We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, part of a group. Great clean hotel and will stay here again without hesitation. Right in the heart of Waikiki and opposite the cheesecake factory, Macy's downstairs and Ross Store around the corner. Staff very friendly, and helpful. The sink in my bathroom was blocked, and someone was there within the hour and was fixed and then even left a box of chocolates for the inconvenience. I stayed on the 7 floor, and even though it was right in the heart, the room was nice and quiet at night, and couldn't hear the cars at all. The hotels bar/restaurant Jimmy Buffett's has a fantastic menu and the food was great and fairly cheap! Next time I return, will be happy to stay here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. With our great central location, it really allows our guests to take advantage of the complete Waikiki experience and it is wonderful to learn you were able to do just that. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your sink but do hope you were able to enjoy the delicious chocolates. Mahalo for the wonderful review and we will anticipate your return back to the Beachcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    904
    254
    51
    22
See reviews for
562
681
98
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was my third time staying at the Waikiki Beachcomber and I love it and will return again.

I don't have a negative thing to say about this property because every time I have stayed here it has been pleasant and without any issues.

The best thing about this hotel, aside from it's location (right in the centre of Kalakaua Ave, the main drag and opposite the Cheesecake Factory), is the premier bedding and pillows. I have NEVER slept better in any bed in my entire life! It is worth staying here just to get a good nights sleep!

Even the valet parking was easy to use and although it was a tad on the expensive side at $30 USD per night, still worth it because of the convenience of having the car right there when we needed it.

The pool is small, but being so close to the beach, there's really no need to use the pool except those times when you're either too tired to walk across the road!

The other good thing about this property is that they do not charge resort fees unlike some other properties. WiFi is included in the rate and is of a high quality.

One last thing to note is that at the moment there is construction going on right next door at the former International Market Place - not sure how long this will be going on for, but it is quite noisy regardless of which side of the hotel you're on (unless you're facing Kalakaua, then maybe it's not so noisy), which means you cannot leave the balcony door open for fresh air without putting up with lots of noise.

Overall this is the best hotel I have stayed at, and would highly recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor...I prefer the Diamond Head side of the hotel because I love the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the amazing review. It is such a great compliment to be named your favorite hotel in Waikiki and excellent to learn that your best sleep comes from a stay at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. It is absolutely wonderful to know that you can find true comfort during your vacation with us. While we take great pride in our No resort fee property, it is excellent to hear that you took advantage of our standard amenities including free Wi-Fi. Warmest Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great place, very central to everything. Check in very fast and also checkout. Rooms are very nice and great showers, we had the 16th floor and an ocean view. Not happy with breakfast at the Jimmy Buffets diner place, very basic and I thought not very clean really. Not far from the beach. Markets in lane way next door great for shopping. We had breakfast at a place called Seaside bar and grill, not the best looking place from the outside but great food and always busy. Cheesecake Factory across road from hotel is a great place to eat but you cant book a table and could wait a long time to get one, recommend you go at lunch time.

Room Tip: Try not to get one that has a bed that backs onto the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your kind review. We certainly are in a good location! Whether it be shopping, dining or beaches it is all in walking distance from our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your room view and service by our staff. Thanks again and we hope to service you again in the future. A hui ho!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

As apart of a cruise package, my wife and I were booked into the Beachcomber Resort, Holiday Inn, Waikiki. After previously staying in some pretty dodgy accommodation as a component of fly, cruise,accom. packages we were not expecting much. How mistaken. Apart from some issues getting into the room due to 3 cruise ships being in port, the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was on the 22 floor with a balcony view overlooking the main street and beach. The bars (2) were great and the outdoor pool setting beautiful. Accommodation was first class, comfortable bed, large room and air-conditioning that worked. Guest laundry was an added plus and the hotel was close to shops and restaurants. Would not hesitate to recommend to Trip Advisor

Room Tip: Higher the quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good. Able to reuse towels and water saving encouraged.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the wonderful review. We take extreme pride in the level of service we are able to offer our guests and we certainly appreciate the time you have taken to acknowledge this effort. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that we could exceed your expectations and create a "Great stay" Thank you for your patience with our check in and we hope you were able to enjoy a great Hawaiian Cruise. Mahalo for the awesome review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything was great, Platinum Upgrade to extra nice. Concierge desk was a lot of help.
James Speight will not do you wrong. He is the best!!! Go thru him to do your tours. His price
is as good if not better than what you can do on your own. Refuses to take a tip!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 8 thru 12 direct view of the Ocean. The higher the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG rewards Platinum member and it gives us great pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice upgraded room with us. James is truly a master at planning the greatest Hawaii experience for our guests and it is excellent to hear that he did not disappoint. We hope that will return back to the islands soon and we will await your return back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. Warmest Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I believe this hotel may be Japanese owned, or if not, they target the Japanese tourists. This didn't bother us, however I do find it rude when reception staff talk Japanese to each other directly in front of us when processing our arrival at reception. Having said that we found this hotel very comfortable. The rooms were much bigger than the Outrigger on the Beach (Waikiki) which we stayed at the week before. This hotel isn't on the beach, however all you have to do is cross the road and walk through an arcade to get to the beach. This location makes it much cheaper than the Outrigger and the rooms are much more comfortable. The only problem we experienced was the live band at the Jimmy Buffett's restaurant downstairs made a lot of noise until 9:30pm. We were on the 7th floor and it was quite loud. As a result we recommend a higher floor. Overall I would recommend this hotel to people who aren't looking for absolute beach frontage. You can see the beach from the balcony and it is only a short walk, so for the price saving this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. While it does sound like you were able to enjoy your stay with us, I do want to apologize for any missed opportunities on the level of service that was offered. With our many travelers from the different parts of the world, we do offer multi-language services. However, I do apologize if any communication between our staff members put a damper on the level of service that was offered at check in. We do have a few new staff members added to our Ohana and we will be sure to pass this useful feedback to them as it will allow our team to make improvements. Mahalo Nui Loa for the wonderful review and we sincerely hope that you will come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay,Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Staff at reception check in very pleasant and efficient, couldnt fault at all. Had 3 adults in room, mother 83yrs, and 2 daughters , no problem .Rooms were clean and all staff very friendly and accommodating.Coffee maker in room, but as we werent coffee drinkers, asked for an electric jug - no problem at all it was in our room in an instant. Thank You. Ocean front views with fantastic views from 21st floor. No problem with noise,by the time we got to bed were exhausted from swimming, late night shopping and sightseeing. Pool and bar area were a favourite for meeting people for that late arvo drink and swim.before tea. Great position, close to beach,and right in the thick of all eateries and shops. Bus stop to Diamond Head, Ward Centre(for Sports Authority - Sportwear, shoes etc), are located one street behind hotel down the laneway. Lots of shopping closeby: Apple Shop, H & M , Forever 21, Maseys, Billabong etc etc. Shopping is great. Pizza next door, Cheescake Factory across the road - great for that late night sweet treat!!!,lots of Japanese restaurants, thai restaurant down the street to the left and then turn left. Food prices cheap compared to Maui. .Supermarkets have good variety of food with lots of ABC shops around for snacks and little gifts.
Very safe city, although lots of homeless in the streets. Musts Dos: Walk up Diamond Head,walk along the promonades, go to the Ward Centre if you need sportswear etc., do a trip round the island and hire a driver with car you can stop where you want,when you want,eat at the shrimp farm eateries, visit the north shore surfing areas,see the palace, check out Hawaii Five O Headquarters, so much to see, take time out at the beach to relax. Had a great stay here for 6 days after spending 1 week in Maui. Would definately stay at this Hotel again and will definately recommend to friends. Would also suit the single traveller. Looking forward to returning

Room Tip: 21st floor with views to Diamond Head and beach. Noise only noticed if we turned a/c off at night an...
See more room tips
Green Features: DOnt get your sheets washed daily. Maid was surprised when we said we did not need sheets changed daily. No need to. We werent dirty and it saves on water
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us and some great tips with TripAdvisor. Wow! It sounds like you were able to really enjoy your time with us and that is just excellent. Our entire Ohana here at the Beachcomber take extreme pride in the level of service we are able to provide our guests and it is wonderful to hear that we did a job well-done. Sounds like you enjoy a ton of shopping and we hope that you will have the chance to come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber with the completion of the International Market Place. Mahalo for the awesome review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,896 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#31 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.