We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice HI in Resort Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oxford, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice HI in Resort Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything was great, Platinum Upgrade to extra nice. Concierge desk was a lot of help.
James Speight will not do you wrong. He is the best!!! Go thru him to do your tours. His price
is as good if not better than what you can do on your own. Refuses to take a tip!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 8 thru 12 direct view of the Ocean. The higher the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG rewards Platinum member and it gives us great pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice upgraded room with us. James is truly a master at planning the greatest Hawaii experience for our guests and it is excellent to hear that he did not disappoint. We hope that will return back to the islands soon and we will await your return back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. Warmest Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    726
    198
    44
    22
See reviews for
441
529
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I believe this hotel may be Japanese owned, or if not, they target the Japanese tourists. This didn't bother us, however I do find it rude when reception staff talk Japanese to each other directly in front of us when processing our arrival at reception. Having said that we found this hotel very comfortable. The rooms were much bigger than the Outrigger on the Beach (Waikiki) which we stayed at the week before. This hotel isn't on the beach, however all you have to do is cross the road and walk through an arcade to get to the beach. This location makes it much cheaper than the Outrigger and the rooms are much more comfortable. The only problem we experienced was the live band at the Jimmy Buffett's restaurant downstairs made a lot of noise until 9:30pm. We were on the 7th floor and it was quite loud. As a result we recommend a higher floor. Overall I would recommend this hotel to people who aren't looking for absolute beach frontage. You can see the beach from the balcony and it is only a short walk, so for the price saving this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. While it does sound like you were able to enjoy your stay with us, I do want to apologize for any missed opportunities on the level of service that was offered. With our many travelers from the different parts of the world, we do offer multi-language services. However, I do apologize if any communication between our staff members put a damper on the level of service that was offered at check in. We do have a few new staff members added to our Ohana and we will be sure to pass this useful feedback to them as it will allow our team to make improvements. Mahalo Nui Loa for the wonderful review and we sincerely hope that you will come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay,Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Staff at reception check in very pleasant and efficient, couldnt fault at all. Had 3 adults in room, mother 83yrs, and 2 daughters , no problem .Rooms were clean and all staff very friendly and accommodating.Coffee maker in room, but as we werent coffee drinkers, asked for an electric jug - no problem at all it was in our room in an instant. Thank You. Ocean front views with fantastic views from 21st floor. No problem with noise,by the time we got to bed were exhausted from swimming, late night shopping and sightseeing. Pool and bar area were a favourite for meeting people for that late arvo drink and swim.before tea. Great position, close to beach,and right in the thick of all eateries and shops. Bus stop to Diamond Head, Ward Centre(for Sports Authority - Sportwear, shoes etc), are located one street behind hotel down the laneway. Lots of shopping closeby: Apple Shop, H & M , Forever 21, Maseys, Billabong etc etc. Shopping is great. Pizza next door, Cheescake Factory across the road - great for that late night sweet treat!!!,lots of Japanese restaurants, thai restaurant down the street to the left and then turn left. Food prices cheap compared to Maui. .Supermarkets have good variety of food with lots of ABC shops around for snacks and little gifts.
Very safe city, although lots of homeless in the streets. Musts Dos: Walk up Diamond Head,walk along the promonades, go to the Ward Centre if you need sportswear etc., do a trip round the island and hire a driver with car you can stop where you want,when you want,eat at the shrimp farm eateries, visit the north shore surfing areas,see the palace, check out Hawaii Five O Headquarters, so much to see, take time out at the beach to relax. Had a great stay here for 6 days after spending 1 week in Maui. Would definately stay at this Hotel again and will definately recommend to friends. Would also suit the single traveller. Looking forward to returning

Room Tip: 21st floor with views to Diamond Head and beach. Noise only noticed if we turned a/c off at night an...
See more room tips
Green Features: DOnt get your sheets washed daily. Maid was surprised when we said we did not need sheets changed daily. No need to. We werent dirty and it saves on water
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us and some great tips with TripAdvisor. Wow! It sounds like you were able to really enjoy your time with us and that is just excellent. Our entire Ohana here at the Beachcomber take extreme pride in the level of service we are able to provide our guests and it is wonderful to hear that we did a job well-done. Sounds like you enjoy a ton of shopping and we hope that you will have the chance to come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber with the completion of the International Market Place. Mahalo for the awesome review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Average rooms, small for a family of 4. Outside noise (from the street and other buildings) very audible from inside the room, resulting to lack of sleep.
Same with other hotels in the area I supposed re: check in is 3 pm, so if you arrived from an early morning international flight, you are stuffed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Mahalo for your review on Trip Advisor. I can certainly understand how tired you would be after traveling many hours from Australia and arriving in Hawaii to find out that your request for checking in early could not be accommodated due to a full hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope you understand often times when we do have early check outs we would gladly check guest in earlier than the check in time of 3pm. We also are excited to have early check in packages so you will be guaranteed early arrival to avoid waiting until the 3pm check in time. We will also have guaranteed connecting room and late checkout packages available. Thank you for noticing the needed facelift of the International Market Place, we are excited to have world renowned designer shops with Saks 5th as the anchor store. Waikiki is a bustling city with many attractions and some traffic noise, please request to be on the mountain side of the resort to avoid the hustle and bustle of Kalakaua Avenue. The rooms on Kalakaua Avenue ironically are rooms with the best views of Waikiki Beach. Again, thank you for staying at the Beachcomber Resort and we hope you return to our exciting, beautiful island of Oahu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very nice Hotel with excellent staff. We had an ocean view room which was ok. The room we had was very clean and spacious. Had an adjoining door on our room which we are not fans of because we could hear a lot of noise from next door also the International Markets were being demolished when we stayed here which is next door and was very noisy during the day so could not use the balcony anyway.
The location is close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you were able to enjoy you stay with us and the comfort of our staff services, property cleanliness and location. I do want to apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered regarding noise from the International Market Place renovations. We are certainly excited for the completion of this project and hope that you will come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber to see all of the new wonderful shops. Mahalo Nui Loa and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

First time to Hawaii and we're not too sure about accommodation but was very pleased with everything.helpful friendly staff, clean and well presented rooms daily. Access to shopping and Beaches were great plus not forgetting the places to eat!! Well worth the money spent and will be back thanks

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the great review. It is so exciting to learn that you chose to stay with the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort during your very first visit to the Hawaiian islands. We take great pride in the level of service we are able to provide our guests and it is wonderful to be acknowledged of our friendly and helpful efforts. We hope that you will be able to come visit us again and we will anticipate you return. Mahalo for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved staying here. The view was amazing and the hotel was very close to the beach. The rooms were very clean and nice and there were even Hawaiian chocolates waiting for me.The staff was very friendly! Especially my housekeeper Nina!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the "Absolutely Excellent" review. It is wonderful to learn that you could spend your time with us in one of our ocean view rooms and indulge with our chocolates. Nina is certainly a great asset to our Ohana and we appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge her efforts with her positive attitude and attention to detail with our rooms. Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.