We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location View and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location View and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

View at or above 15th floor is awesome even though its not on the beach. It looks over another hotel so if u get an ocean view, it's awesome. Walking to the beach is easy and very accessible, with pool on third floor deck overlooking shopping areas for non-beach days. Clean rooms, quick check in-out lots to see and do and eat and shop nearby. Great location for not on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha joepeale and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and your kind words about our location, views and service are music to our ears. Our team takes pride in taking care of our many guests and your recognition is truly appreciated. Mahalo for your support and we hope to see at the Beachcomber again in the near future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    762
    209
    48
    22
See reviews for
465
563
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel stay was pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and well maintained on a daily basis. The front desk staff were very helpful. Location nice, short walk to the beach. Parking is expensive. No fridge included in the basic room plan. Located on a busy street.

Room Tip: Valet Parking is expensive. Look for alternate parking sites in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha LeslieC and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! I'm glad to hear about your overall pleasant stay, and your kind words about our helpful front desk and nice location. Sorry to hear your fridge comment, however, as we do equip every room with a mini-refrigerator. If you'd like to reach out to me with more detail, I'd be happy to investigate. Mahalo for your support and we hope to welcome you back to the Beachcomber in the future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has a great location, sizeable rooms, and is over-all quite affordable. The pool are is small and quaint. The only issue with the hotel is if your room is too low, you will hear NOISE, all night. We have stayed here on 4 occasions and moved up each time, but could still hear street traffic, trucks, garbage trucks, etc. Great to walk out straight to beach and right in the middle of Waikiki.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha Dolezal8 and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're glad to hear your kind words about our location, room size and affordability, but sorry to hear about the noise. We do try to work with our neighbors to minimize noise whenever possible, but being in the middle of Waikiki on central Kalakaua Avenue while most convenient, has its challenges. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back to the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for nine nights and found it to be great.
The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
The location is excellent, with beach, shops and restaurants all down stairs from hotel.
Eva the housekeeper was amazing. She went out of her way to help us with whatever we needed. She not only cleaned our room but was happy to assist us with any other queries we had.She showed genuine interest in whatever we had planned. We soon became friends. Our two six year olds loved her beautiful nature and to this day say " I wonder how Eva is, and we miss her"
She made the experience so personal by leaving us thoughtful notes that we saw upon our return to our room.
The pool was good which the kids could not get enough of.
Our rate included breakfast which we thought would include our two children but it didn't which was disappointing.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you're visiting Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha Angela_Sydney2013 and thank you for your kind words about your recent Beachcomber visit! 9 nights in Waikiki sounds like you had time for lots of fun and memories. We especially appreciate your compliments about our friendly and helpful reception team and of Eva, your housekeeper. We're truly proud of all of our employees and they all work hard to take care of our many guests from all over the world. We hope you return to see us again at the Beachcomber. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The biggest plus point of the hotel is the location. Right in front of Cheesecake Factory and above Macys, its just perfect.
The hotel rooms are good size. So all good. They have their own laundry which is handy. Pool is not bad either.
Negative and biggest one is do not include breakfast in your booking if you are staying for more than one night, Jimmy Buffet will serve you the same crappy breakfast with no variety for all days you stay. Not worth it. Worst of the lot.You are better off going to Dennys or iHope where you can choose something different everyday.

Lifts are so slow that people get in whatever direction it goes. 4 lifts but it takes ages for you to find one.

One more biggest negative for people from Australia is that all flights reach there early morning. But rooms are not available till 3. So if you want to crash, book an extra night or you have to wait in the lobby for 5 hours.

Overall good location if you want to crash in a nice cosy place.But do not include breakfast.

Room Tip: Book an extra night if you coming from Australia. No breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Aloha SydneyRockdale and thank you for your review on your recent Beachcomber stay! We're happy to hear you like our location and room size, and thank you for your comments on our breakfast - we'll be sure to pass on the feedback to restaurant management. We appreciate your business and support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here from August 1 2013 until August 12 2013 and we were not disappointed. We knew the location prior to arriving but had no idea how amazing the ocean view room was, we paid a bit extra but it was worth it. We had a wonderful view of the 'Pink Palace' and to Diamond Head end and the ocean, it wa fabulous to sit on the balcony and soak it all up. We had a few little things that weren't working when we arrived and they were attended to so quickly and we didn't have to follow up at all. Our cleaner (Esperita, I think, apologies if the name is incorrect) was so friendly and always obliging and when we left she wished us well and she was fantastic. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful and overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a great hotel in Waikiki with such a central location everything you need is at your doorstep. All the staff were accommodating and we appreciated everything they did. We had a slight issue with a staff member on check out as she stated quite loudly 'your credit card has declined', it hadn't as it was a prepaid US currency card and it was resolved however she never apologised for this gaff and the manager certainly did as we went to him to pay the bill. He apologised for what she said and we appreciated that but she just stood there and didn't say a thing. We contacted Travelex in Australia and they confirmed the account was in credit as we already knew. Whilst we had no issue in her saying the card initially declined it was the manner in which she advised it and no doubt quite a few people in the lobby would have heard her. Hopefully she will not do this to anyone else and say it quietly. As this was only a minor hiccup it would not deter us from this lovely hotel. Highly recommend staying here if you are considering a visit to Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Aloha catbar57 and thank you for your kind words and complete review of your recent Beachcomber stay! WOW - 12 days! That certainly qualifies you to be a bit of an expert on Waikiki and a Oahu vacation. We appreciate all of your compliments, and especially cherish you mentioning Esperita and the rest of our friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Regarding the hiccup, thank you for pointing it out - we've already addressed the issue and will continue to improve in that area. Mahalo for your testimonial and we look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From beginning to end this was an absolutely wonderful stay ! Our room was very clean, small balcony with a couple of chairs to lookout at the ocean, Diamond Head and the International Market. The front desk staff was very friendly, housekeeping staff was very pleasant & made it a point to say 'aloha' as we walked by them. Plus they always seemed to have our room cleaned before 10am! Pool area was clean and comfortable. We found it to be very relaxing.
Location is great, just a short (3 minute) walk across the street to beautiful Waikiki Beach. Lots of restaurants in walking distance or dine at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville adjacent to the hotel. Shopping is very close, like across the street & right next door is the International Market Place.
I would definitely recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Resort Hotel, I know we will be back!

SactoSue

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha SueN and thank you for your kind words about your recent Beachcomber stay! A wonderful stay and lots of Aloha are words we like to hear when folks describe their stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our friendly, pleasant staff and great location. We truly appreciate and value your recommendation and look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, Honolulu Surfing Museum and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.