best looking place from the outside but great food and always busy. Cheesecake Factory across road from hotel is a great place to eat but you cant book a table and could wait a long time to get one, recommend you go at lunch time.

Room Tip: Try not to get one that has a bed that backs onto the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your kind review. We certainly are in a good location! Whether it be shopping, dining or beaches it is all in walking distance from our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your room view and service by our staff. Thanks again and we hope to service you again in the future. A hui ho!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

As apart of a cruise package, my wife and I were booked into the Beachcomber Resort, Holiday Inn, Waikiki. After previously staying in some pretty dodgy accommodation as a component of fly, cruise,accom. packages we were not expecting much. How mistaken. Apart from some issues getting into the room due to 3 cruise ships being in port, the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was on the 22 floor with a balcony view overlooking the main street and beach. The bars (2) were great and the outdoor pool setting beautiful. Accommodation was first class, comfortable bed, large room and air-conditioning that worked. Guest laundry was an added plus and the hotel was close to shops and restaurants. Would not hesitate to recommend to Trip Advisor

Room Tip: Higher the quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good. Able to reuse towels and water saving encouraged.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the wonderful review. We take extreme pride in the level of service we are able to offer our guests and we certainly appreciate the time you have taken to acknowledge this effort. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that we could exceed your expectations and create a "Great stay" Thank you for your patience with our check in and we hope you were able to enjoy a great Hawaiian Cruise. Mahalo for the awesome review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything was great, Platinum Upgrade to extra nice. Concierge desk was a lot of help.
James Speight will not do you wrong. He is the best!!! Go thru him to do your tours. His price
is as good if not better than what you can do on your own. Refuses to take a tip!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 8 thru 12 direct view of the Ocean. The higher the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG rewards Platinum member and it gives us great pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice upgraded room with us. James is truly a master at planning the greatest Hawaii experience for our guests and it is excellent to hear that he did not disappoint. We hope that will return back to the islands soon and we will await your return back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. Warmest Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.