We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the action, rooms a nice size, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
England
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“In the middle of the action, rooms a nice size, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here for around 10 days in late September in a standard room. The location was perfect in the middle of the action, and we didn't mind not being beachfront, it was only a short stroll. We did miss ocean views though having come from a condo on Kauai with postcard views; ours was of a few air vents and the occasional window cleaner.

Rooms were a nice enough size, beds were comfy and the staff were very helpful. We wouldn't have a problem staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha ZuluGoose, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Beachcomber! Your comments about our central location, nice size rooms and friendly staff are spot on and much appreciated. We thank you for visiting Honolulu for 10 days all the way from England and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    711
    195
    43
    22
See reviews for
437
520
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Wa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I very well located hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms at this hotel are a good size. Stayed for 10 nights and would definitely stay there again. The hotel is one street back from the main beach and very close to some excellent restaurants in Waikiki. Jimmy Buffets bar in the hotel complex is excellent value for food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha Terry114, thank you for visiting with us all the way from W.A. and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! WOW, 10 nights in Waikiki - you must have thoroughly enjoyed yourself and enjoyed all that it has to offer. Yes, we are in a most central and convenient location and I'm most pleased to hear you describe our staff as extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you for your business and support and we look forward to your return. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013


The location of this hotel was perfect for us, it was only across the road from Waikiki beach and right amongst the shops and Restaurants; and within an easy walk to public transport, I would definitely stay here again when visiting Waikiki.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha Mark&KarenS and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel, location and staff to your liking and that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great experience staying at the beachcomber. I picked the hotel from reading the pervious reviews and found that 99% of the reviews were right. This hotel is not on the beachfront but its less then 300yards away. I had a double ocean view Kalakaua room, we stayed in room #2108 which had an outstanding view. We didn't have a problem with noise or with the elevators. The hotel bars was great (Jimmy Buffet). I would like to thank Mr. Reed who worked at the front desk. He assisted me with surprising my wife and sister-in-law with having a cake that I was having delivered to my room while we were away, and plus he sent a bottle of champagne to our room with a nice greeting card for the hotel. Great service! I will stay at this hotel on my next visit to Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room try #2108, great views and no street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha Phatjaxxx and thank you so much for this amazing review! You touched upon a few points that pretty much sum up the reason why people come back to the Holiday Inn Wakiki Beachcomber Resort year after year: our great location and our friendly staff. It's so nice to hear that Reid went the extra mile to ensure that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We are glad to hear that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Waikiki; this is one of the most rewarding compliments that you could have given us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from perfect seven night stay! Great king room on 10th floor facing the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center with spectacular view of the ocean. Really enjoyed balcony and watching people. Nice pool area with lots of umbrellas for shade and always fresh towels. Lots of places to eat, especially Cheesecake Factory. Coco's Cove is next door and nice alternative to ABC Stores. For best value on coffee, nuts & candies visit Long's Drugstore for those items to take home. In the past when in Waikiki Beach we have stayed at to all 4 Sheraton's, 3 Hilton's, 3 Outriggers, Embassy Suites, Marriott & Doubletree. The Holiday Inn Beachcomber is our new favorite! Summary great value when compared to others, central location and personal staff. as they say in Hawaii, Mahalo!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha John W. and thank you for such a raving review. I would also like to thank you for placing us in the category of one of your favorite hotels in Waikiki and am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the central location and the personable staff. Please come visit us again on your next visit to Waikiki and thank you for the great review. Mahalo, Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were super small for price.. we paid 1500 for 3 people in one room but service staff was friendly and helpful. Location was good but would have great if they offered breakfast in hotel in stead of sending them buffett outside.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha fsandoval28 and thank you for comments about your recent Beachcomber stay! I'm sorry that the room size disappointed you, but am happy to hear you describe our staff as friendly and helpful. We do offer a breakfast buffet at Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber on the hotel lanai (patio) and apologize that this information was not brought to your attention. I hope you enjoyed our location and the Waikiki resort area and hope you return in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked a room with the so-called "ocean view". It was money wasted: the room was much more expensive and I could hardly see any water from the balcony! When I went to the receptionist, he obviously didn't care and explained me that I had a very good rate and shouldn't complain! The hotel has an express check out system but - guess what - the invoice was wrong and they tried to overcharge me (obviously they thought my rate was too good?). If you do not waste your money on the ocean view and book a regular room, then it's OK, location is good and rooms are fair.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha JonathanG and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! I'm sorry that the ocean view disappointed you, and also apologize with regards to reception's treatment of you and your incorrect bill. We do not condone a "don't care" attitude and certainly do not intentionally charge guests wrong amounts. Your points will be addressed and if there's anything outstanding with regards to your final bill, please bring it to my attention. I'm glad you found our location and rooms to be acceptable and thank you for choosing to stay with us visiting all the way from Paris. If your travels bring you back to Honolulu in the future, please reach out to me and I'll do all I can to ensure a quality stay. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.